We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lake Maraboon Holiday Village

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Lake Maraboon Holiday Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 85: English reviews
Caloundra, Australia
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Pros: Great spot Great staff Great fellow travellers There is a nice pool with a slide for the kids. You can buy some nice food and there is a happy hour if your interested. The facilities are immaculate and amongst the best I've ever seen. Well worth the extra drive if you were going to stay in Emerald Cons: It's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bazzap68
Melanie W, Manager at Lake Maraboon Holiday Village, responded to this review

Hi Bazza, Thanks for your great review :) We really appreciate it when people take the time out of their day to acknowledge our great staff and Holiday Park! Hope to see you again down the track. Thanks, Emma.

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2016

So wanted to stay here, so we made the trip from Emerald to the Lake, as we wanted to spend a few days here. We are nomads, and can stay where ever, and for how ever we want to,stay. We came I. To,the Lake via Fairbairn dam. So enthused, however, once we reached the park, we were so disappointed. Unfriendly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maggie F
Melanie W, Manager at Lake Maraboon Holiday Village, responded to this review

Maggie F, We are having trouble reading your review and understanding what you are trying to say and whether or not you actually stayed at our Holiday Park, as your grammar could use some correcting. Perhaps before leaving a negative review you should ensure it is readable, so everyone can understand. If you could please decipher this review for us...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Right beside the lake, in an elevated position, this park had terrific views. Nice pool with a poolside cafe that delivered meals to our camp site when we felt like a night off cooking. The facilities were clean and comprehensive - even a large screen TV for a footy test match on one of the nights. Very friendly staff and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
Melanie W, Manager at Lake Maraboon Holiday Village, responded to this review

Hello Geoff, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us :) We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Travel Safe, Emma.

Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Spent a couple of days here, the family run park staff are so friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble, we chose a site overlooking the Maraboon dam, in no time we had lorikeets and cockatoo's eating out of our hands. The amenities were new and were ensuite - loved it. We ate at the cafe during happy our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KLG62
Melanie W, Manager at Lake Maraboon Holiday Village, responded to this review

Hello :) Thanks a lot for leaving us such a lovely review, we love hearing great feedback about our Holiday Park and our great staff. Its good to hear that the local residents made you welcome upon arrival. Hopefully we will get to welcome you back again some time. Travel Safe, Emma.

Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

What a great back with top notch staff. Peter was a cracker, he helped direct us into our site to delivering our extremely tasty pizzas. Loved how you could order food and have it delivered to our van. Amenities and grounds were kept in very good order. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brett M
Melanie W, Manager at Lake Maraboon Holiday Village, responded to this review

Hi Brett, Your very welcome, thank you for being such lovely guests. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner and our facilities. Pete is very pleased to see he has made it to TripAdvisor :) Kind Regards, Emma.

Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We stayed toward the end of the Grey Nomad holiday season. Staff were friendly and helpful. The dam level was low but plenty of people were trying their luck at catching Red Claw. The amenities were clean, however at times became congested due to shower and toilet combination.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
Melanie W, Manager at Lake Maraboon Holiday Village, responded to this review

Hi Frank, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Unfortunately due to not having much rain this year the dam level is a bit lower, but its 3 times the size of Sydney harbour when its full so its a very large dam even when its at 50%. Thanks, Emma.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We come out every year for a meeting of clubs this year we brought our little dog there was a big misunderstanding and was ask to get rid of her so we are 5 hours away from home so what do we do...well in the end she was caged and was not allowed out just in case she upset someone.and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Melanie W, Manager at Lake Maraboon Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we are however very disappointed that you would give us an average score when it is not our fault that you did not read or chose not to read our Pet rules which are clearly marked on every page of our website and cabin description box when booking online. You seem to however of "missed" these...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

What a hidden gem of a holiday park. Very lucky to get a site , and that which was well located in the park. Facilities were of a good standard, some people even stay for months to catch 'Red Claw' ( never heard of them before) like a Maron. The lake is part of the Fairburne dam , which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Lovely clean park. Stayed with our little dog. Like the enforced dog rules. Amenities are excellent. Staff very friendly with a bonus of being assisted on to your site. Take away meals available and delivered to your door. Second visit and will be back agin.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter Jane C
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

This was our second fabulous stay on a powered site. If you want the lakeside sites with a larger van (over 16ft), you must book at least a week ahead, even in the shoulder season. Many stay for months, as the place is great. Office staff really try to help find a site that suits all your needs. The sites...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue M

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Emerald hotels
16.9 km away
Emerald Park Motel
Emerald Park Motel
#5 of 11 in Emerald
27 reviews
16.4 km away
Nogoa Caravan Park
Nogoa Caravan Park
#7 of 10 in Emerald
21 reviews
18.2 km away
Discovery Parks - Emerald
Discovery Parks - Emerald
#10 of 10 in Emerald
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
Emerald Maraboon Motor Inn
16.8 km away
Route 66 Motor Inn
Route 66 Motor Inn
#9 of 11 in Emerald
68 reviews
17.2 km away
Comfort Inn Midlander Emerald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Water lovers rejoice - this park is for you. Lake Maraboon is set on the banks of Fairbairn Dam, overlooking the tranquil waters of Lake Maraboon, no less than three times the size of Sydney Harbour. This magnificent location is sure to delight, with endless aquatic pursuits including fishing, swimming and water skiing. Lake Maraboon is fishing heaven, with eight different kinds of fish to catch - but most famous for its plentiful Red Claw Crayfish.Lake Maraboon is midway between Rockhampton and Longreach, under seven hours from Townsville and close to Emerald. The Sapphire Gemfields and coal-mining town of Blackwater are under an hour away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lake Maraboon Holiday Village

Address: Fairbairn Dam Access Road & Selma Road | Central Highlands, Emerald, Queensland 4720, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Emerald
Price Range: $21 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lake Maraboon Holiday Village staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lake Maraboon Holiday Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book early”
 of 5 bubbles 43John111, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“NOT a Hotel .... It's a Holiday Park .....”
 of 5 bubbles mari0nb0bk, 23 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the different options: view? fire pit? ensuite?”
 of 5 bubbles NorthCountryWriter, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We had our own motor home. Not sure what the cabins are like but if compared to amenities. - they will be clean”
 of 5 bubbles lexied431, 1 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Deluxe cabins are the best for space and views.”
 of 5 bubbles 5familyof, 12 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5