We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arkaroola Wilderness Sanctuary

Save
Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (19)
Pool & Beach (1)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good29%
  • Average11%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“flinders ranges”(14 reviews)
“self drive”(5 reviews)
“dirt road”(7 reviews)
AMENITIES
Public Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
58
43
14
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
58
43
14
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflinders rangesself drivedirt roadcaravan parkwheel drivefour hourshis knowledgerecently spent nightsscenic flightstaff were pleasant and helpfulnatural beautymotel unitssmall shopbasic supplieswilpena poundunique locationoutback experience
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Bearing in mind how far we were off the bitumen I can easily tolerate some dust and amenities that don't reflect the rarified air of north terrace Adelaide hotels. My only disappointing moment was the delay at 1700 when our crew and others finally got...More

Thank 694,552
Response from M_Sprigg, General Manager at Arkaroola Wilderness SanctuaryResponded 1 week ago

Hello Guest, We appreciate your time taken to write us a review, although based on your feed back we are unsure of your star rating. Thank you for visiting us and we love to hear that you feel the same way we do about how...More

Reviewed May 14, 2018

We had two very disappointing nights at this property to regret having made a bad decision. The gulf between the description and photographs of the Mawson rooms on the internet and the dark, dingy and not very clean room we were provided left me scratching...More

Thank Roger D
Response from M_Sprigg, Manager at Arkaroola Wilderness SanctuaryResponded May 17, 2018

Hello Roger D. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are very sorry to hear that you feel it was a bad decision to visit us. We are also disturbed to hear that you tried to alert our staff about...More

Reviewed April 26, 2018 via mobile

We got to Arkaroola expecting great outback hospitality, what we received was far from it! Understandably the first man we saw had only been there a week so he referred us into someone else but then they both couldn’t figure out if any of the...More

Thank Bree A
Response from M_Sprigg, Front Office Manager at Arkaroola Wilderness SanctuaryResponded May 4, 2018

Hello Bree, Thank you for your time to review us, as we find all feedback very important. We are very sorry to hear that you found such a negative experience on arrival. We have just began this season, and have new staff who may have...More

Reviewed April 26, 2018 via mobile

I have heard good things about Arkaroola and so I was looking forward to my visit. My travel arrangements were of the camping variety, not of the guest room bungalow that the Arkaroola Resort displays. The camping grounds and I am only speaking of the...More

Thank pandkgraham
Response from M_Sprigg, Front Office Manager at Arkaroola Wilderness SanctuaryResponded May 4, 2018

Hello pandkgraham, Thank you for taking your time to review us as we appreciate all feedback. We were glad to hear that you have been looking forward to your visit, and now we are sorry that it did not meet your expectations. Our campground facilities...More

Reviewed April 19, 2018

I went to Arkaroola with a tour group, and I loved every minute of it. It is such a fantastic experience to be truely "off the grid", while still enjoying some comforts of home. While it is not the most modern accommodation, the motel rooms...More

Thank Elcee35
Response from M_Sprigg, Front Office Manager at Arkaroola Wilderness SanctuaryResponded May 4, 2018

Hi Elcee35, Thank you for taking the time to review Arkaroola Wilderness Sanctuary. We are well pleased to receive a glowing review, we do try hard to give the "faultless service" you received. We sometimes get surprise hurdles being in the outback which we are...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$63 - US$68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$63 - US$68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (19)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Battyjules
April 3, 2015|
Answer
Response from 4travelingvics | Reviewed this property |
Don't know where you were but where we stayed it was fine, in fact it was just being cleaned when we arrived, so maybe you should have spoken to the management if you had issues prior to making your comment.
0
Votes
MargaretY3257
September 7, 2014|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Noel T | Reviewed this property |
(08) 8648 4848 Everything is handled through the ONE shop The main web page is at dot Arkaroola (but I cant answer that way here)
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Not the one we had at the rear of Mawson facing the 'helipad' right at the far end away from..."
Read review
"Make sure you check with the sanctuary which room you have, if you have booked online and ask what facilities..."
Read review
"We had Backpacker accommodation which was like a basic motel room - comfortable with no frills."
Read review
"The views from the rooms at the back of Mawson are great. More private as well."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing