We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Waverley Hotel

Expedia.comUS$73*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$78*
US$73*
US$78*
US$73*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Waverley Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Waverley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 159: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The rooms were lovely and the staff could not do enough. We had my brothers son with us and the staff basically adopted him!. The food was very good and they made special allowance for children.Would .recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robin m
Lynn P, Manager at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review we are delighted you enjoyed our food and your stay with us and are delighted you would recommend the Waverley Hotel.

Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

I have been staying here over the last three weeks due to work. The hotel is in an excellent location for the bus station, train station and the docks and is well used by contractors working in the local area. It would be equally useful if visiting the Lake District and surrounding areas without having to pay premium prices. Parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, our food and our staff were friendly and helpful. We are pleased to hear you would stay with us again and look forward to any future visits you may have.

Hazel Grove, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

One of our stops riding from Ravenglas to Whitley Bay. Although from the outside its not impressive we were warmly greeted. The twin room was clean and reasonably spacious with a good shower. The evening meal selection was good and the portions were generous, with good bar facilities. The breakfast gave a good self service selection. In conclusion a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davidann8
Lynn P, Manager at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review we are delighted you found our room clean, spacious and you enjoyed our food and service.

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Reception extremely friendly. Room 22 reasonable size with twins beds, desk, very small television and good sized en suite. Dressing gowns, tea/coffee and bathroom stuff all supplied Meal in bar, very average. Had the meat and potato pie but obviously there was a shortage of meat!! Shortcrust pastry soft and doughy, carrots and peas ok, chips nice crunchy outside and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dave v
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Feels like a local pub downstairs in the bar. No bad thing. Rooms were a good size with en suite shower and small TV with easy access to Workington town centre. Free parking on the road outside the hotel at the weekend but I think there are restrictions during the week. The lady on reception was very nice and welcoming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian85361
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review we are delighted you enjoyed our hospitality and had a great stay. We look forward to any future visits you may have with us.

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel room was worn and bathroom looked distinctly moldy. Wedding party when we arrived and we were put over the bar (which was at least the opposite side to the disco) but the double glazing was so poor we could hear all of the conversations between the many smokers outside. Very limited number of sockets in the room and unsupportive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hull_daniel
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we try to minimise any disturbance when events are being held and apologise we did not succeed on this occasion. We regret the standard room booked was not satisfactory we only have 2 of these still available as we are in the process of upgrading all our rooms to superior rooms.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

You get what you pay for not a bad little town. Short drive away from Keswick which is really beautiful and some good activities on offer. There's a local tesco store along with a few shops around but not much to do in Workington to be honest. It is ok for a couple but for a family I would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank naji2016
Lynn P, Manager at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found Workington a good base to explore our wonderful Lake District.

Liverpool
Reviewed 4 September 2016

This hotel has a special place in my life as a very young child and the location was perfect for my business trip. However, I'm older, wiser and wealthier now and will stay in a B&B elsewhere next time. The hotel has "character", but this part of Workington has seen better times and the hotel reflects this. The bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wirralians
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We booked 2 rooms, one deluxe and one single for 2 nights. The hotel appears to be in a rough area of Workington, as it is run down and there was the constant loud noise of drunks on the road outside. There's only one hour disc parking outside the hotel during the day. It looks like the decor in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave N
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

I visited here last month, arrived very late in a strange land and in the dark. Night porter contacted, number on outside of main entrance. Responded immediately and booked in. Due to my lateness I can't really comment on the hotel itself as I only spent 5 hours here. Not sure on parking as I was dropped off. However my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank micwic

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
0.9 km away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
125 reviews
3.7 km away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#9 of 9 in Workington
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
245 reviews
5.0 km away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
7.7 km away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Waverley Hotel

Address: 1 Gordon Street, Workington CA14 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Price Range: $93 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waverley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room one is small but we did request it as I am disabled and it is the lowest room.”
seriouslysunseeking, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“just ring and they will help u”
Y3273RBianw, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“go for upgraded”
987nahima, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are good”
870anthonyl, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You get what you pay for”
davev218, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$73* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
TripAdvisorUS$73
Booking.comUS$78
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates