We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

839 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 834: English reviews
Start your review of Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

My husband treat myself and our two daughters to a brilliant overnight stay at the Whitewater Hotel for Christmas. He booked it for the week end of February the 4th. We spent the day looking around Ulverston town then after eating some lunch went back to the hotel had a swim then used the rest of the facility's there. To...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
Liverpool
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a successful 2 nights spring break at the Whitewater in March, assisted by the weather being dry with bright sunshine for most of the time. The hotel is a substantial looking building made out of the local stone, situated in a river valley of outstanding natural beauty. Our room was on the car park side but to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RayLiverpool
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I recently spent two days here and enjoyed every minute! Our room overlooked the river so we had a beautiful outlook and the soothing background noise of rushing water! The food was delicious, the staff were friendly and the leisure facilities were great. We did two local walks from the Hotel into the surrounding countryside. All-in-all we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazel1947
North East
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked an overnight stay with two friends for a birthday treat. Rang and booked three rooms and also booked a treatment each in the spa. We arrived at 11 am to make the most of the day but the restaurant and bars don't open until 12 so worth bearing in mind. We had a lovely lunch in the restaurant then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorthEastSmudge
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for the positive comments. As a thank you gesture, if you have any future booking requirement, kindly contact the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym, from which we will be able to apply the most competitive rate. Thanks and Regards, Guest Relations at Whitewater Hotel

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

19-03-2017 to 21-03-2017...we had amazing time. The views are amazing very relaxing and clam atmosphere just what we wanted. The food was excellent and the service was excellent. We use the facilities as well swimming pool and jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, very clean and comfortable. Overall an amazing g place for families and couples.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dumlis
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us on TA and for the perfect 5 star score! It is always pleasing to read when guests have enjoyed their stay as that is all we aim to do! Your comments will be passed on to the team whom I am sure will appreciate the read...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just had a Spa break at the Whitewater hotel which included one night stay, dinner and 2 treatments with my friend. We had booked a family room which was very spacious with a good size bathroom and lovely views onto the river. Dinner at night was excellent with friendly service. Breakfast was fine, nothing too special but nice nevertheless. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen W
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Ellen, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience you had with us on the TA forum and for the great review. We welcome your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your spa and meal experience. As a thank you gesture, if you have any future booking need, kindly contact the hotel direct...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed on a 2 night Travelzoo deal with 3 course dinner on first night. Had a twin bedded room as requested which although quite small was adequate. The bathroom was quite large and spotless. We skipped starters at dinner but had 2 very good main courses of pork belly and gnocchi, one dessert and one cheeseboard. This was in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianp923
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Ian P, Thank you for taking the time to write following your recent visit to Whitewater Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club. It gives me great pleasure to read that all aspects of your stay were exceptional and that your experience was a memorable one. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future....

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good value for money spa day , throws on the sofa needed to be replaced as they were tired and bobbly? outside to tub was fabulous but nowhere to hang your robes except inside. Lots of free samples. Unsure how to use any of the facilities on site as this wasnt explained to us . Area of hot tub needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey G
HRGuestRelations, Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Tracey G, Thanks for the positive comments and constructive feedback. In particular the note about the lack of hooks to hang robes - we will ensure this is swiftly rectified. For the rest your review will be discussed by the team and your feedback will be used in a positive manner. We hope to see you for a return...

Rossendale
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel is well appointed with two good restaurants and also two bars. Staff are very helpful and friendly. We went walking on the surrounding hills and got thoroughly wet through - well it was late February. Hotel and room were warm and comfortable tp return to. Leisure suite was very good with swimming, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Ron S, Thank you for taking the time to write following your recent visit to Whitewater Hotel, Spa and Leisure Club. It gives me great pleasure to read that all aspects of your stay were exceptional and that your experience was a memorable one. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future....

North Wales
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently booked a couple of nights here through Travelzoo. To date we have been very impressed with the accommodation we have been given when booking hotels this way, but our experience at this hotel was very disappointing. On arrival we were given the keys to Room 402, and as we were walking there it became obvious that we would...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SarkLover
HRGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, We too are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Our Travelzoo guests feedback with a 90%+ score regularly but on this occasion we did not live up to your expectation, and we are sorry to read this. We do advertise well in advance that room type upgrades are available, especially when the booking has...

336 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (289)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (109)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
3.4 km away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,210 reviews
1.8 km away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
445 reviews
14.7 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
288 reviews
12.8 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,742 reviews
13.1 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 STAR PROPERTY WITH A ONE ROSETTE FINE DINING RESTAURANT AND THE DOLLY BLUE BAR AND GRILL RESTAURANT. SITTING ON THE BANK OF THE RIVER LEVEN, THIS PROPERTY OFFERS STUNNING VIEWS AND THE PERFECT BASE TO EXPLORE THE AREA. CLOSE BY ARE THE LAKES AQUARIUM, HAVERTHWAITE STEAM RAILWAY, LAKELAND CRUISES, BEATRIX POTTER AND THE LAKELAND MOTOR MUSEUM FEATURING THE DONALD CAMPBELL BLUEBIRD MUSEUM. THE PERFECT LAKELAND VENUE! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Lakeland Village Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Price Range: $197 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and Hotel.de so you can book your Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitewater Hotel And Leisure Club
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club Newby Bridge, England, UK
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#3 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“phone ahead”
 of 5 bubbles RayLiverpool, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 203 (family room) is very nice”
 of 5 bubbles 751ellenw, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room overlooking the river.”
 of 5 bubbles 321rons, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A superior room with a balcony is very good.”
  • View of river from room 306
  • Room 306 with views to two sides
  • View of Backbarrow Bridge from room 306
  • View of Backbarrow Bridge from room 306
 of 5 bubbles Sadielouise1, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 305 had a balcony facing the river. Wouldn't choose it again!”
 of 5 bubbles 742mars, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5