We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Greenhill Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wigton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Greenhill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 175: English reviews
Leeds
Reviewed 22 January 2017

The star rating is not for a stay at this hotel, it is for the fact they didn't book us in !!! The hotel was booked via telephone in October 2016 as a wedding anniversary treat in January 2017 through a living social deal. The evening before our booked stay we contacted the hotel to confirm and to our dismay,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank markellaLeeds
whitesmithjames, General Manager at Greenhill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I have looked into this, Our team did receive a call from yourself in October 2016 where you asked regarding the availability of hotel rooms for January, our reception team did give you dates which you were interested in. I believe you then contacted the voucher company. unfortunately we did not receive any confirmation on...

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Enjoyed a delightful weekend at Green Hills hotel Red Dial Wigton Cumbria . The room was clean and comfortable. The only downside was the bathroom . We had paid £ 30 for upgrade room 10. Bathroom very tiny. no place to hang towels no hot water first evening but it was rectified. Shower a trickle. having said that ,the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank magsjim
whitesmithjames, General Manager at Greenhill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry we had an issue with hot water, our bio-mass system developed a problem that was supposed to be resolved but was not leaving limited hot water. We did switch to our backup oil system after this until our bio-mass was fixed properly. We do have some rooms with smaller bathrooms...

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here weekend in January, the staff made us very welcome and couldn't do enough for us, food was good, good breakfast too Very clean and spacious hotel plenty of parking Our dog Walter loved it too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
whitesmithjames, General Manager at Greenhill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. I will pass them on to the team. It was also a pleasure having Walter here, he curtainly enjoyed the grounds. Hope to see you & Walter again soon

Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Called with friends and family yesterday for lunch and we were blown away with the quality of the food and the service that we had. We had to wait a while to be served due to a large party having lunch in the function room but it was well worth the wait. It's been a while since we've had 'Silver...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ALAN J
whitesmithjames, General Manager at Greenhill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback, and I am pleased you enjoyed your lunch. We have been making many changes since last spring and it is great that these improvements have positively impacted your visit. I hope to see you again soon where our hard working team would love to look after you again. I will pass your...

Preston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Stayed for one night, Groupon Offer, Friday 13th - but not unlucky for us, any easy and very enjoyable drive, lovely building but needs some TLC, room and bed comfortable, unfortunately couldn't lower the heating, it was on all night, food very enjoyable, better than lots of hotels, but not great, service and staff, superb, very warm and friendly -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
whitesmithjames, General Manager at Greenhill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, we are currently renovating some guest areas and have more planned in which will bring all areas of the property to a high standard. A little TLC as you mentioned. Please contact us before your next visit so I may ensure our food offering meets your...

Cramlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Lovely start to our build up to Christmas. Grand Old building, Hotel was situated in its own grounds and entrance was well lit up with Christmas lights, warm and welcoming. We were given our room at the top of a beautiful grand old curved staircase, 30 stairs, worth noting as no lift. As we had a great offer of bb...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valtona12
whitesmithjames, General Manager at Greenhill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback, I will pass it on to the team in our next briefing. In regards to the heating, we are reviewing in room temperature controls which isn't an easy task due to the age of the plumbing but it will be resolved in the new year. Thanks and hope to see you here...

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Great Hotel, standing in it's own grounds, ideal for weddings!.....lovely large rooms, the room we stayed in needed dusting behind dressing table and bed, the carpet under radiator needed hoovering!...excellent breakfast, very friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SummertimeLady
whitesmithjames, General Manager at Greenhill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, I will speak to our cleaner & housekeepers about the dust and review our checking processes. Please ask for James on your next visit and I would love the opportunity to say hello and look after you personally. Kind regards

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Purchased a groupon for a overnight stay with dinner and breakfast, wasn't disappointed. Room 1 was clean, well presented, bed really comfy. Dinner was three courses, with plenty of choice, favourite course pudding - tiramisu which was scrummy. Breakfast once again plenty of choice cereal, fresh juices, fresh fruit, toast, Cumbrian cooked breakfast, once again well presented and delicious. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Warhorsefan
whitesmithjames, General Manager at Greenhill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you bery much for your comments. we have been making many improvemnt here over the summer and it is grea to see them working. Looking foward toyour next visist Regards

Lanark, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Me & my husband arrived for a couple of nights this week. We booked through Wowcher and as such were impressed by the grand beauty of the building from the minute we drove up the manicured driveway, It is a majestic building and is in a beautiful and picturesque part of the country. Inside was as grand as out and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roweyfraggle
whitesmithjames, General Manager at Greenhill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are undergoing a bit of a revolution here at present and have been for around 6 months. the beds you mentioned are in the process of being replaced, we have renovated 3 rooms now and they all have king size beds in them. My apologies for the bill issue and the...

Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary on a groupon special deal 2 nights b+b plus wine and 3 course evening meal for 1 of our nights for 2. Such a beautiful place, stunning views all around. Staff were very pleasing they couldnt do enough for us. First night we decided to eat in. What a great choice, meals were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene C
whitesmithjames, General Manager at Greenhill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback, I will pass this on to the team as they love hearing good feedback for their efforts. Looking forward to your next visit.

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigton
0.0 km away
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wigton
115 reviews
13.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
11.0 km away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,551 reviews
0.0 km away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
479 reviews
38.1 km away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Country House Hotel, central location to northern lakes & Southern Scotland. Georgian architecture, grade 2 listed building with great grounds and stunning features. Fresh seasonal food, Sunday lunches, afternoon teas, weddings, corporate & special occasions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Greenhill Hotel

Address: Red Dial, Wigton CA7 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Wigton
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Greenhill Hotel Wigton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Greenhill Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Turkey
22 days ago
Durham, United Kingdom
Edinburgh
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Greenhill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front rooms have best views ????”
 of 5 bubbles laurencemcphee, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room with country side views to the front ...very peaceful. Lovely morning sunshine .Large comfortable room clean and welcoming .”
 of 5 bubbles elizabethdon, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Views good from every angle, corner rooms have double aspect”
 of 5 bubbles jamescN263EL, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 9 has everything you need.”
 of 5 bubbles SMOGGYLAND, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 2 or 3”
 of 5 bubbles 945TimS945, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5