We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wilpena Pound Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wilpena Pound Resort
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 438: English reviews
Start your review of Wilpena Pound Resort
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Flinders ranges is a magical place and we will definitely return. However, Wilpena Pound resort did not live up to our expectations and was a real let down. Our safari tent was simply not serviced at all before or during our stay. This is the tent for which they charge $320 per night during off season! The reason given -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jolz001
WilpenaPoundResort, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear jolz001, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, and discuss in detail over the phone with myself this morning. As discussed, I have followed up directly with our housekeeping department regarding the servicing of your room, to ensure our high standards are consistent on a daily basis, and do apologise for the inconvenience that this caused....

Bridlington, England, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 5 days here in September and the staff couldn't have been more accomodating if they tried. Wonderful selection of food at breakfast (hot, cold healthy and not healthy!!) and evening meals to cater to differing budgets with reasonable prices given the remoteness of location. The rooms were clean and tidy and comfortable with great storage for all of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
About Hotel's Favourite Review
WilpenaPoundResort, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear Rachel H, Thank you so much for your amazing 5 star feedback! It is so rewarding to read comments such as yours that reiterate the hard work of our amazing team here at Wilpena Pound Resort. I will most definitely share your feedback with the team, as we continue to drive and exceed our guest’s expectations. Our kitchen team...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at a Safari tent at this resort and it was a cool experience. The price was also decent during the off peak season (setting aside the downside of several hikes being off limits). The tent and the resort are generally clean and tidy although I found I had to wash the glasses in the tent again as they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank courtneywkc
WilpenaPoundResort, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear courtneywkc, Thank you for providing your feedback from your recent Australia day stay, its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay in our amazing safari tents, and the location here in Wilpena. Thank you for feedback regarding our breakfast and bar food offerings, I must agree the Angus beef burger is delicious! I do apologise for the inconvenience regarding...

Cambridge
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very disappointing hotel set in a wonderful place. The whole resort comes across as unloved and very tired and in urgent need of renovation. The toilet roll holder in our bathroom was broken and the shower drain was blocked with weeks worth of other guests body hair - ugh. In addition the food is expensive but not great. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DB1605
WilpenaPoundResort, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear DB1605, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, although it is extremely disappointing to learn and read of your negative experience. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss your feedback with you in more detail, as all feedback is extremely valuable in continually improving service standards. Please feel free to contact me directly on 08...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Stayed in the Safari Tents on my last trip to Wilpena, and they were awesome. A bit on the pricey side, but they did come complete with everything you get in a hotel room including power and water. And the views of the Pound each afternoon as the sun sets on the side is absolutely stunning. Will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
WilpenaPoundResort, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear Steve W, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay, its great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in our safari tents, and the amazing views that we have of Wilpena Pound. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Cameron Baker General Manager

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Nothing much to mention except that it is getting old and in need of maintenance or renovations. The swimming pool needs a good clean, the ordering for food and drinks in the restaurant is really long, long, long. Breakfast never changes? The bedroom are spacious but servicing the room daily would be appropriated. The term 'resort' is misleading, the surrounding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Philclem61
WilpenaPoundResort, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear Philclem61, Thank you for providing feedback of your recent stay, while disappointing to read I do appreciate you making us aware, as only through feedback such as yours can we continue to improve upon our standards and service delivery for guests. I will most definitely share your feedback with our management team, to ensure we meet the expectations of...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Super area to spend time in, small pool was welcome on a very hot day. Motel room was ok, could do with being cleaned every day. On site shop useful. But no wifi anywhere on the site and it seems that this is an ongoing problem which is taking months to resolve.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caroway
WilpenaPoundResort, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear Caroway, Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay, its great to hear you enjoyed our amazing location and the views we have available of the area. I appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback regarding housekeeping and wifi, which are key areas of focus for the resort at all times and moving forward. We look...

Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We had three lovely days in the Flinders Ranges and chose Wilpena Pound Resort as our base in order to support the indigenous business. Unfortunately it was not up to standard for $310 per night - the Edowie suite was very badly equipped and we had to request plates, glasses, tea towels,tea etc. the bath was very dirty, old deteriorated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Farnorthernexposure
WilpenaPoundResort, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear Farnorthernexposure, Thank you for sending through your feedback, it’s great to hear that you had three lovely enjoyable days in the Flinders ranges area. Please be aware your feedback regarding the equipment and maintenance issues within your room has been noted and actioned, with key emphasis on ensuring these rooms always present with quality and consistency for our guests....

Reviewed 21 December 2016

The room was in the old section of the complex and was showing its age. No excuse for it being dirty though, light did not work in the bathroom and had to carry the standard lamp in there be able to see. Another light was not working either, when I advised a staff member of this he told me they...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jim H
WilpenaPoundResort, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jim H, Thank you for your feedback, I do apologise that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, and were not able to deliver the level of customer service that we hope to achieve on a daily basis. Please be aware your feedback has been taken on board, to ensure consistency moving forward with our delivery of...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff are very welcoming, rooms are clean and great food. It would be nice if they had traditional aboriginal meal options but either way the food was very tasty! Pool is surrounded by trees and wildlife made for quite the oasis. They have options to camp or rent safari tents, which looked amazing! if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelspace87
WilpenaPoundResort, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear travelspace87, Thank you for taking the time to send through your fantastic feedback. It is great to read such positive feedback of your experience, and I will most definitely share the feedback with our team to continue to drive our high standards of customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wilpena Pound Resort in the future....

206 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (122)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flinders Ranges National Park hotels
13.3 km away
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
#1 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
379 reviews
23.3 km away
Arkaba Station
Arkaba Station
#2 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wilpena Pound Resort is the only accommodation in Ikara Flinders Ranges National Park. All rooms are non-smoking. Brachina and Aroona Rooms suit individuals and couples while the Heysen and Edeowie Suites are larger and suitable for families or people needing extra space. Some rooms offer cooking facilities. All rooms are en-suite, have TV, mini fridge, air-conditioning, tea/coffee tray. On site restaurant serving hot meals, bar and bistro. Resort also offers Ikara Safari tents for a great glamping experience as well as powered and unpowered sites for camping. An on site store sells supplies and a visitors center to advise on information about the area and guided walking as well as 4WD tours. Air Wilpena at our private air strip, takes you on air safaris around Flinders ranges and Lake Eyre. RESORT RECEPTION HOURS ARE 7AM TO 6PM DAILY. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wilpena Pound Resort

Address: Wilpena Road | via Hawker, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5434, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Flinders Ranges National Park
Price Range: $152 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilpena Pound Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Wilpena Pound Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilpena Pound Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wilpena Pound Resort staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Wilpena Pound Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get the 2 person tents in the middle as they are the quietest”
 of 5 bubbles V1037LCstevew, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the normal rooms, wouldn't waste $$$ on the glamping.”
 of 5 bubbles littlemissgiggles379, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Would recommend staying in the safari tents. Beautiful to wake up in nature with a little comfort.”
 of 5 bubbles karencM2204WV, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms further away from reception, facing sunrise as by afternoon rooms could be warm with so much glass.”
 of 5 bubbles varib, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't waste money for a tent”
 of 5 bubbles mitchl442, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5