We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The High Cross Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broughton in Furness
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The High Cross Inn
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The High Cross Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 96: English reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2016

We arrived for a 2 night stay at The High Cross Inn on the 29th April. Despite arriving late we were able to order a meal, which we enjoyed. The breakfasts were substantial and we loved the fresh tomatoes still on the vine! The room (2) was clean and had fantastic views over the snow covered fells. We were told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2016

We stayed 2 nights on a voucher deal and found the inn to be in a brilliant location. Breakfast was fab - best poached eggs ive ever had at a hotel/inn and my partner had a bar meal that he said was lovely. The inn is in the process of being refurbished but you cannot grumble for the price. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Showag
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

My wife, myself and our friends stayed Friday 22nd, 23rd departing Sunday 24th. Having not stayed in the area before we went on previous reviews and used the vouchers. On arriving at the inn we were shown to room 1 the executive room and our friends to room 2. The staff explained that work was being carried and were helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
David W, Manager at The High Cross Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review, we apologise for the lack of room service that day and it will never happen again. We are glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Apologies again and many thanks, Dave.

wawick
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed last week for 3 nights and though it was a great place to stay. The staff we very helpful and any way they could make the visit a good one was done. I have read the previous reviews and don't think they do justice to Dave. It does take a little time to make all the improvement but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brianWawick
David W, Owner at The High Cross Inn, responded to this review

Hia pam, Thank you for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you again. Many thanks Dave

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Stayed at High Cross Inn for 3 nights again with a discount voucher. Completely agree with the previous guests. Disgusting. Would not return. It is a shame as the inn is in a wonderful location with views to die for. Needs a lot of money spending on it and a very deep clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2sp00ns
Dave_charlotte2015, Manager at The High Cross Inn, responded to this review

We apologize for any issue's with your stay, We will do our best to remedy any of the issue's you have pointed out. Many thanks Management.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2016

The fact that the rooms, bedding and dining tables were clean did little to ease our extreme disappointment at the sight of filthy stair carpets, various scatterings of painting equipment, piles of unused furniture, very poor internal & external decoration, and a total lack of awareness of what the customers must think. It was all very sad, particularly as the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rabyrocker
Dave_charlotte2015, Manager at The High Cross Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. From what i could see there was no painting equipment left out anywhere in the hotel. We did confirm with guests stopping that we might paint on Sunday night which we chose not to by the end of the day. However, I do apologize for the furniture that was on the stage in the...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016

We bought a stay here with a discount voucher which made the price reasonable. Although the venue and views were stunning and the staff friendly and helpful, the place itself was dirty and uncared for. Had we not prepaid this we would have gone elsewhere. The current owners state that this is a work in progress but it lacked basic...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mazza57_12
Dave_charlotte2015, Manager at The High Cross Inn, responded to this review

Hello, First of all i would like to thank you for your letter you recently sent. I will endeavor to remedy all issues you pointed out. The first one being the bathroom, On the 2nd of may we will be replacing it. Also we are going to replace the stairs and landing carpet. But while we wait to do that...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights at this place and as a base loved it to explore the lakes. The new owners I believe have only had it since January so the place is going through a transition but it will be interesting to go back later in the year to see what it Looks like. Got there Wednesday and greeted by...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lfcpaul1975
Dave_charlotte2015, Manager at The High Cross Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review, we will look forward to having you back. And hopefully everything will be finished by then and not so much of a mad rush! Many thanks again Dave

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

My family of four stayed in the family rooms and the accommodation was great. The views are absolutely amazing and the breakfast was delicious! Great atmosphere and incredibly friendly staff who were always eager to see to our every need; highly recommend this B&B! Photo is the view from our room.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank aerris7
Dave_charlotte2015, Owner at The High Cross Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you in the future. Many thanks The high cross team.

Cumbria
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

This has been one of my favourite pubs for years, so it was sad to see it close earlier this year. Happily it has reopened, initially just for drinks, on Friday (4-10.30), Saturday (3-10.30) and Sunday (3-9.30). Chris and Andy are back behind the bar, and there's free wifi (on which I'm typing this now!).

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShockingpinkCumbria
Dave_charlotte2015, Owner at The High Cross Inn, responded to this review

Hello, I wanted to respond to this with the new opening times. The pub is now being run full time by my self and my wife as a family run business. The new opening times:- Monday - Thursday --- 3pm till 11.30pm Friday - Sunday --- 12pm till 11.30pm We hope you visit again. Many thanks The high cross team.

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broughton in Furness
0.0 km away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.0 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.0 km away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
355 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Quality Coaching Inn with Open Fire and Conservatory Restaurant with Magical Food & Spectacular Views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The High Cross Inn

Address: Broughton in Furness LA20 6ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Broughton in Furness
Price Range: $46 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The High Cross Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The High Cross Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't go you'll only lose your money”
 of 5 bubbles paulwiggins2016, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is large with wonderful views, a lovely en-suite and jacuzzi bath”
 of 5 bubbles BelleMarePlageFans, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“sorry to say doubt if there are any apart from the view”
 of 5 bubbles Pete4147, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back have an amazing view.”
 of 5 bubbles GypsyLee90, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“room 1 with great views if the fells and estuary”
 of 5 bubbles jeanette078, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5