We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Base Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Base Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

495 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Base Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 463: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights in a 6 bed dorm and loved it. The bungalows are well air coned and very clean with plenty of plugs. Extremely picturesque so perfect for those who love a good Instagram. Kitchen had plenty of plates, cutlery and space. Lots of space to sit by the bar although in the evening the music can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becca E
BaseMagneticIsland, General Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Becca E, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review, and such an awesome one too. Huge apologies about the veggie burger, I've got the F&B team working an a couple of new vegetarian options so you don't feel left out in the food offerings next time, it's definitely not supposed to come on a...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

Great location, right on the beach! Bar staff are awesome and our favourite waiter was josh! You will spot him wearing a flowery top and mini skirt ;0) great chilled atmosphere in the day and plenty to keep you busy in the evening! Nice to sit at the bar when the sun sets to have a drink. Huts for dorms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BASEMagnetic, General Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for much for taking the time to leave us a review, it's great to hear when people love the place as much as we do. I'm hoping you were here for Ladies night, otherwise Josh must be in some desperate need of laundry day. Hopefully you get a chance to come back and visit us again soon....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 February 2016

I don't usually make the effort to write a review but I wanted to share with other travellers the experience I had at Base, Magnetic Island. I was up until I arrived there at the end of my travelling tether. I had just spent 3 month fruit picking. This place was the best hostel by far. Great setting, Great people....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lea B
BASEMagnetic, General Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Lea B, What an awesome review to wake up to. Super happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, it really warms the cockles when people love the place as much as we do. I'll be sure to pass on your thanks Tom, I don't think he ever knows what he's doing but makes a fantastic job of...

Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

This hostel has the best views on the east coast. Although there is not much to do on the island it's a great place to chill out for a few days and it has a small pool Which is ok. The rooms have good air con and also the huts you stay in are pretty cool. There is always a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
BASEMagnetic, General Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Stephen B, Thanks heaps for taking the time to leave us a review, and we wholeheartedly agree we've got the best views on the East Coast, it's a tough place to work ;) Super happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with, hopefully you'll be excited to know we've got some plans in the making to make our pool...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

I've just come from base on magnetic island, and can say that I've had a blast the last couple of nights! From bar wars to ladies night, I've had such a laugh. Even if you're not one for drinking, you'll still have a good time at the bar. 2 friends and I hired a car and drove around the island,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurensmith346
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

G'day there laurensmith346! Thank you for leaving us an amazing review. We're glad you had so much fun with us :-) We hope you come back and visit us again. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

Passau, Germany
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

The hostel is pretty okey. The location is best, it's right on the beach, so you've got the best view of the sea. Friendly staff. The pool is very warm and a bit dirty. Bathrooms were not always clean, but most of the time. We had a lot of ants and other bugs in our room and beds. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolin O
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

G'day there Carolin O, We appreciate the time you took to leave us a review. Although it seemed you had a pretty good stay with us; you were unhappy with the bathroom and pool cleanliness. For this we are sorry. We've taken your comments on board and will discuss them at the next managers meeting to ensure that this doesn't...

Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

I can't recommend this place enough. Its location is absolutely stunning right on the coast, its cabins are so cute and give a much more community feel than a regular hostel. There is plenty of great outdoor space, including pool, hammocks and great dining areas. The staff, too, were fantastic. Unfortunately when I arrived in my room there didn't appear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie M
BASEMagnetic, General Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Sophie M, What an awesome review to wake up to. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We agree entirely with you, the place is almost like a holiday from your holiday. Sorry about the room mix up when you checked in but I'm happy you got to enjoy the sea breezes once we sorted it out....

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2016

Stayed here for two nights in November 2015 with four friends. I was really impressed with this hostel. Situated right on the beach the views were lovely. The hostel itself is also really pretty with a really nice bar area and the hostel rooms are beach huts. You have to pay for wifi although we did get a free meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abby M
BASEMagnetic, General Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Abby M, Thanks heaps for taking the time to leave us a review. We're really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and congrats on the win for the first night! We've put in place a few more checklist to improve the appearance of the hostel, obviously on the edge of the water one of the things...

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2016

Myself and my boyfriend stopped here while on Magnetic Island, we loved it, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the hostel is right on the beach and also has a very good sized pool, the bathroom was clean and tidy! you can rent snorkel gear from the hostel too which is handy, the food at the hostel is lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KJB_5477
BaseMagneticIsland, General Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi KJB_5477, Thanks so much for leaving us a such an awesome review. We're stoked you enjoyed your stay with us, we genuinely love to hear about people loving the island like we do. Great tips about the Barbie Car and the animal park too, there are heaps of extra things to check out on the island, hopefully you'll come...

Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

I really enjoyed my time on magnetic island, and Base hostel was a good place to come back to after a fun day out driving and exploring. It's right on the beach and also has a nice pool too. You can rent snorkel gear to take out with you too which is handy. The breakfasts are tasty and at night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
BaseMagneticIsland, General Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Lauren D, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review, it's these little insights that let us know where we can improve. We've got some plans underway to build some new bigger dorm rooms 'cause we understand the rooms are a little small, especially when we are this busy. Hopefully you'll get a chance to...

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
0:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
3.1 km away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
222 reviews
5.9 km away
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
#2 of 18 in Magnetic Island
425 reviews
1.2 km away
CStay
CStay
#1 of 18 in Magnetic Island
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 5 in Magnetic Island
835 reviews
2.7 km away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 8 in Magnetic Island
173 reviews
1.3 km away
Island Leisure Resort
Island Leisure Resort
#3 of 5 in Magnetic Island
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Base Magnetic Island is a must do on any East Coast trip - in fact it's a destination holiday in its own right, especially as the only backpackers in Australia with 100% beach frontage. Boasting on average, more than 320 days of sunshine per year, Magnetic Island is the ultimate tropical adventure for anyone looking for something special Spend your days sipping a cocktail in the sun by the pool, spotting koalas from North Australia's largest wild Koala population or learning to dive at our on site SCUBA facility. From lazy days on the beach directly in front of the property to heaving parties of over 4,000 people for our Full Moon Down Under events - Base Backpackers has something for everyone. From ocean front en-suite private cabins - to shaded camping grounds and everything in-between, we've got an on site travel shop, cafe, restaurant and party bar and a team of staff that are willing to help in any way we can. Come stay and play in one of Australia's premier backpackers, on beautiful Magnetic Island. Getting here: Catch the SealinkQLD ferry transfer from Townsville to Nelly Bay, then it is a short ride on the Public Bus heading towards 'Picnic Bay' the bus stop is out the front of our property ... more   less 

Additional Information about Base Backpackers

Address: 1 Nelly Bay Road, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Price Range: $63 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Base Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel Magnetic Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Base Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 24 & 25 have an ocean-view balcony. Rooms close to the bar would have been super loud.”
 of 5 bubbles 880deenam, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms by the sea are definitely the places to stay in. A real room with a view!!”
 of 5 bubbles SWOOZ186258, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“far from the reception, front row”
 of 5 bubbles Bbthequeen, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a beach hut at the front near the end!”
 of 5 bubbles loveshotels4, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“try for ocean views”
 of 5 bubbles r0bynb23, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5