We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The African Cottage and Rondawel

Certificate of Excellence
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The African Cottage and Rondawel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The African Cottage and Rondawel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 84: English reviews
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 14 November 2016

A Completely rip-off. Over prize for what you get. Place not well looked after, dirty, scruffy and old furniture. Please take note South Africans houses is very neat and tidy and what this house and cottage looks like is not a very good impression of African Living. Matilda is very friendly lady but that is where it stops. Food very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rianafoord
African2013, Owner at The African Cottage and Rondawel, responded to this review

I wasn't even going to answer this one. But for the sake of other guests who might be confused I will. There was NO pleasing these guests - from the minute they arrived they complained. We even moved them from one cottage to another because they "didn't like" the first one. No reason, just that. They didn't like it. I...

Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying at the African cottages just a couple of months ago. We were met by a lady called Matilda who was so welcoming and warm, we instantly felt at home. The cottage decor was fab, with an attention to detail. It was filled with interesting african themed memorabilia, It had so much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lilirishone
African2013, Owner at The African Cottage and Rondawel, responded to this review

It is a pleasure to have guests like you! So many times people just cannot be pleased - but you were delightful! Glad you liked the food too! We look forward to welcoming you back here!

Reviewed 9 November 2016

we recently visited The African Cottage and Rondawel in 2016 as a family, We felt completely ripped off with the price it cost to stay for two nights especially with the place not having any pool, the garden has not been looked after the furniture was dirty and some even broken, on display there was some brochures of activities to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Claudia F
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Our cottage experience leaves much to be desired. It was scruffy, the fridge was rusty and faulty,the two lights needed replacing. Kitchen utensils unclean, and needed pest control. It just required a good clean. On a positive note the meal was good. We will not be going back.,

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ctrunner48
African2013, Owner at The African Cottage and Rondawel, responded to this review

I am really upset about this. Cape Cottage is our newest cottage and only seven years old. So scruffy it is not. But I do take the comments on board and will go and have a good inspection there. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our cottages - and two light bulbs should not spoil a guests stay. All...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately i think the owner was away when we visited. Very poor customer service, no one to meet us, no one to take our calls. The African Cottage needs a good clean and renovation if they want to continue charging the money they do. One of the showers had clearly not worked for a while, difficult because we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TereGolosa
African2013, Owner at The African Cottage and Rondawel, responded to this review

Unfortunately yes I was away - otherwise I would have been on site. My two Angels, as I call them, both have families at home and therefore can't be at the cottages all the time. But Suzy's number is on the office door and she is just a phone call away. They are both very friendly and run the place...

South Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 7 October 2016

My husband and I loved staying at African Cottage as the staff were very very helpful and friendly. The accomodation was comfortable and it had all the amenities even Electric blankets for the cooler evenings in the mountains..... It had an African feel about it with furnishings to complement the surroundings.......The food offered was of a high standard and love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barb P
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely place to stay with children. The african cottage had toys for my son to play with and a cubby in the cupboard. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you would need. The african food was really nice. Maleney has plenty of things to do for families the maleney dairy, bush walks, and butd workd at the botanical gardens

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelleytomaszewski
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 10 July 2016

A 3 night voucher offered online took me to The African Cottage near Maleny for a much-needed break from 'the norm' and a chance to unwind. When I arrived Matilda was very welcoming and suggested that I stay in the cottage with a verandah that is held in the embrace of a 500-year old fig tree - this was magical....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suetheshark
Reviewed 10 July 2016

We did not expect luxury at the African Cottage but did not expect to find a house that has clearly not been maintained or cleaned properly in a long time: grease and grime in the kitchen, dirty fridge, dirty shower screens and toilet, dust on the floors, dirty walls and ceilings, etc. etc. The 'filthy' cooker as mentioned by a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Riffington
African2013, Owner at The African Cottage and Rondawel, responded to this review

Well, you never know about people do you? We parted on very amicable terms (after the lady threw a tea towel at Suzy!) with hugs all round and promises to return! And now this! Fortunately one of the family came and warned us (and apologised!) that mom is a bit of a cleaning fanatic. Mom even thought a BRAND NEW,...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

This was our second time at the African cottages, we absolutely loved both trips. The cottages were cosy and self contained having everything we needed for our stay. The grounds were beautiful and picturesque. With such an amazing central location it was easy to get into town and tourist locations. Matilda and the staff were fantastic, helpful and very accommodating!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mac60371

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (3)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
6.4 km away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#2 of 2 in Montville
170 reviews
3.5 km away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
1.5 km away
Maleny Views Cottage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Roseville House
Roseville House
#5 of 16 in Maleny
67 reviews
12.7 km away
Maleny Luxury Cottages
Maleny Luxury Cottages
#6 of 16 in Maleny
122 reviews
9.4 km away
Blue Summit Cottages
Blue Summit Cottages
#1 of 16 in Maleny
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The African Cottage and The Rondawel - and now our NEW CAPE COTTAGE and KALAHARI COTTAGE is a little bit of Africa in Aus! Relax on your beautiful deck, order a romantic traditional South African dinner, have a soothing massage - all in the comfort and privacy of your cottage! Or go for a rainforest walk, dine at our many award winning restaurants, browse the interesting shops and art galleries. Australia Zoo only 20 mins away, and beautiful beaches 30 mins. Relax, revive, rejuvenate!THE AFRICAN COTTAGE sleeps up to 9 guests comfortably and is ideal for families or groups of friends. THE RONDAWEL sleeps 6, is a very special hexagonal glass and timber cottage with the branches of our 500 year old figtree touching the deck! KALAHARI COTTAGE and CAPE COTTAGE are cosy cottages for couples. Both are open plan with eco friendly camp fires. KALAHARI has its own private courtyard with soothing water feature and CAPE COTTAGE is sheer magic as it is under the figtree with the branches embracing the cottage. It has a stunning deck, overlooking the tree! All our cottages are fully self contained. Perfect for a relaxing getaway to recharge the batteries! Come and experience a little bit of Africa in Aus! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The African Cottage and Rondawel

Address: 943 Maleny-Montville Rd, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Maleny
Price Range: $196 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Cottage and Rondawel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The African Cottage and Rondawel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The African Cottage and Rondawel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rondawel Cottage is the Bomb!”
 of 5 bubbles J-Prox, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The tropical view from the deck and the close rain forest and water falls all adds to The magic of Maleny and Montville......”
 of 5 bubbles 326barbp, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are limited rooms so depends on the number of people; the fig tree cottage was superb for 1-2”
  • The fig tree-wrapped verandah
 of 5 bubbles Suetheshark, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Dont have the room closet to the road or pond. You can her the traffic & the frogs are rather noisy”
 of 5 bubbles J7941YDdeniseh, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Romantic time away try Rondawel or family try the cottage”
 of 5 bubbles 327lynnev, 28 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
Booking.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates