Sutton Hall Resort

Sutton Hall Resort

Sutton-Under-Whitestonecliffe, Thirsk YO7 2PS England
Kitchen
Traveller (93)
Bedroom
Room & Suite (27)
Indoor Pool
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 2 apartments in Thirsk
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Tennis court
Billiards
Non-smoking hotel
Internet
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Board games / puzzles
Shared lounge / TV area
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms

Location

Sutton-Under-Whitestonecliffe, Thirsk YO7 2PS England
Getting there
Durham Tees Valley Airport
32.7 km
See all flights
Leeds-Bradford Airport
48.7 km
See all flights
63Reviews4Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 42
  • 15
  • 4
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
NIKIM5758 wrote a review Sep 2020
40 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Danbydale cottage and found it very comfortable and well equipped. There was a private terrace overlooking the communal garden, nicely situated to benefit from the late afternoon/early evening sun. Ideal for a drink before dinner.
Set in lovely grounds and gardens, Sutton Hall is good for a walk around without going offsite. The resort is only 3 miles from Thirsk so well situated for the ton and Sutton Bank with access to the moors is nearby too.
The on site swimming pool, hot tub and sauna are now available to book for private sessions, one cottage/apartment at a time for 30 minutes and we preferred this to the public swimming sessions previously offered.
The Covid 19 measures taken by the resort, providing hand gels, wipes, cleaning materials etc was very reassuring and helped us to feel really safe.
Excellent place to stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry L wrote a review Feb 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne17 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first ever stay at Sutton Hall, but we will definitely be back. What a lovely place! We all thought it was wonderful to have private use of the facilities (particularly the swimming pool), which is done via a pen and paper booking system in the foyer. Our apartment was very well equipped, very clean, cosy and smelled nice. We were fortunate to be in the Roulston apartment which has a balcony overlooking a picturesque view of the grounds and is a lovely place to sit and have breakfast (even in February). We had a walk around the grounds, which I think will be very pretty in Summer and has numerous picnic tables, a stream running through it, tennis courts and micro golf facilities. We didn't have time to use the hot tub, but it's in a great location overlooking the grounds. The small fitness room looked decent (although we didn't use it) and we appreciated having extra space in the lounge to enjoy a few games of pool. We only saw one member of staff (the receptionist) but she was very friendly and welcoming. My 8 year old son was gutted to be leaving so soon and asked if we could move to Sutton Hall permanently, because he enjoyed the stay so much. Thanks to all of the staff at SH for ensuring our stay was so enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Roulston is the only one with a balcony. It also has a beautiful view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bruceds101 wrote a review Oct 2021
Los Altos, California254 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sutton Hall is a Georgian Country Manor house resort set in 25 acre grounds. The suites are well appointed, bedrooms, dining area, sitting room and little kitchen. We enjoyed the walks by the brook. and around the flowers. Thirsk of All Creatures Great and Small fame is close by, a lovely Market Town with a typical square with shops and services. Restaurants are good, try the Carpenters Arms close to Sutton Hall. We ventured the 1 in 4 Sutton Bank on the way to Scarborough. Surprisingly there are many exceptionally high quality small furniture manufacturers in the area. Fabulous craftmanship! The people we met in Yorkshire are straightforward and friendly. We loved their connection with the earth, their interest in livestock, gardens and managed nature. Historic York is a few miles south. The staff at Sutton Hall were very helpful, one slim young lady picked up our two 50 pound suitcases and sprinted up the stairs with them. She confessed to wight training,
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brendan M wrote a review Dec 2022
San Francisco3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The property is stuck in the last century. Even if they have no care for the environment, fuel costs must force an update. The insulation of the property is appalling. Rotten, single glazed windows running with condensation. Cold walls and floors. Despite large electricity bills the rooms are cold. The cost of naff false wall panelling would have been better spent on plain insulation for walls.

The lounge in the Sutton Suite is large, but the remainder of the apartment small and poorly laid out. Very tight both side of the bed. Large bath dominating the bathroom with insufficient space in front of toilet as a consequence. Acceding shower over bath difficult, avoid if you have any mobility issues. Kitchen tiny and without a dishwasher. Tiny kitchen a particular issues as no restaurant on site, and only public house in village now closed, so need for self catering.

Advice take pictures of both electricity meters on arrival and departure, as I was overcharged by £40 for electricity use. I had read a previously read on online report about overcharging so had prospectively collected the evidence, and was able to challenge the bill.

The quality of self catering holiday accommodation in the UK is now generally outstanding, often better than one’s own home! This not always the case, and resorts like Sutton Hall need to enter the 21st Century.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: November 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AlliR wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
As spectacular of a beautiful place this is I was hugely disappointed at the booking slot system, and could not contact via phone before our arrival day to book slot for our teenage children or ourselves to enjoy the hottub/swimming pool as each time we rang we never got an answer so ringing direct was not available. All slots had been booked for that afternoon/evening, but a slot 8am till 9am was available on sunday morning. On the form within the house it states booking times from 8am onwards whilst in info booklet in apartment it states from 8.30am and with no staff available on a Sunday we could not find out correct times and as checkout is 10am a half hour is pointless. When booking to stay at this location you should be offered time slots for facilities as this was main reason we went, and other guests name was on slots 2 and 3 times, apart from not being able to use the facilities, it is such a beautiful peaceful place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindsey Norris wrote a review Sep 2021
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom12 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for three nights. Receptionist was lovely and showed us around. She explained that the lounge and bar were closed even though it is advertised on the website. The nearest pub is one and a half miles away. She explained that to use the facilities like the swimming pool we had to book on the clip boards in the hall. I booked us in for the days we were staying. That evening we went into thirsk. When we returned there was a note against our booking for that day saying that we had left the jacuzzi on and did not cover the pool over. I feel this would have been better mentioned face to face and I would have explained that it is not a customers responsibility to cover or uncover a pool. I feel that this was putting off other customers too. I filled the bath one morning and the water was cold. The welcome book does not explain how to turn the hot water on. I eventually found a two hour booster switch in the kitchen. It does not work. The welcome book is full of do's and donts about cleaning but I dont think it's very clean to not be able to wash your dishes in hot water. There are a lot of people that time share at seaton hall and I felt as though we were being watched at times. Respect and look after your customers because they are contributing to the up keep of the place. Sutton hall is beautiful and our apartment was nice. It's such a shame because I have never left a bad review before. I'm afraid we wont be staying here again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SUTTON HALL RESORT, General Manager at Sutton Hall Resort
Responded Sep 27, 2021
Good Morning, Thank you for your review. I am saddened to read your comments about your experience at Sutton Hall. I would like to respond to all of the points that you have raised which contributed to your negative experience. Sutton Hall is Self-catering accommodation, and we don't have a bar. I believe it is therefore very unlikely that a member of staff would have advised you that the bar would be closed during your stay. We do have a communal lounge for guests to use which contains a TV and Pool table. This lounge was open on each day during your stay from 9am - 4pm. Again, it is very unlikely that a member of staff would have advised it was closed at all times. I apologise if there has been any miscommunication with this. We ask guests to book time slots to use this area, to ensure we are complying with Covid-19 regulations. It enables us to clean and ventilate the room in between guest usage. Unfortunately, this is not possible outside of office hours; hence why we must close it at 4pm to ensure guest and staff safety. Upon check-out, a member of your party advised our office staff of the problems you had experienced with the booking system, noticing a note against your booking. This was passed onto our Management as we take complaints and negative comments very seriously. Sutton Hall has some guests who wish to support our attempts to reduce energy usage and support climate change and that is why the pool cover exists. However, it is not mandatory for guests to apply this cover. None of the Sutton Hall staff would have written comments on the facilities booking form. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any upset caused. I must express that, as you know, all our guests have access to these booking forms. We will review this system to ensure that such incidences do not happen again. The Guest Welcome Pack we issue to all guests is carefully and succinctly written to be easy to understand. This contains a clear section about what to do if you have any issues and includes an out of hours phone number to call for important needs and emergencies. The telephones in the apartments all allow dial out and it would have been easy to call us. The water issue would have been rectified immediately. There was also a member of staff on site each day of your stay between 8.30am and 4.30pm. Unfortunately, we were not advised of any of the issues until you checked out. Your point about 'do' s and don't' is largely in place because the government and Health & Safety Executive mandates that we have policies and processes in place to protect guests in the presence of Covid-19. This is the first review of this kind that we have ever received at Sutton Hall. We are a small team and pride ourselves in excellent customer service which you will see from our other reviews on TripAdvisor, Google and Facebook. We will of course take your comments on board and thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
emmagoodridge wrote a review Oct 2022
Halifax, United Kingdom15 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was very impressed to find this little gem hidden away in North Yorkshire. The managers have done a great job maintaining the history of the property but have introduced new furniture to make it comfortable.
We thought we had booked an apartment but we were very pleasantly surprised when we were allocated a cottage. It was fantastic for our night away. Plenty of room for 3 adults. Very clean which was wonderful. The views are amazing and it’s such a relaxing place.
We used the hot tub which was a nice little addition to our holiday.
The following day we took the woodland walk in the sunshine.
We will def be returning. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael O wrote a review Jun 2021
Solihull, United Kingdom13 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first visit to North Yorkshire as a family and we based ourselves for 4 days at the Sutton Hall resort. We had a great time and loved the venue. It’s ideally placed for discovering the Dales and having days out at likes of York, Harrogate, Scarborough and Whitby etc. We stopped in the York suite which was very impressive and the apartment is contained in an old English Manor House with lovely grounds. There are facilities such as a pool, hot tub, sauna and even a gym room.
The countryside is stunningly beautiful and the fact the weather was good throughout our stay made it all the better. We eat out each night at the local restaurants that the resort recommended and really enjoyed the meals on offer.
I have no hesitation in recommending Sutton Hall if you want to have a fantastic North Yorkshire break.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LittleMissManchester wrote a review Sep 2021
Rochdale, United Kingdom12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had an excellent stay at the resort. It would be very easy to spend the whole day here; extensive grounds with tennis courts, mini golf, picnic tables, a weir running through the grounds. Lots of wild life to spot.
The reception is closed from 5pm on a Saturday until Monday morning. Ensure that you get the Netflix code. WiFi code displayed in apartment.
Covid compliance at site. Need to book time slots for pool, sauna and hot tub - 30 minutes. Never crowded! Only problem sometimes is that you need to remove pool cover yourself.
Only draw back being no access to the pool table when reception closed.
Plenty of tennis equipment and golf items available from main building.
No on-site catering or shop. Thirsk only 3 miles away. Local pub currently closed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
beachvolley100 wrote a review Feb 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom782 contributions272 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly Sutton Hall is a mixture of time share owners, people who swap timeshares from other places and guests staying on a short term basis. The facilities have improved enormously thanks to a dynamic new committee, who realised that the modern holidaymaker demands more and more. Being able to book and use a swimming pool, hot tub and sauna for private use, is simply excellent. Most of the apartments have been upgraded. There is a pool Table and tennis courts, gym equipment and nice grounds to walk in. You can book spa treatments and cream teas. It is not though a typical hotel, there is no bar, no restaurant, it is self catering with lots of extra facilities. I agree it’s a shame the local pub has shut, but it seemed to coincide with the pandemic.

We are biased, we love going to Sutton hall and it’s a great base. We do like the walk to the Carpenters Arms and they do a great. Sunday lunch.

We think it’s a hidden gem.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam K asked a question Sep 2022
Hartlepool, United Kingdom18 contributions1 helpful vote
Is their any shops located within walking distance to get a newspaper etc
Answer from julieeslater72
Carlisle, United Kingdom121 contributions25 helpful votes
No, we never saw a shop near the resort, you need a car to get into Thirsk which is the nearest town.
LittleMissManchester asked a question Sep 2020
Rochdale, United Kingdom12 contributions
Are you able to bbq here and does the resort serve food?
craig hodgkins asked a question Oct 2018
Nantwich, United Kingdom119 contributions43 helpful votes
Are there buses into thirsk from sutton hall
Karen asked a question Oct 2016
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom168 contributions56 helpful votes
pet friendly?
Answer from
Otley, United Kingdom128 contributions
According to a deals website it says pets are not allowed, so I would take this to be true. To be 100% sure ask direct by ringing the staff.
travell_a_lot wrote a tip Dec 2023
Salisbury, United Kingdom951 contributions190 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There's no longer a pub in the village."
Read full review
Helen G wrote a tip Dec 2023
Halifax, United Kingdom17 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"ring to book pool a few days before"
Read full review
Kerry L wrote a tip Feb 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne17 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Roulston is the only one with a balcony. It also has a beautiful view."
Read full review
Margaret L wrote a tip Jul 2019
Durham, United Kingdom42 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free WiFi available in the lounge area of the main hall."
Read full review
Waspheart wrote a tip Dec 2018
Brandesburton, United Kingdom28 contributions12 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't pick the Cleveland Apartment"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Thirsk area.
PRICE RANGE
C$191 - C$272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireThirsk
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Sutton Hall Resort - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Sutton Hall Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Sutton Hall Resort?
Nearby attractions include World of James Herriot (5.5 km), Monk Park Farm (1.8 km), and Byland Abbey (7.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sutton Hall Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at Sutton Hall Resort?
Guests can enjoy free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Sutton Hall Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sutton Hall Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Hare, Restaurant with Rooms, Dog and Gun Knayton, and The Greyhound at Bagby.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sutton Hall Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Sutton Hall Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting White Horse of Kilburn (3.4 km), Shandy Hall (7.2 km), and Byland Abbey (7.5 km).
All Thirsk HotelsThirsk Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ThirskHotels near Sutton Hall Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars