We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Swiss House B&B

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Swiss House B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 288: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

First but not the last visit to this wonderful b&b. We were made comfortable immediately on arrival by our lovely hosts and that continued throughout our stay. The room was beyond clean and comfortable with every need met..... and breakfast was tempting to look at and delicious to eat. The home made granola was scrumptious but I also left room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dinahproctor
Flitwick
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a two night break to explore this part of The Peak District. Thoroughly recommend Swiss House. Upon arrival we were Made to feel very welcome by Mary and Martha. The room was spotlessly clean and comfy. The breakfast was first class, just what you need to set you up for a days hiking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 771TonyB
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We have been visiting Castleton on and off for over twenty years. This was our first stay at Swiss House. Lovely breakfast - plenty of choice to suit everyone, spotless rooms (as has been mentioned a few times on here!) and a very warm welcome from Mary and Martha - thank you both for contributing to the success of my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pedro105
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Comfy bed in a spotless room with nice views. Plenty of niceties like tea/coffee/biscuits and bottled water laid on....a really nice breakfast with local ingredients. All laid on by friendly hosts Mary and Martha (We felt we'd known them for years.)....Shame it was only for two nights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alan b
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Mary and Martha, sisters I believe, run an excellent guest house. The rooms are well decorated, large and exceptionally clean. The breakfast was all you want, very tasty. The thing that made this stay so good though were the hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and they are so friendly. If I go back to Castleton then I know where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iancoventry_11
Martha H, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. I'm so glad you had a good time, pity you could only stay one night! :)

Charvil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

I have just finished a weekend of mountain biking in the awesome Peak District,and spent two nights in room 1 at the Swiss House B&B.The hosts were super accommodating throughout our stay,the room was absolutely spotless with all toiletries,towels etc supplied,even bottled water and snacks.Every morning the breakfast was very tasty and filling for our hard day ahead,good variety of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fin114
Martha H, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your praise! We do try hard to get things as we would want to find them. Your group is always a pleasure and we look forward to seeing you again in 2017. :)

dunstable
Reviewed 3 September 2016

from the outside this b&b does not look very appealing,however the room was nice and large and clean,also all the small things toiletries towels etc are of better then average quality,but the star of the show is breakfast,you will never get this standard of breakfast in a larger hotel,in fact its the best I have had anywhere ive stayed,nice large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miclinDunstable
Martha H, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Yes we do struggle a little with the Victorian building - not as pretty as some of the older cottages. However, we think (and you do too it seems) we make up for it with what's on offer on the inside. Yes, book direct with us if possible. It may be cheaper, you can pick...

Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with Swiss House as we felt that the room photos didn't really do them justice. Our room was big, with a huge bed and a lovely view. Service was excellent and the owners and other guests very friendly. We'll definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carole E
Kortrijk, Belgium
Reviewed 14 August 2016

great bedroom,very clean, excellent breakfast, good starting point to discover the Peak District. The two hosts run the B&B in a swift and efficient way. Large bathroom in a quiet house. Everything is clean and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anglomaniac
Grimsby
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Although they can't always do it we managed stay here for just the one night. We were made to feel very welcome by Martha on arrival who showed us to our room and then went down to make us a cup of tea in the lounge/reception and also gave us a piece of home made flapjack which was very nice....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian S

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.3 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
2.3 km away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
7.9 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,215 reviews
0.2 km away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#2 of 13 in Castleton
203 reviews
0.0 km away
Rushop Hall
Rushop Hall
#1 of 6 in Castleton
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Swiss House is a family run Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Castleton, in the Peak District National Park. Our B&B can sleep up to 20 people in 8 en-suite bedrooms. Our full English breakfast is, so we are told, just 'the best' with lots of local and home-made produce like British bacon, locally made sausage and black pudding (all from the butcher in Hope), and Seville orange marmalade, various jams and granola lovingly made by Martha!This is an ideal base for walking, climbing or sight seeing. We have plenty of off-road parking. Packed lunches are available and we have a drying room if the weather becomes inclement! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swiss House B&B

Address: Swiss House How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Price Range: $124 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Swiss House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss House B&B Castleton, UK - England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Swiss House B&B staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Swiss House B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 5 first floor - view of the Castle”
 of 5 bubbles Pedro105, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book in advance, it is justifiably popular.”
 of 5 bubbles iancoventry_11, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 has a nice view and is large and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Anglomaniac, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I had a room overlooking the nearby derelict castle, near the road, but as its a quiet village road noise was minimal”
 of 5 bubbles Juliamd_12, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 quiet with view of hills from seat area.All windows can be opened for fresh air.”
 of 5 bubbles 719bin, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay