We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Horse and Jockey

TripAdvisorUS$90*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
13/06/2017 14/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$90*
US$90*
US$90*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Horse and Jockey
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 118: English reviews
Start your review of Horse and Jockey
 Click to rate
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Although the place is pretty and cozy, and having no too many options around, the food was a disappointment. Lamb shank served not hot enough, overcooked steaks, special chicken pie filling was great but the pastry was undercooked which was a shame. Boiled veggies tasteless and watery (straight from a bag?). Makes you wonder about the "home made" quality advertised...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anaid M
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Excellent food and beer!! Ate here twice in 3 days it was that nice! Excellent pit stop after a long days walk. Dog friendly. Good choice if dishes and Sunday lunch best I've had for ages!! Good central location to explore the lovely walks this place had to offer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank max18044
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Well situated for walking in lovely village of Tideswell. Meeting mate who's doing the Lands End to John O'Groats walk. Pitched up on warmest Sunday of year thus far. Really busy with good atmos. The clacking of dominoes in the background. Good choice of beers. A breakdown in Comms was dealt with quickly when we were given a different room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevingston18
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

A stunning little gem. The rooms are amazing! I had a jacuzzi bath. Very comfortable bed - a good night sleep. The restaurant has a small but certainly varied enough menu - the beers on tap great and a large selection. Wonderful use of natural timber throughout! Oh... And breakfast was perfect!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 98billyboy
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We booked last minute. Very accommodating. Room clean and roomy. Quiet at night. Perfect for our walking break. Great food, good value. Breakfast enormous but great. We had room 4 in the attic huge bed tea coffee facilities. Easy distance to circular walks around this beautiful area. Real ale pub, busy and friendly. Would definitely use again or recommend. Helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We stayed here in 2014 and liked it but this visit was terrible. We stayed in room 3 like the previous visit.This time the heating didn't work in the room as the boiler had apparently broken down. The towel rail fell off the wall in the bathroom, the hot water was scalding and the hot tap rotated about as it...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Steve N
tideswellderbyshire1, Owner at Horse and Jockey, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us and feel I must respond to your in depth comments :- The first thing I would like to address is your comment re your stay in room 3 as per your previous visit in 2014. Other than a few minor upgrades i.e. decorating etc, very little has changed within...

Nottingham
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

I'm sorry the Tripadvisor Rating is either 'average' or 'very good' with no 'good' option as it is good value for a B and B stay. Firstly, my full English breakfast arrived on a very hot plate ( I can't stand hot food served on cold plates!). It was cooked to order and using local produce; so the bacon and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Stopped in for lunch with my wife while visiting the village. We ordered the leek and potato bake from the specials board and it was very good. The service was excellent as well from the lady behind the bar who also acted as our waitress. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank itsNick2
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed at The Horse & Jockey w/ my son in early February 2017 and we had a wonderful time there. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and mine (#3) had a lively view of the village and sheep dotted hillside beyond. Their Full English Breakfast is fantastic and all the staff are friendly and helpful. I cannot recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John A
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

This is a friendly pub with good beers and your usual pub grub. Unfortunately I went for the allegedly 'home made' steak and ale pie. This comes in about 3 minutes with a microwaved square pie lid on a plate of tinned style steak. Hugely disappointed as had high hopes for this pub based on all the other reviews. Was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geezercdg
tideswellderbyshire1, Owner at Horse and Jockey, responded to this review

Hi sorry if you didn't enjoy your meal but I can a sure you that our steak and ale pie is not tinned meat it's from our local butchers, also The only frozen veg you would of got would of been The peas. Nic

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
13/06/2017 14/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tideswell
9.4 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
376 reviews
9.6 km away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
24.6 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#7 of 7 in Tideswell
145 reviews
0.5 km away
Meadow Lodge B & B
Meadow Lodge B & B
#1 of 7 in Tideswell
185 reviews
0.1 km away
Blossom House
Blossom House
#3 of 7 in Tideswell
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Horse and Jockey

Address: Queens Street | Buxton, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Tideswell
Price Range: $120 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Horse and Jockey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse And Jockey Hotel Tideswell
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Horse and Jockey staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I cannot advise travelers on this but my advice to the owners is to either sort their issues out or you will probably go out of business!”
431steven, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sorry we have only eaten her not stopped.”
BabsyLeicester.UK, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I can only say from having a meal only there as we have not stayed in this establishment”
paulwK6525DR, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“Room no 4, which is a family room is up 2 flights of stairs and has low ceilings.”
lemspar, 29 Oct 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in room 2 - overlooking outside area with tables & chairs. Very comfy room”
500juliah, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$90* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$90
Booking.comUS$90
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates