The Hoste

The Hoste

Traveller (492)
Panorama at The Hoste
360
Panoramas (37)
Bathroom door
Room & Suite (315)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 2 hotels in Burnham Market
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Hoste and Vine House Hotels and Hoste Beauty are located in Burnham Market at the heart of the North Norfolk coast. The Hoste's historic bar, The Hoste Arms, dates back 400 years. There are also restaurants, a sheltered walled garden, fitness centre, and beauty spa and luxury 20-seat cinema. The Hoste was recognised as one of the leading ‘cool hotels’ by The Times in 2017 as well as one of the top 25 best food destinations in the UK.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Street parking
Public wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
24-hour security
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Separate living room
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,126 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Hoste boasts a prime location that receives accolades for its easy access to scenic views and local attractions. While opinions on value vary, with some guests finding it reasonable and others pricey, the cleanliness of the hotel consistently impresses, featuring spotless rooms and facilities. The atmosphere is frequently described as inviting, with stylish decor and cozy touches, despite some comfort issues noted. Amenities like a spa, pet-friendly policies, and a unique cinema add to the charm, and the service is generally praised for its warmth and efficiency, although a few guests have encountered less favorable interactions.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,126Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 992
  • 500
  • 326
  • 175
  • 133
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Tina A wrote a review Mar 2020
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Having had our trip to Rome to watch the six nations Italy v England match cancelled due to Coronavirus, we decided to go to Norfolk for the weekend with our friends instead and chose The Hoste. Our friends booked a Divine room at £219 per night and we booked a Luxury room at £187 per night. However, when we checked into our rooms in a coach house outside the main building we discovered they were opposite each other on the ground floor and mirrored each other with a set of stairs between us going up to the first floor. So they were exactly the same rooms but our friends had been charged £32 per night more. Without us knowing our friends complained about the noise from the room above them and were given the choice of 2 rooms they could move to in the main building, they chose room 11 and had a nice quiet stay for the rest of our visit. Before we met up with them for dinner I also complained to reception about the noise due to no soundproofing at all - you can hear everything including a dog continually barking, children jumping up and down on the bed, people’s conversations as they thud up and down the stairs and walk across their rooms, going to the toilet etc. I asked if we could move to a quieter room and was told they had nothing else available (I later found out about our friends move - so what happened to the second room our friends were shown I wonder!) and that the guests above us had also booked in for two nights - oh joy, lucky us! The next morning I was asked how my night was and when I said it was fine until 5:15 am when I was woken by the room above, the manager apologised and said they were going to do renovations in the future to help with sound proofing .... great, but this didn’t help us and I do not appreciate paying extortionate prices for a room with sound proofing like a Travelodge. So beware and make sure you don’t get rooms 24 or 25!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma O wrote a review Aug 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Considering that we stayed during the 2020 Covid-19 pandemic, The Hoste managed to balance keeping everyone safe whilst providing a wonderfully relaxing break. The rooms were gorgeous, very spacious and beautifully decked out with furniture in keeping with the age of the property. Breakfast was served in the courtyard and whilst the staff were very busy ensuring tables were cleared and cleaned before others sat down they looked after the guests in an unflappable manner that left you feeling totally relaxed. We ate in the Bar in the evening, The Mussels were some of the best I have ever tasted. I was told they were from Brancaster just 4 miles away so use of local produce is definitely high on their agenda. We would definitely love to stay there again and can highly recommend the Hotel and their staff, a really friendly and hardworking team
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The Vine House is a quiet oasis with really luxurious surroundings
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Hoste
Responded Aug 3, 2020
Dear Emzee68 Thank you for your review regarding your stay at The Hoste. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff were friendly and hardworking. Please be assured that your comments have been passed on to the entire team, we have enjoyed reading your kind words and are pleased to see we are hitting our stride during the reopening after COVID. The Brancaster mussels are delicious and certainly a popular choice for our guests, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed them. We look forward to welcoming your friends, family (and any others you recommend The Hoste to) and yourselves back to The Hoste in the very near future. Please do not hesitate to contact the team on 01328 738777 or email reservations@thehoste.com for quotes and the best deals! Kind Regards Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
GS82_London wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here as a family of four at the end of August. This is a well established, upmarket residence in an ideal location.

What they did well
The location is perfect. It’s on the doorstep of the quaint shops, bars and restaurants in the beautiful village of Burnham Market.
The hotel has an indoor cinema which works a treat for the kids. And the spa is lovely. Staff are helpful and really attentive towards l guests, accommodating as and when necessary despite clearly being stretched in the post-COVID era.
Having read some of the earlier (negative) reviews it is clear the staff are stretched - i flag a few issues we encountered below - but they were visibly trying to cope and always attended to our requirements. There is ample car parking but it can get busy in the evenings as external diners tend to use the car park, leaving some guests having to park out on the street.
We also took our bikes with us and they have a secure outhouse to store the bikes which was very convenient.

How they could improve
Car parking is frustratingly scarce in the evenings due to the number of diners using the spaces. The hotel ought to allow guests to reserve spaces for when they return.

The restaurant staff were great but on several occasions just seem to forget/ ignore specific requests. Eg. Sending white instead of wholemeal bread. They also seem very short staffed and the existing staff looked exhausted. This has the knock on effect of diners desperately trying to get staff’s attention for 10/15 mins just to order a drink!

The food menu caters for most diners’ needs but we had the same menu for all four days of our stay. They should rotate to keep it interesting, and to entice diners to eat at the hotel rather than having to venture out to find other options.

Overall
This is a lovely hotel, perfectly situated. The staff are great and I hope / expect that some of the shortcomings are a result of the current environment. We would certainly visit again and hope next time we can give it 5 out of 5!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Hoste
Responded Sep 3, 2020
Dear GS82_London Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the end of August with us. We are delighted to read of your positive comments regarding your stay at The Hoste regarding the team, cinema and spa. We are pleased to read that we arranged a secure area to store your bikes during your stay. We are certainly fortunate with the location, being only a couple of miles from the coast and with so much to offer in the village of Burnham Market itself - we have a lot to offer locally. We are sorry to read that you experienced some delays in the Restaurant and that some requests were not met. This is not up to our usual standards and extra training will be provided for all to avoid this situation from happening in the future. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. With regards to the menu we do change this with the seasons and produce available at the time however, we unfortunately do not offer more than one menu at a time. We do offer specials which change on a regular basis. We also look to meet any special requests made by our guests on the evening. Since the car park is not manned as such, we are unable to manage the car park itself. However, we do politely ask that all diners park in the village as the car park is for residents only. This is signed on the wall driving in to the car park and also in the car park itself. We are saddened to read that diners are taking advantage of spaces available in the car park. Moving forward we are looking at ways to monitor this to ensure ours guests space remains as they left it. In the meantime, there is free parking just outside of the front of the hotel. We hope that you will return in the near future so that we can gain that 5 star review from you. Please contact our dedicated team on 01328 738777 or email reservations@thehoste.com to book your next break with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marie wrote a review Aug 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this hotel back at the beginning of the year as a treat for my partners birthday. We love the North Norfolk coast and this looked on the website to be a bit special. The photos of the rooms, bar and spa all looked very upmarket and this was reflected in the high price. Unfortunately the reality for our special treat was very different. The room was far from plush, very standard with none of the special touches we have experienced at other hotels nearby for less than the Hoste cost. The bedroom rug was still strewn with dog hairs and the bath was dirty with the previous occupants sand/hair/grime. The tiles and toilet fared no better. The interactions we had with bar staff was very curt, not particularly friendly and far from what you expect from a hotel of this supposed standard?! The cleanliness issue was addressed by reception who offered to call a cleaner back in at 6.30pm but we had a meal planned for soon after and needed to get washed so declined this as there wasn't time. Its one saving grace was the breakfast was good and the morning waiting staff were polite and much friendlier. I hardly ever review, and never complain but the standard of this hotel for the price they are charging made me feel the need to write this. Our invoice was emailed to me with £50 taken off the bill due to the dirty room which was good but no accompanying apology or acknowledgement. The whole place needs a revamp, including the attitude of some staff. I can certainly say we won't be returning. I was very disappointed in this long awaited treat for my partners birthday.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Hoste
Responded Aug 27, 2020
Dear manyplacestovisit Thank you for your review regarding your stay at The Hoste. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and service you received in the morning. However, your comments regarding the cleanliness of the room, bar staff and the lack of acknowledgement or official apology regarding the reduction to your invoice, are not up to our usual high standards. Please be assured that your comments have been taken extremely seriously and we would like the opportunity to apologise and discuss your review further with our General Manager, Ewen. Please contact Ewen by email at general.manager@thehoste.com, whom will investigate the issues you experienced. Kind Regards Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Curowealth wrote a review Jul 2020
Northampton, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
£14.50 gin and tonic is a half pint plastic glass with no fruit or ice , food on paper plates with wooded cutlery, if you are serving roast lamb then I would prefer mint sauce rather than ketchup or mayo. Rooms nice but let down by cheap lights ...luxury in the detail and absolutely none on show here . Been many times before but not returning in a hurry. Much better alternatives locally ...lost its appeal , looking tired ..real shame
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Hoste
Responded Jul 24, 2020
Dear Curowealth Thank you for your review regarding your stay at The Hoste. We apologise that on this occasion we did not meet our usual high standards. Our top priority when planning the reopening of The Hoste was the safety of our guests, visitors and team. During these strange and challenging times some rules were implemented to ensure safety was at its highest. This including the ‘disposable’ approach, which at the time of the unknown when reopening was the best option. However, after 4 / 5 days had past the decision to return to the usual cutlery and crockery was made. Please be assured that your feedback regarding the room has been passed on to the management team, whom are in the process of refurbishing all rooms, with some already completed. We welcome the opportunity to discuss your review further with our General Manager, Ewen. Please email Ewen at general.manager@thehoste.com. We can then establish the room number you were staying in and ensure this is prioritised during refurbishment. We look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John F wrote a review Mar 2020
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Not quite sure what it is about this hotel but we loved every minute of our short stay.

It's an interesting building based on an old coaching inn which has grown over the years to the point where they now have a spa and a small cinema on site in addition to all the usual ameneties.

Little up market touches abound and the staff obviously take great pride in everything that goes on at the hotel. Lovely people all.

Our room (one of their standard ones) was not over large but very well equipped and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The interior decor was stunning.

The restaurants,or to be more precise restaurants, seemed to be dotted around the building and give the impression of dining at a friends house rather than a hotel. The menu is obviously chosen with care and although not large had more than enough variety and the food was a case of savouring every mouthful. There was an excellent choice at breakfast.

My wife indulged in the spa and came back glowing.

The hotel also welcome dogs.

It's not cheap - our one night stay came to around £250, excuding the spa treatment, but as an occasional treat you would struggle to do better
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Hoste
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Dear John F Thank you for your recent review regarding your short stay at The Hoste. The Hoste is certainly an interesting building with lots of character and some newer additions such as the cinema, which you mentioned. Along with a gym which are both complimentary for residents to enjoy. We are delighted to read of your positive comments regarding the Beauty Spa, Restaurants and staff. We all enjoy what we do and hope we can make each guests stay a great one, such as yours was. Your feedback has been passed on to the team, whom will enjoy reading your kind words. Please do not hesitate to contact our dedicated reservations team on 01328 738777 for any future bookings, who can offer the best available rates and suggest the best room type for your requirements. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Hoste in the near future. Kind Regards Ewen Thompson
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard M wrote a review Aug 2020
Greater London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a great week staying at the Hoste. The downstairs room we stayed in (room18) with an outside space was well equpped and quaint. The staff were all smiley, helpful and speedy, and Anna who served us a few times was an absolute delight. We ate in the restaurant most nights and the quality of the ingredients was superb and always cooked beautifully. I was a bit concerned that the car park would get full but we always managed to get a space. This hotel is unsuprisingly popular so make sure you book for the restaurant a few days ahead and the earlier slots seem to be more available. Thanks to everyone at the Hoste, you managed to take our minds off this odd year. Well done.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Hoste
Responded Aug 26, 2020
Dear Richard M Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at The Hoste. We are so pleased to read that you had a great week in room 18 which is certainly one of our most popular rooms, as you have mentioned it offers a patio area (only one of two rooms at The Hoste which offers this). We have all read your kind words and would like to thank you for the special mention to Anna, whom in particular has enjoyed reading your comments. It is great to read that we are hitting our stride with the reopening after COVID19. We are delighted you enjoyed your dinner with us, we always recommend booking a table in advance to avoid any disappointment. That way your stay can be an enjoyable, seamless one. Please do not hesitate to book your next stay with us by calling our dedicated team on 01328 738777 or email reservations@thehoste.com. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Hoste in the near future. Kind Regards Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ad B wrote a review Sep 2020
London, United Kingdom
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Be warned, This is not a Luxury Hotel!
On arrival , we were advised to put our suit cases back in our car as we were not staying in the hotel and need to drive to the Station House. We were not aware of this when we booked. Upon arrival we were nothing short of disgusted with the horrific mould growing everywhere in the Bathroom. The smell was Horrendous ( Cobwebs on the walls, dirty carpet etc etc rooms 44 & 45) . I opened the single glazed sash window to get some fresh air into the room and was shocked to see the boot of a car 70cm from my window, This was the only light into our tiny room. The driveway is made of shingle so every time a car arrives or departs it will wake you up. We were unable to park on site as there was not enough room in the car park so i had to find On road Parking. They claim it is a 10 minute walk from the Hotel which is correct if you are young and fit, however if you are older it will take 20-30 mins. If you are unfortunate enough to be put in the station House make sure you take torches as its pitch black on the way home at night after a drink in the hotel. Breakfast was Awful,
We paid £150.00 for 2 rooms for 2 nights ( £600.00 in total! )
Upon complaining Stefan Kindly gave me a 50% reduction and a bottle of Champagne however as there were no other rooms available paying £75.00 per room per night night was still expensive for a disgusting room.
Upon departure there were 2 more couples complaining along the same lines as myself so be warned!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Hoste
Responded Sep 26, 2020
Dear A8709EJadamb Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Railway House. We are sorry to read that your stay was not a great one, and that you were not aware of where you were staying. Whether you booked online or directly with the Hotel itself a confirmation would be sent to you via email, which we ask you check through to make sure all details are correct. The confirmation would have stated the location of your room and the property you were staying in. We apologise if this was not received, or not made clear to you during booking. We are undergoing a full refurbishment in The Railway House from October. We appreciate that this does not change the fact your stay was not up to The Hoste standards, which we apologise sincerely for. We are pleased to read that Stefan spoke directly with you and made the adjustments to your invoice. However, we are saddened that you felt you needed to complain about the adjustment on TripAdvisor as opposed to speaking with Stefan further directly before departing. Once again, thank you for taking the time to review. Kind Regards Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanne W wrote a review Jan 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Service appalling, menu not a lot of choice and very expensive, i can fish and chip and a burger anywhere!! overpriced and i was charged December rate and not January rate so overcharged by about £200.00. Breakfast we had to request coffee and hot food, orange juice ran out, milk ran out and buffet pastries ran out without being replenished. I have emailed management out lining our disappointment without even getting a reply back. Will not be staying at this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HosteManager, Manager at The Hoste
Responded Jan 29, 2020
Dear joannewT8274AP Thank you for your email and review regarding your stay at The Hoste. As you are aware, after further investigation and your direct email we have resolved you queries and very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Hoste in the near future. In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any further questions. Kind Regards Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SimonT962 wrote a review Sep 2020
London, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My review in line with many below is mixed. I fully accept that Covid has required certain rules and regulations that no doubt impinge on usual service, but this is an expensive place to stay so the hotel has to be careful that it is not allowing standards to drop. Of course Burnham Market sells itself, so regardless of reviews and feedback this hotel will always be at or near full! Well done to them.

Overall the hotel just feels a bit corporate, not quite the charming boutique hotel we were expecting. It is certainly looking a bit tired and in need of quite an upgrade and/or investment. We were in the lovely Vine House which is charming. Décor, I have to confess, is simply not to my taste; it might be to others. Sort of place your granny has with some pretty ‘grubby’ and tired furniture. But the room is large and is comfortable, and as I say Vine House overall is charming. We liked being away from the main hotel. All the accessories removed for Covid reasons, so no instructions or guidance. As no one takes you to your room (so be warned you have to carry your own luggage around) you are left a bit in the dark as to how things work. I could not call reception (as no numbers given) so had to phone the main external number from my mobile and no response from anyone despite ringing for 10 minutes plus. I ended up having to walk across to ask for the wifi code – to be told there is no code!! Whilst on the subject wifi coverage is pretty poor; keeps cutting out.

Service varied from charming and excellent to downright grumpy! I know you have to wear masks which must be miserable and exhausting, but some managed to maintain lovely smiles and friendly service – some did not! They know who they are.

We ate one dinner which was good - standard pub fare; breakfast quality was also good, but why please serve frozen berries in the summer when there is plentiful fresh Stawberries/rasberries/blackberries – all still being grown in the UK and surely just down the road in Norfolk. That’s just cheap and lazy.

In conclusion I would say a place resting on its laurels, not needing to do much as it is in such a prime location. It needs some money, love and personality spent on it
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: different rooms in different buildings so do your homework!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Hoste
Responded Sep 22, 2020
Dear SimonT962 Thank you for taking the time to leave your review regarding your stay at The Vine House. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and the food consumed. We appreciate all your comments, from the décor in the room to the service you received. We are sorry to read that you felt your stay has left you with mixed feelings due to a few niggles over your time with us. There are a couple of points raised which we would like to address – with regards to showing guests to rooms (which is a usual standard at The Hoste without fail) we are currently not doing this due to COVID for the safety of our guests and team members. This however, should not reflect the service you receive on the directions given and the information provided,` to ensure our guests have as much as they need to feel comfortable during their stay. To add, we offer a 24 hour desk service, which means that there is a team member available for any questions or queries all day and night. We apologise if you were not given the information you required and that the phone was left unanswered. We are In the process of investigating your feedback to ensure this does not happen in the future. We are currently undergoing refurbishment throughout all rooms and the hotel public areas. As you will appreciate, we are a large hotel and all updates will be made over time. This being said, please be assured that all areas will be completed. The Vine House is a popular place to stay and guests do tend to stay here for the boutique furniture and feel. We are sorry to read that this was not to your taste. Please be assured that your feedback has been shared with the entire team and will be used to help with future training on Reception and also the Restaurant. If the Vine House was not for you, then we would be delighted to welcome you to The Hoste itself. We hope your stay will not discourage you from staying with us again in the future. Please contact the team on 01328 73877 or email reservations@thehoste.com, whom can discuss what each room can offer – including the décor, type of furniture and location of the rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
linda l asked a question Apr 2023
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom117 contributions69 helpful votes
How much is your packages deals including dinner etc?
Answer from jks24
Acton, United Kingdom326 contributions256 helpful votes
Not sure.,we did bed and breakfast but ate there both nights.
Answer from stephen h
Braintree, United Kingdom242 contributions71 helpful votes
There are toilets at the cafe beside the car park at Holkam beach. The cafe is also very good. The guy that runs it is really into recycling etc. Would recommend coffee / cakes etc there.
Richard W wrote a tip Jun 2024
Silsden, United Kingdom19 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Would recommend visiting Blickling Estate and Felbrigg , beaches at Brancaster, Wells and Holkham and Norwich Cathedral"
Read full review
wendywuu2 wrote a tip May 2024
England, United Kingdom42 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed on a Thursday night and wasn’t overly busy"
Read full review
GideonLondon wrote a tip Feb 2024
London, United Kingdom67 contributions50 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Paid for Car charger for electric cars"
Read full review
Damon S wrote a tip Jan 2024
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom139 contributions79 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Amazing place and amazing staff, just so friendly and accommodating."
Read full review
Hilla wrote a tip Jan 2024
Cambridge, United Kingdom36 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Vine House if you want a dog-free bedroom"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Burnham Market area.
PRICE RANGE
C$217 - C$400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hoste arms hotel burnham market
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hoste Arms
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkBurnham Market
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Hoste - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Hoste
What are some of the property amenities at The Hoste?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at The Hoste?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a separate living room.
What food & drink options are available at The Hoste?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hoste?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Hoste?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at The Hoste?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Hoste offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Hoste?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Is The Hoste accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Burnham Market HotelsBurnham Market Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Burnham MarketHotels near The Hoste
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars