We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Overwater Hall

TripAdvisorUS$224*
View Deal
#1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$224*
US$224*
US$224*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

516 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Overwater Hall
See the most recent reviews
Showing 514: English reviews
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We had booked for one night only but we wished we could have stayed for longer. We received a friendly greeting from Stephen who carried our bag to our room. We had a lovely room and found our stay very restful. We had a little walk around the grounds, which are extensive and interesting. Very pleased with our stay. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bylochetive
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The accommodation is tired and shabby. It is terribly overpriced for what it is. We were extremely disappointed with it, having read the reviews on tripadvisor before our visit last year. We are absolutely amazed at the high ratings it receives. We do mot think it deserves them.

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank theoriginalbatboy
Overwater, Owner at Overwater Hall, responded to this review

We have said before, no hotel can be all things to all people, but I wonder if you have been completely honest in your review of us? I think perhaps you had a bad experience and allowed this to colour your judgement. As you yourself say, we have a huge number of very complementary reviews and it seems unlikely that...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We spent a weekend here in May along with our Pet Chow Chow. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds which where perfect to take the dog for his morning stroll. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. They also had a good sense of humour when they saw us carrying our very lazy Chow Chow up the stairs :-)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xxloolaxx
Richmond, North Yorkshire
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife & I recently spent five days at the Overwater Hotel, celebrating a very special anniversary. The whole experience was total perfection. The main reason we chose this hotel was because of the extremely high percentage of 5 star reviews & the glowing comments from so many guests. We were not disappointed. The food prepared by chef Adrian could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 726BobG726
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just spent an amazing 24 hours at Overwater Hall. From the moment we arrived to the moment left, the service, quality, comfort, professionalism of this place is staggering. The food in the restaurant was to a very high standard, leaving many 'top hotels' struggling to keep up. The room we had was well appointed, with a very high attention to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Several months ago we completed an online booking to be able to send my partners parents away to celebrate their anniversary. No payment was taken, after unanswered phone calls and emails we decided to take the booking elsewhere. Peculiarly yesterday we received an email to say the room was reserved, and that no payment had been made. My partner sent...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Laura D
Overwater, Owner at Overwater Hall, responded to this review

What a pity. I note that we corresponded on eight separate occasions since the time of your original booking. I can only apologise if we missed a call from you. We are sorry that your parents did not get to enjoy our hospitality on their very special anniversary and hope that they had a wonderful day. With kind regards Angela...

melbourne
Reviewed 20 August 2013

we had 4 days in late july and the total experience from the initial booking process, to the welcome and the stay was excellent. The gardens are gorgeous. Our upstairs corner room was spacious with room for clothes to be put away. Touring advice was provided including the loan of maps. Meals were an occasion and the food was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reginaMelbourne
Cumbria
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I booked dinner to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From the moment we got out of the car to the moment we got back into the car our evening was sublime! We were greeted by name at the front door and shown into the sitting room where a drinks order was taken, we were given menus and some...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CumbrianPeppa
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Fabulous hotel set in their own beautiful grounds with the stunning Lakeland mountains behind. The décor is just how you would expect a country house hotel to be and a lot of thought has gone into the decoration, fixtures and fittings. The hotel owners and staff were very friendly and did everything possible to ensure our stay was tailor made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RedPoppy48
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Acres of private woodland and grounds, large opulent rooms with views over the gardens and fells, perfect service and award winning cuisine. What more do you want? If you want to relax and get away from it all or use it as a base for exploring the Northern Lakes, this is the place. Chef proprietor and his team are obviously...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 66jamesb

237 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (149)
Viewed
Double Room (20)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (21)
Viewed
Junior Double Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (20)
Viewed
Superior Turret Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
39.8 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
39.5 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
8.3 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.0 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
956 reviews
4.3 km away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,589 reviews
29.1 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Price Range: $266 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Overwater Hall staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Hong Kong, China
25 days ago
Cotswolds UK
9 months ago
Crewe, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Carlisle, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Overwater Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in room 3 one of the two turret rooms”
nandpfenn, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 4 which was lovely.”
AnnB183, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are fantastic but Garden Room is our favourite so far”
dgresty2016, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a view.”
377stevep377, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Tower rooms have more space and better views”
Cyclodoc, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$224* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$224
PricelineUS$224
Hotels.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates