We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all B&B in Wasdale Head

Wasdale Head Inn

549 reviews
Save
Traveller (225)
Dining (32)
Room & Suite (27)
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good29%
  • Average7%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“scafell pike”(48 reviews)
“the pub”(66 reviews)
“residents bar”(23 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (549)Write a Review
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveller rating
275
161
42
37
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
275
161
42
37
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscafell pikethe pubresidents barself cateringritson's barlake districtcamping fieldgarden roomthe main hotelday's walkingsteak and ale piewalking geargreat gablefantastic locationdrying roomlarge portionsgreat beer
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 547 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Amazing food with a fantastic view we found it by chance after getting lost and stopped for lunch, I had lamb shank and my partner had Cumberland sausage, home cooked comfort food highly recommend, the road we came in was the most beautiful breathtaking lake

1  Thank lisadan100
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had the best fish and chips I’ve ever had here! The cod was absolutely gorgeous and the chips were smashing! We were really impressed with this place and will be tackling scafell just so I can reward myself with a lovely meal here again!

1  Thank wanderlust_millie
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Another great stay. Very welcoming staff, friendly and helpful. Perfect after a trip on the fells, especially after rain. Fire well stoked, plenty of choice of beers, wine and spirits, which staff will give advice on. Plenty of food for walking. Restaurant is well done,...More

Thank Dave E
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Awkward seating when there is a large "residents room" empty. Staff friendly but overworked. Constant wait at the bar while people order coffee and food. Shame as this pub could be so much better. It's the only place for miles and has the monopoly of...More

1  Thank chimpchoker33
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place blows all the rest out of the water. The staff are great, food excellent and well priced. The hotel itself is necessarily dated, as it has to retain the ambience of the 1800's. The rooms are adequate for the price. Where else could...More

Thank Steve H
View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456110
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (225)
Dining (32)
Room & Suite (27)
Pool & Beach (2)
Hotel & Grounds (165)
Bathroom (4)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lucy C
21 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Will_Ritson | Property representative |
Please call us on 019467 26229 to cancel or rearrange. Our deposits are non-refundable, however if we are able to move your booking and re-let your room we should be able to transfer your deposit to the revised booking
0
Votes
foxale
18 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Will_Ritson | Property representative |
We always have a range of real ales, with typically 6-8 different draught ales depending on the time of year. The actual ones vary from week to week depending on availability but we usually have beers from Carlisle Brewing... More
0
Votes
Joseph_Mantle
16 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Will_Ritson | Property representative |
Our rates start from £59 per person per night with full English breakfast, with a 10% reduction for stays of 3 or more nights. This is for a standard room. The superior rooms and self catering apartments are slightly more... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"best views are the rooms on the front of the hotel"
Read review
"We had room 3 which had a lovely view, but i think other rooms will give you a better one, it was quiet."
Read review
"As with all residential pubs/bars there may be slight noise in a room over the public areas, but I found..."
Read review
"Best avoid the hotel and camp on their camp site"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite