Engine Inn

Engine Inn

Station Road, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 7NZ England
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#3 of 3 inns in Cartmel
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Country Pub with Dining and Accommodation. Good Beer Guide from 2009. Home of the Naga Viper Madras.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Car hire
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming

Location

Station Road, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 7NZ England
161Reviews2Q+A33Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 66
  • 42
  • 25
  • 15
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lou wrote a review Jul 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve visited a few times now and can highly recommend as a cosy, friendly pub whether you want just drinks or food. We visited this month and after a long walk around the area, we needed somewhere comfy to relax and eat. There was a hand sanitiser station on arrival and a QR code to scan for Track & Trace, we had prebooked our table and were sat in the snug. My partner had the beef roast dinner and I had the falafel burger, the staff are friendly and helpful and the food was fresh and tasty. I also treated myself to a slice of gluten free blackcurrant cheesecake which came with a decorative chocolate sauce and a gorgeous ball of ice cream. Love this place and will be visiting again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joanne M wrote a review May 2022
St Helens, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed overnight with friends as a halfway stop-off on the Bay Cycle Way and we were made extremely welcome and comfortable. We had a lovely room, fabulous food and beer, and a very friendly and accommodating host and barstaff. Our stay here was one of many highlights of a wonderful weekend. Jonathan also provided safe and secure storage for our bikes and we felt that nothing was too much trouble. We were looked after superbly, I would highly recommend and hope to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
English-JB wrote a review May 2024
Bury, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to book here for the Cartmel races and we glad we did. The Engine is a beautiful old traditional English pub, sat outside next to the river is very tranquil. Good selection of wines and beers are on offer and the bar area is very cosy.
We stayed for one night, our room was a good size and a decent size bed.
Our host was exceptional, he really helped us out when we got stuck at night, so with this above and beyond service I rate the Engine 5 stars..
We would definitely stay here again.
Great experience...Jon and Jeanette
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Walkleader687 wrote a review Aug 2021
Frodsham, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Pro's were that the room was spacious we had #3, it had plenty of shower gels etc, 3 bottles of water and tea making facilities. The beds were clean and comfortable, ans so were the towels..
Con's were numerous, the room was not clean, there were cobwebs all around the room, hair on the floor near the nirror from previous guests, the shower head was hanging on by one screw and could not be adjusted. On arriving we were escorted upstairs by the bar man and then were met by a scruffy, unshaven, person who turned out to be the boss who asked us if we wanted a cooked breakfast or not, no choice of individual items was given. The same I'm sorry to say scruffy person asked us the same question again at breakfast, to be fair he was courteous and well spoken but should not have been front of house ,breakfast was cooked nicely and presented nicely, tea or coffee was offered including toast, and cereals were available, but overall pretty basic. The entrance to the dining room was via a filthy carpet which was sticky, not a good first impression. The room was advertised as with a garden view and river view, there is no garden to speak of that we could see and the room was above the outside tables where people were drinking so every conversation was plain to hear. This Inn needs a lot of work to bring it up to an average, but proper cleaning of the room would have helped, to be fair the bathroom was clean as far as we could see
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shaun C wrote a review Jul 2022
Warrington, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Very disappointed, room was small and very dated with stains on the carpet, the mattress was very thin, not much room between the bed and walls, didn't use thebath/shower as it looked like it needed some attention. Wouldn't stay again.

On a positive note, the breakfast was nice.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Look elsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ryan Mckibbin wrote a review May 2024
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If the rooms are as bad as the food then I wouldn't bother. My 10yr old could make better. Greedy businesses like these are happy to take our money off us but people read these reviews & it will damage them in the long run & so it should. Makes spoons seem like Michelin star
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew H wrote a review Jan 2020
Wakefield, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely excellent service. Beers were fantastic, service was top class ,the food was brilliant and the food was awesome. Highly recommended, visit soon! And (very) dog friendly, we were all made to feel welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Departure818797, Owner at Engine Inn
Responded Jan 4, 2020
Thank you for your kind words, we at The Engine are delighted you enjoyed your visit so much!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
STH Mrs T wrote a review Aug 2021
Burnley, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely two night stay at this pub. The room was lovely and the staff could not do enough for you. We enjoyed an evening meal and a cracking breakfast!! We will defo be going back again! Thanks sara x
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
e-pipeman wrote a review Sep 2013
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I went into this pub yesterday with the intention of eating lunch and having a few drinks but first enquired politely whether it would be OK if he used an electronic vaping device (nicotine without smoking). Initially the barmaid agreed but she was then countermanded by the landlady who shouted "no, no, no!". She said that the devices were going to be regulated - we confirmed that this was only due to happen sometime between 2014 and 2016 but that in the meantime they were not illegal. She then went on to say that she had worked in a pharmacy once and had come across lots of wonder drugs that had subsequently been withdrawn. We politely pointed out that these devices used just nicotine, not any new drug but she did not want to listen to any of our explanations. We then said that she was entitled to her opinion but left straight away.
It's hard to describe how aggressive this lady's tone was but we were left feeling quite shell-shocked by her hostile behaviour. We then went to another pub nearby, the Rose and Crown further up the hill where the contrast was incredible. They were immediately friendly and welcoming and we spent a couple of very pleasant hours there. Thank goodness we discovered how poor the service was in the Engine before we'd spent any time or money there!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2013Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris_Adshead, Owner at Engine Inn
Responded Sep 18, 2013
I love how people cause an argument in the pub and then exaggerate the truth on Tripadvisor. Yes you got upset when we told you we didn't want you to use your electronic cigarette. There are signs at the entrance to the pub showing that smoking of any type is not allowed. Wetherspoons have banned them so thats good enough for us. We spent a lot of money building a smoking shelter with lighting and heating outside for your use and just because you think you have found a way around the law you try to flaunt it in front of us, cause an argument and then come on here to slag us off. nice.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HonestFair16 wrote a review Mar 2014
London, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The first time I stayed in the area and visited this pub with friends I found the owners rude and unwelcoming. We wanted to get some lunch however when we discovered food wasn't being served we were practically laughed out of the pub by the owner when we asked if anywhere else may be at 3pm in the afternoon. Something that I felt was unnecessary. When we loosely mentioned we might go back in the evening the owner was very abrupt stating if we were likely to come back we better order in advance and give them enough time to prep because we were a large group - which ordinarily would be an understandable request with a small village pub but the tone was clear that they'd rather we didn't return.

Several months later we were in the area and decided to give the pub another chance. After a few afternoon drinks we decided we'd book for a meal the next evening and luckily the landlady was slightly more accommodating of us this time - initially. Although we accepted that the pub was busy and there may be a bit of a delay, after ordering drinks the owners brought over 3 pints for the men and left 7 empty glasses on the table without the bottle of wine for us for over 15 minutes. Meanwhile we watched both owners flit back and fourth between other tables and rooms before bringing over our bottle. Eventually our orders were taken and we waited for our homemade pub food.

Once all of our mains were delivered to the table it became quite clear that the quality was low - especially in comparison to the price. Several members of our group could not finish (or in some cases really start) their burger as they felt the quality and taste was extremely low considering the menu stated these were 'homemade'. Only some time after finishing with our mains did staff appear and ask if everything was ok - which is when we brought up the fact that the burgers were not. The complaint was greeted with an argumentative tone and extreme rudeness - something I have never witnessed through any kind of 'customer service'. The argument continued until the owner agreed to remove the cost of one overpriced burger (despite stating this was 'average' for the area - it seemed somewhat steep in cost from my perspective of living in London where prices are usually higher than average).

I am genuinely shocked at the amount of great reviews this pub has received and can only assume that the owners of this pub have a very clear outlook on what kind of customers they'd like to have in their pub and a group of late twenties-early thirties in the area for an outdoors type holiday are apparently not welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jujuq asked a question Nov 2017
Manchester, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
Is this hotel dog friendly ?
Answer from Jack
Haverhill, United Kingdom130 contributions43 helpful votes
Yes, however there is a resident dog there.
Shaun C wrote a tip Jul 2022
Warrington, United Kingdom3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look elsewhere "
Read full review
newmanpaul2018 wrote a tip Jul 2018
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"didn't have a room only visited"
Read full review
paul c wrote a tip May 2018
Birmingham, United Kingdom41 contributions43 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"we only visited for food and drink."
Read full review
boothstownbob wrote a tip Apr 2017
Salford, United Kingdom63 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"dont be put off by the csaffolding"
Read full review
ian wrote a tip Jun 2016
Manchester, United Kingdom166 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is a problem, but there is public parking over the road in the park grounds"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cartmel area.
PRICE RANGE
C$147 - C$174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictGrange-over-SandsCartmel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Engine Inn - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Engine Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Engine Inn?
Nearby attractions include Bardsea Alpacas and Llamas (7.0 km), Predator Experience (7.6 km), and Manjushri Kadampa Meditation Centre (5.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Engine Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Engine Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Engine Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bengal Rose South Asian Restaurant, Amigos Mexican Restaurant & Bar, and Aroma Indian Dining.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Engine Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Engine Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Manjushri Kadampa Meditation Centre (5.9 km), Holker Hall and Gardens (1.0 km), and Hampsfell Hospice (4.6 km).
All Cartmel HotelsCartmel Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CartmelHotels near Engine Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars