We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

George Hotel Glossop

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
George Hotel Glossop
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for George Hotel Glossop
See the most recent reviews
Showing 46: English reviews
Derby, UK
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a friend's 50th in the downstairs function room. Ok it's not the best place I've ever stayed but it was friendly, comfortable and excellent value for money. We had two single rooms which were basic and a bit dated but they were warm, clean and had everything you need for a short stay. Staff...

3Thank Marcus C
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Booked two rooms for weekend 23-25 Nov.(two nights).Great location for visiting Manchester.Train station right outside the front door.No noise from trains because it terminates here.Large Co-op supermarket next to station.Centrally located.Banks,petrol station and many shops on the doorstep,even a Marks&Spencer,couldn't be more convenient.Price includes a cooked breakfast with cereals,toast,juice tea and coffee thrown in.The rooms are OK,clean and well appointed,if...

Thank Alan P
Killyleagh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Went for a weekend to be close to the peak district, some great walks nearby! Glossop does offer some restaurants/bars also. The george hotel does a good breakfast, and nice staff. Room with 4 poster bed(and rather aged at that!) was VERY cold when we got there and took some amount of heating up. Bed could do with a new...

4Thank NowCousins
Glossop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Very friendly town centre local just opposite the station. Tried the Grolsch lager which wasn't at it's best, but the Guinness was on really top form. Not tried the food, but looks as though they have a good choice.

1Thank glossopowl
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 5 July 2012

It's not a hotel - it's a pub with rooms for rent. You have to pass through a crowd of beerdrinking gentlemen (and their wives) from Glossop to get to your room. There is no reception, there is a bar...Don't put your creditcard directly on the bardesk - it will stuck. Breakfast is served in the function room - or...

3Thank Henninglyn
Management response:

As a town Centre property we do not have a beer garden or an allocated smoking area, the only place for people to smoke is at the front of the Hotel. We do not advertise to be anything that we are not. We offer good value accommodation to include a full English Breakfast and free Wiifi. At £35.00 per night...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I booked the George for my son's christening - never again! We have used the pub for family meals and always been satisfied with the food. I booked for a christening and arranged that all our families ordered and paid seperately for sunday lunches - in total no more that 25 covers - it was 2 hours beforethe last table...

Johnthegeorge, Owner at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this review

These are people who booked the Function room in January for a Christening and did not pay the £100.00 deposit to secure the room, that we request within 14 days. After several telephone messages they still didn't pay the deposit so the booking was cancelled by ourselves. The week running up to the event the lady came into the Hotel...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We booked in as a group; and were looking for a cheap weekend away. We weren't expecting to find the George to blow us away, as it wasn't expensive (£190 for B&B for 8 people). The bar area has recently been rennovated and it was quite a nice and welcoming start to our stay. If you head to the George...

Thank rusty154
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The George Hotel is a simple place to stay but is very out-dated and old. £60 for a double room for a night is too much for this standard of hotel. That said, the staff at breakfast were very friendly & helpful.

3Thank Paul_and_Shona
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Seemed ok till we had to spend any amount of time in room. Shower would be better if water came out of it at a good temperature and not as a cold trickle. Woke up a few times in night as we were so cold , duvet wasn't much use , found spare blankets next morning :0( door to room...

3Thank ladyblade0114
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed here for one night and I asked for a double room. We got a double room but it was tiny, (and was two single beds pushed together - so no cuddling in the middle!) you could hardly walk round the bed and there was a wall heater on the wall that you had to be careful not to...

3Thank NipperTripper

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (5)
Bathroom (3)
Dining (1)
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (24)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Dining (8)
Bathroom (4)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
View from Room (1)
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
1.5 km away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
5.2 km away
Premier Inn Manchester (Hyde) Hotel
0.9 km away
The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Queens Arms Country Inn
Queens Arms Country Inn
#5 of 11 in Glossop
70 reviews
3.8 km away
The Woodlands
The Woodlands
#1 of 11 in Glossop
103 reviews
1.5 km away
Windy Harbour Farm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Currently The George Hotel Glossop is currently Closed under the previous business operators. The George Hotel is currently owned and managed by Punch Taverns ... more   less 

Additional Information about George Hotel Glossop

Address: 34 Norfolk Street, Glossop SK13 7QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel Glossop 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your George Hotel Glossop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Glossop Derbyshire, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from George Hotel Glossop staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not choose room 5!!”
SusanneKu, 19 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Ask for room 1 (double bed) which is near back to avoid street noise.”
TheDunsBuns, 2 Oct 2013 | Read review
“There may be other rooms away from the road and not over the bar area that might be quieter.Check when booking.”
AlanP360, 30 Nov 2012 | Read review
“room not big enough for 4 poster - don't bother!”
NowCousins, 9 Nov 2012 | Read review
“Any room would do!”
martinconroy, 16 Dec 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates