We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Speewah Country Tavern

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Speewah Country Tavern
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 21: English reviews
Start your review of Speewah Country Tavern
 Click to rate
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 2 February 2017

The Speewah Tavern is a great destination for Sunday lunch. The menu is extensive and the food is delicious. A relaxed setting outdoors, surrounded by rainforest. Stunning pool is available for patrons to use.

1Thank jkirb2017
Reviewed 25 December 2016

I have lived in the area for twenty years and have seen the fare wax and wain over that time. However the current meals thanks to the new chef are beyond reproach both in taste and value. Keep the chef and I am sure people will keep coming back, I know I will.

Thank Z_FNQ
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 15 December 2016

I have been reading what others have been saying about the food in this tavern and unfortunately fail to agree .. The food is apalling and the prices beyond belief .. We moved to this area a year ago and had many a good meal but I have a feeling both management and without doubt the catering personnel have changed...

Thank daleturnbull12
hilt5962, Owner at Speewah Country Tavern, responded to this review

The management has not changed in 15yrs ,the chef has been here for 10mths, if you had a problem as none of our staff new about ,& the prices have dropped within the last 6mths. If you won't to complain you could see us direct or tell us what you you ordered on the day Instead of writing the above...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Speewah country tavern is the perfect place to eat great food, drink plenty of booze, relax and rewind. The staff and locals are friendly and it really is a place where you can let loose and have a good time. The accommodation is perfectly set only walking distance to the bar, shop and pool with a backdrop of the rainforest....

Thank hiltonroofing
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

Excellent ambience and food is good. Prices are good and you get value for money. Very kid friendly place with a swimming pool near restaurant and bar. Overall good food, all round great place to visit.

Thank Myrtaceae19
Norman, Oklahoma
Reviewed 2 November 2016

This tavern is in a tranquil setting and it offers clean and comfortable accommodation at reasonable prices (90aud per night). The room was spacious and clean with comfortable bed and clean bathroom. A microwave, refrigerator, toaster and electric kettle were very handy for simple meal preparation. There is a nice swimming pool and a restaurant that appears to be popular...

Thank Sarracenia
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Great little Country Tavern with very friendly staff and bloody delicious (and well priced) meals. Also very easy to find, only a stones throw from the highway. Looking forward to coming back, was well worth the drive from the Northern Beaches. If you're going past I definitely recommend stopping in for a drink and a feed.

2Thank WildManTheMadAussie
Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Great meal !., well priced and friendly service !! Had the seafood plate was scrumptious !! Couldn't finish it all !., sat outside under th verandah The pool looked so inviting !., definetly go back again !., the menu was full of so many choices !.,

2Thank Whitty1955
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Spacious and Spotless motel rooms with beautiful bush scenery. The Tavern boasts a "Bill of Fare" comparable to a top class city tavern and justifiably backs it with meals that are delightful and full of flavour.

1Thank ralph231
Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff, a relaxed environment, great quality food, and a beautiful setting. All for a reasonable price. Highly recommend for a meal with family and friends, or a few drinks. Amazing looking pool as well. It's well worth pulling off the main road and calling in.

1Thank Elise A

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (7)
Bathroom (2)
Room/Suite (4)
View from Room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (8)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuranda hotels
4.6 km away
Cedar Park Rainforest Resort
0.0 km away
Ronday-voo Bed & Breakfast
3.0 km away
No photo provided
Kuranda Villas
#1 of 1 in Speewah
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge
Kuranda Ngorongoro Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kuranda
2 reviews
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This charming,family freindly retreat is located just off the kennedy highway,nestled on the edge of world heritage rainforest & bounds on to fresh water Grove creek.The Speewah Country tavern is the perfect escape from the daily grind or pefect base for tourists wanting to experience the 1st class attractions of the Atherton tablelands has to offer .Most within 10-20 minute drive from your cabin. Barron George National park,Douglas & Smith walking tracks. Horse riding school,short walk to kids play grounds & tennis court. 5 Minute drive to Kuranda village. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Speewah Country Tavern

Address: 38 Speewah Rd | Speewah, Kuranda, Queensland 4881, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Kuranda
Price Range: $86 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Speewah Country Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Speewah Country Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Speewah Country Tavern staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Hinchinbrook Island, Australia
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Speewah Country Tavern staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take your pick, they are all great”
 of 5 bubbles hiltonroofing, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good, and more or less the same (other than some are double and some double and twin depending on your specific requirements)”
 of 5 bubbles reginah459, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the back are quieter, but there's no mobile phone reception here so make your calls before you get there.”
  • The cabins are basic but clean and well presented.
  • Clean and tidy bathroom with plenty of room.
  • All the rooms look out onto the rainforest.
 of 5 bubbles 949dukes, 10 Apr 2015 | Read review
3 of 3