We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Coxwold Tearooms

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 40: English reviews
Start your review of Coxwold Tearooms
 Click to rate
Louth, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were phoned by Sarah Owner, who said she wouldn't be there on our arrival but explained about key safe. We reminded her two people were vegans would like mushrooms and tomatoes for breakfast,+ Soya milk only soya available + baked beans on offer. The full English ok toast tea . To be fair Sarah had a shocking cold and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

This is a real asset to a beautiful village. Sarah was extremely friendly and accommodating and the environment os cosy and welcoming. I'm looking forward to spending some time in the secluded garden area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
Sarah B, Owner at Coxwold Tearooms, responded to this review

Thank you Tony for your lovely feedback, we'll see you in the garden hopefully soon!

Ferring, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We stayed for just the one night (two rooms). Sarah was very friendly and welcoming. Both rooms had double beds, tea and coffee making facilities, television, and in room sink. There were two shower rooms/toilets just down the hall so queuing was not an issue. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. Overall a very pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2017

A beautiful sunny spring day was made even better when we discovered these friendly tea rooms. In the lovely little garden, we enjoyed great cakes and proper dogs enjoyed lolling about on the grass and were offered fresh water. Gratefully received after their sunny walk. Friendly service, good food and reasonable prices. You could hardly wish for more. We will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue K
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016

As always on arrival a warm welcome, in great surroundings, brilliant service by lovely staff, many varied options on menu, REALLY EXCELLENT FOOD. Always a great overall experience leaving us ready to call again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Visitorreviews
Sarah , Owner at Coxwold Tearooms, responded to this review

Hello there folks! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, how lovely and delighted you enjoyed it. See you again soon, Best wishes Sarah

Wakefield
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Called in recently for a drink and a snack as we were passing. Greeted with a smile and shown to a seat quickly, we had some of the lovely home made cakes and even took some away! The owner took time to talk to us and show us some of the B&B rooms they offered aswell. Great place and will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshirefoodies
York
Reviewed 17 September 2016

visited today with 2 friends, one who requires a walker. The tearooms were acessable clean tidy and very welcoming. We all had a different sandwich they were all well presented with a small sad on the side plus coleslaw/. We then followed with cake. A pleasant way to spend a sunny Saturday afternoon. Excellent value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suemary14
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016

As a cyclist this was the perfect stop to fuel up with delicious coffee and tea cake. The owner, Sarah was very attentive and clearly passionate about providing an excellent service to customers. I was invited to put my bike around the back which was much appreciated and I sat out in the secluded cottage garden, perfect. I will spread...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KMM2209
Sarah , Owner at Coxwold Tearooms, responded to this review

You are very welcome Karen, a pleasure to look after you and well done for getting up the White Horse Bank, it's no easy feat! That 'Heavenly Coffee' and toasted teacake must have done the trick! Well done. See you soon, best Sarah.

Northallerton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Having used the Tea Rooms for the Annual Richmond Audax Event since 2009, I was most disappointed to find that the tea room is unable to cater for groups of cyclists without pre-ordering food. I could not recommend this outlet to any cycling group.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank daveatkins0n
Sarah , Owner at Coxwold Tearooms, responded to this review

Thank you David for your comments, as we explained, we would have loved to look after your group of 20 cyclists here at Coxwold Tearooms for lunch next Saturday. However, to serve you quickly and efficiently and to make sure that our other customers on the day would not be disappointed with their experience of the tearooms, we asked for...

Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Our Ramblers Group came here after a long walk wanting a drink, a snmall treat, and a sit down. We got an idyllic garden setting, home made cakes and scones and teas and coffees all round. The friendly welcome and cheerful service completed our pleasure in finding this spot. I think many of us will be back ith our families...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
6.5 km away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thirsk
433 reviews
6.5 km away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thirsk
802 reviews
6.5 km away
Kirkgate House Hotel
Kirkgate House Hotel
#13 of 23 in Thirsk
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
13.0 km away
Old Oak Tree Accommodation
12.4 km away
Fauconberg Arms
Fauconberg Arms
#2 of 3 in Coxwold
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Coxwold Tearooms

Address: School House Tearooms | Main Street, Coxwold, Thirsk YO7 4HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Price Range: $101 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coxwold Tearooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Coxwold Tearooms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room would be fine road quiet especialy at night”
D2119FVrobertg, 28 May 2017 | Read review
“We can't answer these questions. We visited the tearooms.”
144margaretl, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All three rooms are of a similar standard.”
katemC5923GY, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“One of the rooms has a four poster bed.”
barryb955, 21 Sep 2014 | Read review
“It would be a beautiful place for any one to stay in.”
831KevinM, 24 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates