We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Moresby Hall

PricelineUS$171*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Moresby Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 181: English reviews
Start your review of Moresby Hall
 Click to rate
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Moresby Hall is a fascinating building, lovingly restored by hosts Jane and David over the last 17 years. From the moment you pull into the drive and the lovely lawned gardens, you arrive at a very impressive and yet somewhat daunting frontage of this wonderful building. Apparently some people have been put off by the age of the front of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Britsabroad2010
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this review

What a lovely review. Yes, the facade of this amazing historical building can be a little austere but of course, because its a Grade I listed building that's precisely why we cannot (and would not wish to) alter it in accordance with English Heritage. Its true that guests are usually very impressed when they come into the building as there...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here with a party of three for the start of our coast to coast cycle ride. Friendly welcome. Good food for both dinner and breakfast. One of our two rooms was made as a double not two singles and we were immediately offered an additional room which we accepted gratefully. Those kind of simple but generous gestures are surely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skyranger_of_utopia
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review. Its also nice to see an acknowledgement of our free of charge gesture in offering the additional room. It was our mistake that the room had not been presented as a twin room, despite being made aware of that when you boked, it just slipped through that morning when the housekeeping was...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed 1 night 13/05/17. What a "gem" this place is amazing. From the moment we arrived until we left our hosts were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was beautiful, 4 poster bed, coffee/tea machine with biscuits. As for the shower I have never seen or been in anything like it plus underfloor heating.As for breakfast it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this review

Absolutely wonderful - to receive a review like this is more than any owner can wish for. We are so happy to see how satisfied you were with your short break. Some rooms have the multi jet shower / waterfall shower and most have underfloor heating which is nice on chilly mornings. We do get many compliments about our breakfasts...

High Hurstwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2017

My clients chose Moresby Hall as the venue for two intensive conference days of training. I spent three days altogether: both as a resident and primarily running training and networking events for the client's staff. As a lone female executive I often find I am isolated in a hotel: I don't know anyone and it can be awkward to strike...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DesWhitehorn
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this review

A splendid review, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I know you are used to travelling and setting up for your training with clients but we do try to ascertain what we can do to make things run exactly as required for conferences & meetings. Thinking ahead (and helping as much as we can)...

Lancashire
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

I booked Moresby Hall asa surprise for my Partner's birthday and we weren't disappointed. The hall itself was lovely and our room was absolutely beautiful. We had the Copeland suite, which was incredibly spacious and had the most amazing bed I've ever seen, it was huge! I couldn't fault anything with the place at all. We had a gorgeous meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaza1
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this review

One of the nicest parts of our work at Moresby Hall is welcoming guests when there is a celebration for their stay. To see such a lovely review really makes my heart fly, even after 17 years I still get tremendous pride in seeing how happy our guests are. We enjoy meeting visitors, and really appreciate their custom which enables...

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Was really looking forward to afternoon tea but was a big disappointment 'staff were lovely ,tea coffee scones nice but that was it ,sandwiches tasteless bought pork pies cheese cracker okay ,cakes disappointing no nice home made sponges or tarts ,presentation not impressed for 35.00 for two people not worth it could have made better at home sorry.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigdad01
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this review

So surprised and sorry to see this negative review. Of the eight tables booked on Sunday the feedback was excellent, each table was served the same food. You didn't say a word on the day which any proprietor would wish for to be able to rectify any perceived issues. For every table cleared we always ask if all is OK...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

From the time of booking to the final departure after a 3 night stay we were made to feel special. I have never had any hotel, B&B etc ever call me to discuss my reservation with a view to make our stay comfortable and memorable. Nothing was too much trouble when we descended upon Moresby Hall to celebrate my father's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank plusjp
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this review

How wonderful to have your family review. I know you were anxious for this family get together to be successful especially with some guests travelling from Canada to celebrate your most charming father's 80th birthday. I can only say it was a great pleasure to liaise with you, as success is always in the planning and we both wanted a...

Reviewed 11 February 2017

Our stay was a birthday treat for my fiancé and a stopover on our way to Scotland. I chose Moresby Hall as I was struck by its age and history. It is a handsome and imposing building with beautiful gardens and outside space. It has a rich and interesting past and has been sympathetically restored and furnished. We were warmly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joleighton1804
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this review

I'm so happy - I wish every guest was so contented after a stay at Moresby Hall, your review should be our benchmark as we truly wish everyone to be as satisfied and rested. I know you were on your way to a luxurious well known hotel in Scotland so to receive such a lovely expansive review is a great...

Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic find! We stayed here for the weekend and will definitely be back! We came to this area to hike Scafell Pike -The hall is perfectly located to make the most of being close to the sea but not far from the hills. Jane and David were super hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We had the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristyBrit
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this review

Its really good to know you were so happy and comfortable. Even better that you were able to find the perfect January day to get to the top of Scafell Pike and see the world beneath your feet! We are lucky to be in our location as we have not just the Western and Northern Fells / Lakes but also...

Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016

My previous visit was whilst on business in the area and thought then how nice it would be to return with my wife. So this was the perfect opportunity. We consequently had a relaxing short holiday at the end on a busy year. Jane, David and the team looked after us in splendid surroundings. Nothing was too much trouble.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roymartin2016
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and your wife was pleased with your surprise short break. Its always nice to know our corporate guests are so happy and comfortable that they would like to revisit with family or friends on another occasion. It was great to meet you again and we hope 2017 will...

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moresby
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
7.9 km away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
6.7 km away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
70 reviews
3.6 km away
The Corner House Bed & Breakfast
4.9 km away
The Mansion Bed & Breakfast
The Mansion Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 14 in Whitehaven
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grade I listed 16th c historical building, now open as an award winning country guesthouse (5 stars + Gold Award). Delightful guest and reception rooms. Sumptuous four poster rooms with hydro massage power shower & steam enclosure or Jacuzzi bath + TileVision colour TV en-suite. Walled gardens / private parking. Hearty breakfasts and imaginative dinners (fully licensed) using predominately Cumbrian free range produce. Conferences, celebrations and licensed venue for small weddings. Adjacent self catering cottages available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moresby Hall

Address: Moresby, Whitehaven CA28 6PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Whitehaven > Moresby
Price Range: $183 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Moresby Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moresby Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moresby Hall Hotel Moresby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moresby Hall staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Moresby Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms excellent”
Britsabroad2010, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“The Copeland room was lovely and spacious. Comfy chairs and a great jacuzzi bath!”
David89uk, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The oldest rooms are up winding stone staircases so not great for those less able”
LexieLea, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are all nice although the Copeland is the biggest”
281karen2015, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is a fine selection of beers, wines and spirits which can be served in the lounge, though there is no bar as such.”
E4159HZjohnk, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$171* /night
View Deal
LateRooms.comUS$179
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates