We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Priest House by the River

Traveller (292)
Room & Suite (80)
Pool & Beach (18)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set in a tranquil and stunning location on the banks of the River Trent, The Priest House's history is a rich one that can be traced back almost 1,000 years. Built around a mill tower with its very own water wheels, this 42 bedroom hotel is perfectly placed for a romantic break, an exclusive conference venue or a picture perfect wedding. We've hand-picked a fine selection of food and drink to compliment the charm and romance of our English Countryside setting. Fine dine in our beautiful dining room or relax in our newly renovated and re-named Millstream Bar & Terrace where you can enjoy al fresco dining overlooking the River Trent in the Summer months. We invite you to come and relax and really feel at home with us.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Wheelchair Access
Public Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Laundry Service
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Accessible rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gems
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
East Midlands Airport4 km
Birmingham Intl Airport50 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (915)
Filter reviews
911 results
Traveller rating
381
266
143
64
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
381
266
143
64
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages main building cottage room hand picked hotels the fine dining restaurant banks of the river afternoon tea travelzoo deal wedding venue wedding guests full english wedding breakfast two night stay evening meal short break food was lovely breakfast was excellent
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 911 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Thought we would give them a second chance. A birthday evening meal had been a let down and the Sunday lunch we tried was equally poor. Slow service, cold plates and not particularly good food. It's set up to be so much more than actually...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank gashea6
Response from Kathryn C, Guest Relations Manager at The Priest House by the RiverResponded today

Many thanks for your feedback and apologies your experience wasn't what you had hoped for. We do fully appreciate your comments and feedback regarding your experience and take all comments fully on board. We would really like to discuss this further with you so we...More

Reviewed 3 days ago

I was thinking about booking this hotel as my wedding venue but unfortunately it came to a rapid holt after a email to say that the wedding coordinator was out the office until the 4th of Dec but this was the 8th??? So obviously not...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank angela t
Response from Kathryn C, Guest Relations Manager at The Priest House by the RiverResponded 2 days ago

Many thanks for your feedback and apologies your first experience wasn't what you had hoped for. We do fully appreciate your comments and feedback regarding your first hand experience and take all comments fully on board. We would really like to discuss this further with...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We stay at the priest house hotel to celebrate a wedding which was very nice food / venue were lovely we were in the cottages which is where we found not up to what we have come to expect during our travels first it was...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank jg51lynn
Response from Kathryn C, Guest Relations Manager at The Priest House by the RiverResponded 2 days ago

Many thanks for your feedback and apologies your experience wasn't what you had hoped for. We do fully appreciate your comments and feedback regarding your experience and take all comments fully on board. If you would like to discuss this further so we can get...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

The past five years has seen us visiting the Priest House Hotel many times, for our wedding day, afternoon tea, Sunday lunch and an overnight stay. There are two things that never let us down. Number one the fantastic food and secondly the lovely staff....More

Date of stay: November 2018
1  Thank Mrs_L_Bailey
Response from Kathryn C, Guest Relations Manager at The Priest House by the RiverResponded 2 days ago

Many thanks for your review. We really do appreciate your comments and feedback regarding your stay with us and will ensure they are passed on to the relevant team members at the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed a Sunday lunch here back in November. We enjoyed it so much that we came back with the family. The value is excellent, the food expertly prepared and presented. Service is superb, friendly and polite. The welcome is warm and the place was...More

Date of stay: December 2018
2  Thank jefft551
Response from Kathryn C, Guest Relations Manager at The Priest House by the RiverResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your review. We really do appreciate your comments and feedback regarding your Sunday lunch with us and will ensure they are passed on to the relevant team members at the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Nicky C
June 18, 2018|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from Amy66_12 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, sorry I don't know.
1
Vote
robertsanders58
January 3, 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from 770StevieB | Reviewed this property |
Sorry don't know that one !!
0
Votes
Julie A
July 6, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from David C | Reviewed this property |
They serve meals in the bar or in the restaurant. The bar is a bit more informal but with nicely set out tables. Not sure when they finish serving but it seemed fairly relaxed so not too early I would think
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Pick a room with a river view!"
kt_h87
3 weeks ago
Read review
"Worth paying extra for the executive suite but all rooms are lovely."
149bethanyw
Nov. 7, 2018
Read review
"It was nice to overlook the river."
Annieb787
Nov. 3, 2018
Read review
"Don't bother..try Holiday Inn or elsewhere!"
paulandmarywood
Oct. 20, 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$97 - US$151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
priest house hotel castle doningtonpriest hotel castle donington
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Priest House Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCastle Donington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing