We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms

Expedia.comUS$98*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

437 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 437: English reviews
washington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My mother and farther had booked in for four days , but unfortunately my farther became I'll on their arrival so had to return home. They were charged for what would have been there entire stay over £500 when they in fact due to health reason they left after 1 afternoon. I fined this totally despicable on the hotels part.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank adrobinson007rian
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

I am saddened that you felt that our handling of your parents situation was unfair. We did discuss this fully with both your mother and father and they said on numerous occasions that they understood that we were full. I am happy to discuss this further with either you or your parents so we can find a way to reinstate...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here and I have got to say it is on parr with the Hyatt regency in Miami , except fantinos is friendlier and the breakfast is better. The rooms here are beautiful and the staff second to none. Very clean and in a beautiful area. We will be going back again soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertcarr2017
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this fantastic review, we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Pershore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The only decision really was is this a 5 star or 4 star B&b/restaurant? Decided it had to be 5 star ; you can always pick faults with anything but overall the room and bathroom were spacious and comfortable and the restaurant meal we had was very good. Breakfast was nicely cooked with good ingredients and the freshly squeezed orange...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrew c
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this fantastic review, we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Set 50m back from the traditional village street in Sowerby, Fantinos is a pleasant location for an overnight stay or relaxed family meal. Rooms were clean and efficient and the staff friendly and helpful. An unexpected twist was a gentle motoring theme throughout, e.g. Rooms were named after Italian automotive icons and the restaurant was decorated with 1980's motor sport...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 937roger
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this fantastic review, we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a good weekend lovely staff and management great food, very pet Friendly. They couldn't do enough for us. Thirsk is a traditional Yorkshire town nice little Saturday market, we visited Richmond too its a medieval town well worth a visit

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joansieg
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this fantastic review, we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We loved our stay in fantinos ,i would definately reccommend to family and friends,,lovely room and bathroom staff were very friendly , Great location near town centre,station and racecourse .. It has a warm welcome on arrival and feels very italian we felt we were in italy sometimes it was such a wonderful pretty place to stay .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ndavid_669812
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you. :)

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

I would highly recommend Fantinos to anyone looking for a place to stay in Thirsk. We have just spent the weekend there and everything about our stay was great, the food was superb and the staff were very friendly. We will definitely be going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emma5489
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an amazing review, we are delighted the experience here at Fantinos was everything you had hoped for and look forward to your return visit.

Thirsk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Visited for lunch with my 8 yr old son. It was 1pm on a Friday and we were only diners. Welcomed as we arrived and shown to a table. Restaurant has a nice rustic feel to it and would like to try on a busy evening. Plenty of choice on menu and my son was handed a kids menu. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an amazing review, we are delighted the experience here at Fantinos was everything you had hoped for and look forward to your return visit.

Reviewed 18 April 2017

Living locally, i have never stayed here so cannot comment on the B & B facilities. However, I have eaten here about half a dozen times in total. Until a few days ago I had last visited about a year ago and had always enjoyed the food and the service. Within the last week i went there again for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian R
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry that the front of house person as you describe him did not conduct himself as he should have. As you can see from both your previous experiences and most of other peoples this was clearly not how things are usually and for that I'm sorry. I am...

Hungerford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We stayed overnight on Easter Saturday to break up our trip home from a holiday in Scotland. We'd read the good reviews on trip advisor and we were very happy with our selection. The room was clean and comfortable and the bonus was having a fantastic Italian restaurant downstairs! The food and service were to a high standard....a lovely way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheGoodLife7165
Fantinos2014, Owner at Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. We certainly look forward to seeing you again.

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirsk
2.0 km away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
802 reviews
8.4 km away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
2.0 km away
The Three Tuns Hotel
The Three Tuns Hotel
#3 of 5 in Thirsk
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
16.9 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
453 reviews
3.1 km away
The Poplars - Rooms & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are an Italian restaurant with 16 bedrooms. We also have a fantastic bar serving great Yorkshire beers and Italian lagers and wines. Our rooms are very well appointed and we only use the finest white cotton sheets and lovely fluffy towels. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms

Address: Church Farm Front Street | Sowerby, Thirsk YO7 1JF, England (Formerly Oswalds Restaurant with Rooms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Price Range: $159 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswalds Restaurant With Rooms Hotel Thirsk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Poynton
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Fantinos Restaurant with Rooms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The whole place was nice. The 2 bed suite great for a family or friends.”
samanthamW9491OZ, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Eat all the goodies”
joansieg, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the Annex with one other couple and it was great to have an extra loungearea”
Graeme79, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I've stayed in most of the rooms and they are all great”
andymuss1964, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“a 7 minute stroll from the market street in Thirsk and a welcome haven”
SusanM411, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$98* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$101
Hotels.comUS$99
Orbitz.comUS$98
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates