We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Ginn House Inn

Traveller (29)
Dining (11)
Room & Suite (9)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Golf Course
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
181Reviews
59Photos
3Q+A
19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 92
  • 62
  • 16
  • 5
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rude staff behind the bar. I ordered a tuna sandwich and it tasted of petrol. When I got to the bar the waitress was rude and told me to wait while she sorted the till very abruptly. I told her about my sandwich and I still had to pay even though I hadn’t eaten any of it. Not
Read more
Response from OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn
Responded 2 days ago
We were aware of your complaint and can only apologise if you thought your sandwich tasted of 'petrol'. We have spoken to our staff who were working at the lunch time. Our staff state that they re approached during your meal and asked if everything was ok for everyone. If you had mentioned at the time we would of happily replaced your meal. Our apologies if you thought the bar staff were rude as we are normally complemented on their friendliness and helpfulness. We have spoken to the member of staff on the bar with regards to this matter.
Read more
Booked very last minute as a cheeky night away. WOW lovely welcome on arrival, great room, could not book a table until 8pm, but worth the wait, the food/staff/service was fabulous. Breakfast lovely. Booked a standard room but everything you required, would stay again, thank
Read more
Response from OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn
Responded Jan. 21, 2019
Thank you for your generous review. We are glad that you received a lovely welcome at the Old Ginn House Inn and that you enjoyed your meal and service from our staff. It is always a boost to receive such complimentary comments. Our restaurant does get very busy and we do advise guests to book a table of a weekend. We hope the next time you decide to have cheeky night away that you will stay with us again.
Read more
Went for a family meal,only to be told we had to pay for drinks as we drank them. Couldnt fault the food and the table service(Scouse boy was great and very helpful also another girl but never got her name.Up on paying we went to get the bill to be told we dont split it you have
Read more
Response from OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn
Responded Jan. 12, 2019
We can only apologise that the customer service you received from our bar staff was not as you would expect. Our staff are usually praised for their friendly service. We will speak to our staff with the complaints that you have raised. Unfortunately for parties of 10 or more we don't split the bill due to past issues of full payment not being received. We do require customers to place drinks orders at the bar of which you can place on the bill. We hope that you will dine with us again and see an improved service. We have made further investigations and identified the employee that you mentioned who was sat at the bar. This lady had actually finished her shift at 6pm and was having a drink with her father, however the behaviour that you describe is not condoned by us and she has been dealt with in the appropriate manner.
Read more
Here for 9 nights was in room 5, great big room always kept spotless by house keeping.found all members of staff friendly and come across as genuinely nice people. Food is fantastic.generous breakfasts great quality food and fantastic steaks at night time. Would definatley
Read more
Response from OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn
Responded Dec. 6, 2018
Thank you for your generous review. It was lovely to meet you and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Old Ginn House Inn. Our staff are grateful for your kind words and we are delighted that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant, especially our steaks and of course our Cumbrian breakfasts. We hope to have the pleasure of your company the next time you are in the area.
Read more
lovely hotel in the countryside clean rooms and clean hotel in general nice big rooms breakfast is ok the dinner was a bit oily, especially the onion rings. but the rooms are lovely and quite free parking was available
Read more
Response from OGH o, Manager at The Old Ginn House Inn
Responded Oct. 31, 2018
It is nice of you to go to the trouble of writing a review. We appreciate all feedback from guests. We are pleased that you were happy with your room and found that the Inn and your room was clean. We are sorry that you felt that your dinner was a bit oily. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company again in the future.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerDining Room & Suite
Photo provided by managementThe Old Ginn House Inn
Very Large Family Room. Will accommodate 2 adults & 3 children
Photo provided by managementThe Old Ginn House Inn
Suite
Photo provided by managementThe Old Ginn House Inn
Double Room
Photo provided by managementThe Old Ginn House Inn
Photo provided by managementThe Old Ginn House Inn
PreviousNext
12
Are dogs allowed into the bar or restaurant?
Unfortunately unless its a guide dog we do not allow dogs inside. Sorry.
0 votes
Good Afternoon, Sorry I am afraid we are closed all day New Years Day. Best Wishes
0 votes
What time is Sunday dinner served until?
"nice clean hotel for a lovely stay"
"Room 4/5 Very good"
"All rooms are accessed via a common front door room 21 is right by the access door so this could be prone to being noisy."
"My room was perfect directly opposite the reception"
"room 30 is a great size room for families"
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
US$102 - US$132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWorkington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing