We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-08-27 2017-08-28
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Masons Arms

    Strawberry Bank, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6NW, England
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    2017-08-27 2017-08-28
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in CartmelSee available hotels in Cartmel
    Traveller (80)
    Room & Suite (27)
    Dining (6)
    Overview
    • Excellent61%
    • Very good25%
    • Average8%
    • Poor4%
    • Terrible2%
    Travellers talk about
    “ribs” (20 reviews)
    “the pub” (57 reviews)
    Internet
    Free Parking
    Restaurant
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Kitchenette
    Pets Allowed
    All hotel details
    Offers from The Masons Arms
    Swan Hotel & Spa
    1,310 reviews
    #4 of 5 hotels in Newby Bridge
     
    Damson Dene Hotel
    2,115 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Crosthwaite
     
    Uplands Hotel
    392 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Cartmel
     
    Aynsome Manor Hotel
    265 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Cartmel
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (289)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 288 reviews

    Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

    We visited here after enjoying a day out in the Lakes. We chose a table outside and ordered our food at the bar. I chose to have a starter (as a main) of Scotch Egg made with smoked fish rather than sausage meat. My daughters...More

    Thank Liz G
    A TripAdvisor Member
    12
    Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

    We booked a cottage and suite for 8 friends . We had lunch there on the 2nd day and my partner ordered fish and chips ( the fish was off). I complained to the manager but he disagreed with me , we also ordered fish...More

    2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
    Response from MasonsSB, General Manager at The Masons ArmsResponded 12 July 2017

    We always strive to offer the best experience to our guests and our many returning customers pay testament to that fact. However, upon your arrival it quickly became apparent by various comments made to the team that you were unhappy with our offering even down...More

    Reviewed 14 June 2017

    Gorgeous lyth cottage just sits quietly behind the masons arms ,it sits overlooking the valley and doesn't fail to impress ,built over three floors leading onto a lovely balcony and adjoining garden,it's well worth a stay over ,99 pounds for a night,think myself and wife...More

    1  Thank waemaoffshore
    Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

    Lunchtime in may, pretty pub, pleasant staff, amazing view, let down by poor food. In the section titled "hot handfuls served with chefs home baked crisps" I ordered the "pulled pork and macaroni cheese slider" slider universally recognised as a burger or sandwich, hence "hot...More

    1  Thank Lolapie1
    A TripAdvisor Member
    2
    Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

    Could not have been better food and the bitter was superb also coupled with very friendly staff. Burger, ribs, haddock scotch egg, beef stew and kids fish and chips were all excellent. The atmosphere and views are also well worth visit enjoying. Top marks!

    Thank A TripAdvisor Member
    Swan Hotel & Spa
    1,310 reviews
    #4 of 5 hotels in Newby Bridge
     
    Damson Dene Hotel
    2,115 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Crosthwaite
     
    Uplands Hotel
    392 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Cartmel
     
    Aynsome Manor Hotel
    265 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Cartmel
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$39 - US$52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Kitchenette
    • Number of rooms
    • 2
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Cumbria >
    • Lake District >
    • Grange-over-Sands >
    • Cartmel
    • Also Known As
    • The Masons Arms Hotel Cartmel ,
    • The Masons Arms Cartmel, England, UK
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (80)
    Room & Suite (27)
    Dining (6)
    Hotel & Grounds (42)
    Bathroom (5)
    Nearby
    Swan Hotel & Spa
    1,310 reviews
    5.35 km away
     
    Lakeside Hotel
    1,302 reviews
    4.02 km away
     
    Lyth Valley Country Inn
    91 reviews
    3.94 km away
     
    Brown Horse Inn
    487 reviews
    4.09 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Hare and Hounds Restaurant
    279 reviews
    .48 km away
    The Punch Bowl Inn & Restaurant
    448 reviews
    3.68 km away
    The Brown Horse
    233 reviews
    4.08 km away
    The Derby Arms
    183 reviews
    4.23 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Fell Foot Park
    292 reviews
    4.07 km away
    Stott Park Bobbin Mill
    241 reviews
    4.28 km away
    Blackwell Arts and Crafts House
    583 reviews
    5.19 km away
    Lakeland Motor Museum
    1,068 reviews
    7.06 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Jackie G
    10 October 2015|
    AnswerShow all 6 answers
    Response from SwTravelingMan | Reviewed this property |
    Breakfast was not included when we stayed. Breakfast is only served from 9.30am so a bit late if you want an early start We did have breakfast one morning and it was very nice and not an excessive price
    1
    Vote
    matildaandmaud2003
    9 September 2015|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from Amy H | Reviewed this property |
    Hi we stayed in the strawberry bank suite and it just has a replclica stove. It's just a electric I think.
    0
    Votes
    kawasaki
    16 November 2014|
    AnswerShow all 5 answers
    Response from 186565David_W | Reviewed this property |
    Don't know if under new management. Certainly had work done during the last year. We found the food good a few weeks ago. The only down side is that it is very popular, and eating in the bar is not very civilised, as they... More
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "Lyth cottage nice and quiet ,lovely outlook from balcony 😀"
    Read review
    "Ask for rooms with a view (not all have)"
    Read review
    "many rooms have stairs to the bedroom so best check if you have problems climbing stairs"
    Read review
    "Strawberry Bank Suite is beautiful"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing