We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pekes Manor Oast House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hailsham
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 31: English reviews
Start your review of Pekes Manor Oast House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a family reunion in the Oast House and loved it. Here's why: - Tons of character and space: beautiful round living rooms (perfect for board games), a four poster bed, lovely long kitchen-dinner table, and so much character. - Excellent pool: The kids adored the jaccuzi and pool, the latter is pretty stunning, it's like the Eden Project...

1Thank Michael M
KildareBB, Manager at Pekes Manor Oast House, responded to this review

How nice to read Michael's review; all I can say is that we plan a good refurbishment of our Oast House (including shower) in the fairly near future to ensure that it's a bit less shabby and a bit more mod.

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Pekes isn't a 5 star hotel. It's old and a little jagged around the edges but that's what we like about it. What it does have is heaps of quirkiness and charm. Yes, it could probably have done with a referb many years ago but if you are looking for somewhere to enjoy a large group gathering without worrying about...

Thank afieldsomewhere
KildareBB, Manager at Pekes Manor Oast House, responded to this review

Lovely to read this. A refurb is planned but you will still have no need to worry about a 'pristine house'!

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

I cannot recommend that anyone books this accommodation. We were severely disappointed and completely let down. We booked the Oast House and Mounts View in December 2015 and spent 9 months looking forward to a large family gathering in early October. The money was all paid and there was an email trail to fully confirm the booking, yet due to...

1Thank 101Kio
Eva M, Manager at Pekes Manor Oast House, responded to this review

This was a very unfortunate mix-up, which will not re-occur because we are shortly going to automated on-line booking which totally prevents double-booking. We have deeply apologised to this lady and have of course paid her the agreed compensation. She accepted both very graciously.

Aberdeen, Scotland
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We had booked Oast House for weekend 7-10 October and Mounts View 6 - 14 October as we were attending my sons wedding in Hailsham. Deposit paid January 16. Called and spoke with Eva in July 16 to confirm everything in order and balance paid for both houses 27 July 2016. I requested email confirmation of money being transferred and...

5Thank lanie148
Eva M, Manager at Pekes Manor Oast House, responded to this review

This was a very unfortunate mix-up, which will not re-occur because we are shortly going to automated on-line booking which totally prevents double-booking. We have deeply apologized to this lady and her friend who wrote the other review and have of course paid her the agreed compensation. She accepted both very graciously.

Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2015

We hired the manor house for a hen party. From the very start the owner Eva was helpful and friendly, replying quickly to my (many!) queries. The house itself is STUNNING, full of history, with gorgeous grounds and wonderful views. The pool, hot tub and sauna were wonderful, very clean and in perfect working order. We did have a problem...

2Thank lizzie361
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2015

We stayed in the Oast House as a group of 12 friends for the week of new year. There are some great advantages to the property: - it is beautiful and quirky from the outside, as is the Pekes estate as a whole - it is a really good base for shortish country rambling - e.g. there are very pleasant...

7Thank Anushka C
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2014

A Group of 16 of us rented this house last minute for a company weekend away. We all had a great time and really our stay. The House has very good facilities with lots of space to cook and store food. With two large dining tables there was lots of space for all guests to eat together. In addition to...

Thank Lucy M
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2014

I booked Pekes Manor House for a special birthday event.16 members of my family came,including seven grandchildren aged 12-25.We all had a fabulous time.There was every possible facility to keep the active members happily occupied all weekend,such as the jacuzzi, enclosed warm pool,tennis court,table tennis,croquet on the extensive lawn where ball games were also enjoyed.Some of our group chose to...

5Thank Margaret W
Reviewed 20 August 2014

A group of thirteen of us rented the main house and wing for a reunion weekend. The facilities in the house are a bit old fashioned but everything works and the overall effect is of immense period charm. We had a black tie dinner in the panelled dinning room with an excellent five course dinner catered by the Pekes Manor...

Thank James M
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have been visiting the pekes for the last 25 years...its magical and beautiful...eva keeps this place running like clock work...its hardly changed and is so so relaxed no one ever bothers you and its so peaceful...i see she still has her black and white cat who sits outside her summer house...we got our eggs from the chickens as usual..the...

1Thank 409Michele

2 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (2)
Other (2)


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pekes Houses are a group of 5 self-catering houses and cottages set round Pekes Manor, a charming 550 year old Tudor House, all in a very large garden with its own park & with superb views across the East Sussex countryside in SE England, within 10 miles of the sea. Pekes Oast House is a charming 2-storey double tower oast, originally built over 150 years ago for drying hops, and converted in 1910 into a comfortable house that sleeps up to 12 people, with a large kitchen, dining room and sitting room, with a large garden and views west across to the South Downs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pekes Manor Oast House

Address: Pekes House Nash Street | Chiddingly, Hailsham BN27 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hailsham
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Pekes Manor Oast House Hotel Hailsham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pekes Manor Oast House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“be very careful”
lanie148, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“for families with pets tudor view or the new bungalow..for others who want history the main house...wing or oast house..”
409Michele, 1 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Eva, the owner, was really helpful and suggested the best properties for our party.”
WappingYummyMummy, 8 Jul 2014 | Read review
“the oast house is extra special”
danny_1968, 29 Jan 2014 | Read review
4 of 4