We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,913 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,908: English reviews
Start your review of Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
 Click to rate
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

THANK YOU Alexander House for an exceptional stay. From the moment we arrived everything was perfect, we were warmly welcomed and shown around. Our room was excellent with every amenity that we required. Very high quality furnishings, a lovely comfy bed and a stunning bathroom. The Spa facilities were excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. We booked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyHJ2016
Sindarmy V, Guest Services Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review

Dear LadyHJ2016, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Alexander House Hotel and Utopia Spa. I was delighted to read that you had an exceptional and perfect stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your dining experience in our 3 rosettes fine dining restaurant AG's and liked the comfort...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spa facilities are fantastic and the therapist know what there job! Being a therapist myself I am super picky! One of the only places I have really relaxed and enjoyed treatment. Have been to the hotel a few times, with hubby for a night stay and dinner and with a Friend for a spa day. Both times I have really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
Sindarmy V, Guest Services Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review

Dear Natalie W, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay at Alexander House Hotel and Utopia Spa. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed both your previous visits and particularly our spa facilities. I am pleased you were satisfied with your dining experience and like the hotel bedrooms. We look forward to...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for a 1 night break in Feb. The hotel was great, we got an upgrade upon arrival to the cedar suites we stayed in the Sheffield suite. The room was immaculate and very spacious. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and polite. The spa was a tad busy but overall very good the only thing I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry A
Sindarmy V, Guest Services Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review

Dear Terry A, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Alexander House Hotel and Utopia Spa. I was delighted to read you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed your room upgrade to one of our Cedar Lodge Suites. I am pleased you liked the Spa facilities and were...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a lovely hotel. The rooms are impeccably clean and all the staff from House keeping to reception to Restaurant staff are polite friendly and it feels go the extra mile to make the stay more pleasurable. I agree with a lot of the other reviews that the spa area is VERY noisy and very busy. Possibly the day...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _busybeenow
Sindarmy V, Guest Services Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review

Dear busybeenow, Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Alexander House Hotel and Utopia Spa. I was pleased to read you had a lovely stay and found the staff to be very helpful and attentive. I hope you will change your mind about the Spa, and give us the opportunity to welcoming you back again. Kind...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Excellent spa service. Highly recommend. Really lovely rooms. Choice of a more formal restaurant or buffet. I went with a friend and would highly recommend for anyone else looking to relax and unwind!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nichola-21
Sindarmy V, Guest Services Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review

Dear Nichola-21, Thank you for sharing your feedback with other travellers following your recent stay at Alexander House Hotel and Utopia Spa. I was pleased to read that you had a wonderful time and we were able to meet all your expectations. I am glad you left feeling all relaxed and highly recommend us. We very much look forward to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on Valentines Day and also for our Wedding Anniversary, the greeting was fantastic, we stayed in the Treetops suite and were greeted with chocolate strawberry's and Champagne. The room has everything you could ever want, we had a couples massage booked in at the Spa and it was so relaxing and we will definitely use the spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillybeanest
Sindarmy V, Guest Services Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review

Dear Gillybeanest, Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay at Alexander House Hotel and Utopia Spa. I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable time at the hotel and glad we were able to make the occasion quite special. Please accept our sincerest apology for the miscommunication issue regarding breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed overnight for a mini break and had a lovely and relaxing time. I have been to many spa hotels including Rowhill Grange which is part of the same group but this surpassed everywhere. The hotel was warm and welcoming with attentive staff. The room was big with a comfortable bed with Egyptian cotton linen. The spacious bathroom had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flippingmental1978
Sindarmy V, Guest Services Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review

Dear flippingmental1978, Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you had a pleasant and relaxing stay at Alexander House and were satisfied with the high level of service provided by the staff during your visit. I am glad you enjoyed the comfort and luxury of your hotel room,...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I left behind my ereader after staying at the hotel. I called up and the hotel staff said they would sent it to me by post. Days and weeks later, after many calls, emails and messages to follow up, there is no response. Disappointing and would not return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
Sindarmy V, Guest Services Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review

Dear Chris C, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Alexander House Hotel and Utopia Spa. I was pleased to read that you found the hotel facilities were good but sorry you were disappointed with the follow up provided regarding an item left at the hotel. Can you please contact me directly...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband took me to Alexander House to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Right from first arriving we were greeted & treated like royalty. The hotel was amazing, staff helpful & friendly. Our room was out of this world we stayed in a luxury king room in the cedar suit. Massive bath for two, shower, his & hers sinks. Comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samwP3176RK
Sindarmy V, Guest Services Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review

Dear samwP3176RK, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Alexander House Hotel and Utopia Spa. I was delighted to read you had an amazing stay with us and found the staff to be helpful, friendly and welcoming. I am pleased you liked the Cedar Suite, and enjoyed the dining and...

Teddington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay. We had a really relaxing time. All the staff were friendly and the service was excellent. The spa had very good facilities, including a large pool with hydrotherapy pool, steam room, sauna and outdoor hot tubs. The gym was also well equipped. Our room had a large bathroom and the beds were comfy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SLspoc
Sindarmy V, Guest Services Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this review

Dear SLspoc, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Alexander House Hotel and Utopia Spa. I was delighted to read you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay and were satisfied with the high standard of service provided by the staff. I am pleased you found the Spa facilities very good...

1,469 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (797)
Viewed
Bathroom (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (88)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (127)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
3:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (448)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (605)
Viewed
Amenities (124)
Viewed
Classic Room (41)
Viewed
Luxury Room (44)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (131)
Viewed
Spa Suite (50)
Viewed
Spa Suite (Spa Garden View) (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (141)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Grinstead
4.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge
Crowne Plaza Felbridge
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,179 reviews
2.2 km away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
17.2 km away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
12.5 km away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
38.9 km away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on 170 acres of stunning private gardens and parkland, Alexander House Hotel in Sussex is both a boutique retreat and an unsurpassed destination spa hotel near London, UK, the heart of South England's countryside. With tastefully designed, luxurious bedrooms, award winning Utopia Spa and a 3 AA Rosette restaurant, Alexander House Hotel is ideal for a weekend luxury escape in Sussex countryside and is a perfectly appointed private function venue, wedding venue near London and business events venue. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa

Address: East Street, East Grinstead RH10 4QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Price Range: $277 - $686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander House & Utopia Hotel East Grinstead
Alexander House And Utopia Spa
Alexander Hotel Utopia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay for early check in you won't regret the extra time in the spa!”
 of 5 bubbles Gillybeanest, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We always stay in the main house - as lovely old style rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 114daleh, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms were lovely. Some overlook the gardens and some overlook the carpark.”
 of 5 bubbles 2014Parkes, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Treetops Spa Suite is secluded and has beautiful country views.”
  • View from Treetops Suite
  • Treetops Spa Suite
 of 5 bubbles hannahb721, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I had a room overlooking the driveway - there was no noise or disruption during my stay.”
 of 5 bubbles suesD281NY, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5