We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

George Hotel Glossop

Save
Traveller (5)
Dining (9)
Room & Suite (8)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby
Overview
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good17%
  • Average22%
  • Poor26%
  • Terrible20%
25 Nov 2015
“In need of lots of work”
20 Jul 2015
“Fantastic, quaint hotel!”
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for George Hotel Glossop
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
7
8
10
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
7
8
10
11
9
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 45 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Though we didn;t stay here we visited The George for an evening meal whilst in the area (Myself,2 children and my Mum) and were very impressed by the standard of food as well as the quantity!! Our meals were served piping hot and were of...More

Thank Leona822
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in room 7 (family room). The room itself was very tired and dated. But the basics are covered. Did have problems getting the shower to get warm, so gave up in the end and used the basin. Good points Bed was comfortable Breakfast was...More

Thank Richard_2547
Response from TripAdvocate1234, Manager at George Hotel GlossopResponded May 21, 2015

Dear Guest, thank you for your candid review regarding The George Hotel, I am really sorry regarding your experience but I understand from the information that you were a guest before we took over the running of the hotel and pub. The George will be...More

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Never been handed a remote control when I've checked in anywhere before. The pub was clean and pleasant, once I ventured up the stairs things weren't so good. Odd smell throughout and my room could have done with a clean. Dust everywhere. Especially behind the...More

5  Thank sharon f
Response from Johnthegeorge, Manager at George Hotel GlossopResponded November 4, 2013

All remote controls are handed out on check in so that we are able to track them. Unfortunately people take them and this would therefore leave us with a television that does not work. All rooms are thoroughly cleaned and dusted prior to check in....More

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hello We stayed at the George over the weekend, the downstairs is clean and tidy, the rooms are very poor. Stayed in room 1 --- never again. The staff however were all very polite and pleasant, the food is very good.

3  Thank senots
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Well ok ordered some food and it took about 45 minutes to arrive and when it did, microwaved food or what it was shocking and the staff weren't to great the amount of time one member of staff looked at me whilst I tried I...More

4  Thank Ajf1235
Response from Johnthegeorge, Manager at George Hotel GlossopResponded October 7, 2013

All our food is homemade and cooked on the premises. Unfortunately you have not stated what you ordered, however on our menu it does state that during busy times there may be a slight delay. I have checked with all staff and the night you...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Glossop
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (5)
Dining (9)
Room & Suite (8)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from George Hotel Glossop staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Do not choose room 5!!"
Read review
"Ask for room 1 (double bed) which is near back to avoid street noise."
Read review
"There may be other rooms away from the road and not over the bar area that might be quieter.Check when..."
Read review
"room not big enough for 4 poster - don't bother!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing