We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Blue Cliffs Retreat

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Blue Cliffs Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 59: English reviews
Start your review of Blue Cliffs Retreat
 Click to rate
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

So after a disappointing visit to the Hepburn chalet, we then made a last minute decision to get out of there and made a last minute booking here. Because it was last minute we were given $100 off for the two nights. upon arrival we were directed to the dreaming suits which in my opinion are 100% better than any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren N
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the dusk villa for our ten year Anniversary. This was the most romantic place. The villa was beautiful, surrounded by trees. Stayed for two nights. Did not want to leave. Would definitely come back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalia B
BlueCliffsRetreat, Owner at Blue Cliffs Retreat, responded to this review

What a delight to have you stay at Blue Cliffs Retreat and appreciate and enjoy what we have created. Thank you for your kind review.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Beautiful isolated private resort for our anniversary. We chose the spa suite , although very pricey $880 for 2 nights & considering that the very same spa suite was being offered at $690 for the same weekend stay and at the same time on the website stayz and agoda . Hard to comprehend It had a private house and our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Perry C
BlueCliffsRetreat, Owner at Blue Cliffs Retreat, responded to this review

This is a case of mistaken identity. This couple knew exactly what the Gatsby Spa Studio when they booked it and as described in very accurately in the confirmation email sent to them. They seemed to enjoy their experience but chose to provide hyperbole instead of providing valuable information for future guests. They chose to come and act as if...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

My partner and I spent 1 night and could have stayed a week. Such a tranquil, secluded, relaxing place. Great seeing the kangaroo out our window. Loved our time here, Raelene is a pleasure to deal with and we will most definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giannz
BlueCliffsRetreat, Owner at Blue Cliffs Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Anna, What a delight to hear from you and thank you for taking the time to write a review that appreciates what we have created. We look forward to hearing from you when you can spend a bit more time here relaxing. Paul

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Could only rate a 1. Don't waste your money!! We stayed for 3 nights. Firstly. The bed was unsleepable. If you want to sink in the middle of the bed then you'll be right at home. I had to sleep on the couch so my husband could get much needed rest but he woke up so sore and I was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Lori C
BlueCliffsRetreat, Owner at Blue Cliffs Retreat, responded to this review

What can we say? 1. We checked with the previous two guests and the two guests that arrived after this guest who all said the bed was fine. 2. Secondly, on all the websites we are aware of and in our confirmation emails sent to guests there is no mention of "...breakfast would be by way of breakfast goods to...

Arrowtown, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

I'll start with the positives. Beautiful setting, nice place with a comfy bed. This place obviously used to be well loved and amazing, but has fallen into a state of disrepair. The Hideaway Suite obviously hadn't had guests for some time. Looked like someone did a mediocre job of cobweb sweeping and changed the linen. There were bugs around the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank charmanicanarica
BlueCliffsRetreat, Owner at Blue Cliffs Retreat, responded to this review

Hey, Something is amiss. It is like this guest is talking about another property. The villas are wo popular they have been booked all summer and we receive lots of praise for what we have created. Hideaway Spa Villa was clean. The cleaners even sent a picture of the dust cloth they used to clean all surfaces and the cloth...

Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Spectacular location, let down by lack of basic maintenance and poor cleanliness. At $130-170 per night I might not have taken issue, however when you pay premium rates for accommodation you expect a premium experience. And while the location, view and ambience were incredible, the accommodation itself - and thus the experience itself - were a major let down. What's...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Aidan S
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed 2 nights in the dreaming suite. Stunning location and only a short drive into town. We were very impressed by the luxuries (spa, sauna and fireplace). The boat on the lake is a lot of fun and exploring the grounds and finding some beautiful little spots was a highlight. Bed was very comfy too! Perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacnes86
BlueCliffsRetreat, Owner at Blue Cliffs Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you Jacqui for taking the time to let everyone know of your lovely experience and for including some pictures of your experience.

Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the spa studio, Its quite expensive so I had pretty high expectations. When I arrived at the property the floor was still wet so the house was cleaned just not properly because the wine cup had a lipstick stain, most of the dishes were dirty. That put me off all kitchenware so I went and brought my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mariam a
BlueCliffsRetreat, Owner at Blue Cliffs Retreat, responded to this review

How amazing! Because we want to make sure that everything is perfect for guests, and because there can be an oversight or something unexpected we state right at the beginning of each confirmation email: CONTACT - Please contact our Villa Carer, Raeleen, on xxxx xxx xxx, if you have any concerns as you approach, on arrival or while you are...

Langwarrin, Australia
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

My partner and I visited Blue Cliffs Retreat for a getaway. We stayed in the Dusk villa which was perfect for the two of us and very comfortable. The property was great, we enjoyed wandering in the morning looking for wildlife and sitting on the deck enjoying the fresh air. The property was located very close to town so a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cassydee6

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hepburn Springs
3.1 km away
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
Peppers Mineral Springs Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
400 reviews
3.6 km away
Bellinzona Grange
Bellinzona Grange
#3 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
241 reviews
7.1 km away
Lake House
Lake House
#1 of 5 in Daylesford
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
The Dudley
The Dudley
#1 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
104 reviews
3.2 km away
Shizuka Ryokan Japanese Country Spa Retreat
Shizuka Ryokan Japanese Country ...
#2 of 11 in Hepburn Springs
171 reviews
3.0 km away
Hepburn at Hepburn
Hepburn at Hepburn
#1 of 12 in Hepburn Springs
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Daylesford and Hepburn Springs' most relaxing, romantic 4 Star Self Contained Villa Accommodation, Blue Cliffs Retreat, in the heart of Australia's Spa Country, is a true escape and retreat to the new luxuries of Serenity, Space, Seclusion& Silence. All self-contained villas have exquisite views, double spa baths, fireplaces and (except Hideaway) double saunas, set on 25 acres of native bush, only 5 minutes drive from the cafes, restaurants, natural mineral springs therapy centers, wineries, golf course, galleries and boutique shops in Hepburn Springs and Daylesford. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue Cliffs Retreat

Address: 239 Hepburn-Newstead Rd, Hepburn Springs, Victoria 3461, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Hepburn Springs
Price Range: $280 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Cliffs Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Cliffs Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue Cliffs Retreat staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Blue Cliffs Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask more questions upfront”
922perryc, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose the Gatsby great ambience”
O4692BTjulies, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All of the villas are beautiful.”
Melmagic, 18 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Stay in 'Dusk'.”
Natkinson7, 1 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Dreaming villa was beautiful!!”
biancao235, 25 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5