We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Struan Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Struan Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 45: English reviews
Start your review of The Struan Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 11 February 2017

This is the first time we have visited the Struan Inn in a couple of years, and it was just as fantastic as it was last time! Great food, cozy wee bar & friendly atmosphere. They run a local bus service to save anyone driving, and this is a brilliant service! Will definately be back again soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny D
Mary-Ann M, Owner at The Struan Inn, responded to this review

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable evening and were able to use our courtesy bus service. We hope to see you again soon!

Volmunster, France
Reviewed 17 October 2016

When you book from the internet without knowing the hotel you have chosen it is a very pleasant surprise when you come across a GEM of a hotel. Clean ,modern, very friendly reception by the owner and great service by the staff. The Czeck waiter was excellent (what would the service industries do without these immigrants). The hotel is small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 60max
Mary-Ann M, Owner at The Struan Inn, responded to this review

We are glad that you were pleasantly surprised when you arrived! Thank you for your recommendation and nice comments.

Reviewed 17 October 2016

Stayed here for one night as my husband was doing the Loch Rannoch Marathon the following day. Lovely room, clean, great view. All the staff were very friendly, had the residents lounge to ourself so we could watch Strictly in peace :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty M
Mary-Ann M, Owner at The Struan Inn, responded to this review

We hope the marathon went well! Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and we hope that you will visit us again another time.

Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

We were staying in for a week nearby and ate in the hotel twice during the week, and went in for a drink once. It's a great find of a place. Food was excellent. Seven of us in the party and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were really friendly and efficient. So. Excellent service. Excellent food. What else...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlanG1967
Mary-Ann M, Owner at The Struan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal and came back for a second visit. We hope to see you again!

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

The beautifully decorated room, friendly staff and delicious dinner made for a very enjoyable stay. The room was clean, cosy and along with the bar especially welcoming after climbing a Munro in the rain! Both dinner and breakfast were excellent, and the staff were fantastic throughout our stay, then went above and beyond after I left an item in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou_C90
Mary-Ann M, Owner at The Struan Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and also that your parcel arrived safe and well. Hopefully you will visit us again if you are planning some walking in the area.

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Just returned home after a cracking stay in this wee gem of a place. easy to find peaceful location and all amenities close by.but we didn't need to leave,everything we needed was here,fantastic fresh cooked food including great menu choices,very welcoming staff and very jolly .rooms were superbly decorated and clean and we slept like logs,thanks for making us so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _hughie8
Mary-Ann M, Owner at The Struan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Struan Inn and we hope to see you again soon!

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

excellent location for competing at the blair castle intnl horse trials. we arrived very late to check inn. no problem . desk person (from Czech republic) very welcoming and helpful. family ensuite room warmly welcomimg and good size and oh so clean it sparkled. Beds very comfortable. toiletries and towels supplied. some of us were leaving before breakfast began and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GURUESS
Mary-Ann M, Owner at The Struan Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive comments. I am pleased that our staff were able to help you. Sorry I didn't get a chance to say 'hello' in person - I came in after you had left in the morning. Hope to see you again if you are in the area. Keep an eye on our availability for next year's horse...

Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Visited the Struan Inn last week while staying with my mum who is lucky enough to stay close to this wonderful place. 6 of us visited for dinner, including 2 children, we were picked up by the free bus and dropped here. As we were early we were seated in a lovely lounge area with comfy seats. While there we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
Mary-Ann M, Owner at The Struan Inn, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable evening here and found our courtesy minibus service helpful. We hope to see you again!

Ayrshire
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Booked this Inn blindly to break a journey north and what a find it was!! Located in a lovely tranquil location just off the A9, received a really warm welcome. Accomodation first rate, spotless and very well appointed. Lovely hosts Bob and Mary-Ann, really friendly helpful staff who are as welcoming as the hosts. Food superb (cooked fresh to order)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
Mary-Ann M, Owner at The Struan Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again for a slightly longer stay next time.

Waterloo, Canada
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch while cycling the area and had a wonderful, healthy, filling meal. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. We made a few swaps to the meals and that was no problem. The food was yummy and if it was closer to where I'm staying, I would have gone back for dinner!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzanne_baal
Mary-Ann M, Owner at The Struan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us.

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calvine
7.0 km away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
646 reviews
15.5 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,676 reviews
16.0 km away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
728 reviews
18.4 km away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
596 reviews
15.4 km away
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Struan Inn was built in 1863 and is located in a quiet and rural location just on the edge of the Cairngorms National Park. The Inn is twelve miles north of the town of Pitlochry and five miles north of the village of Blair Atholl, but just two minutes from the main A9 road. All five guest bedrooms are en-suite. Relax in our cosy bar with log burning stove and enjoy freshly cooked local produce in our restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Struan Inn

Address: Calvine | Blair Atholl, Calvine PH18 5UB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Calvine
Price Range: $139 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Struan Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your The Struan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Struan Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms spotlessly clean and fresh”
 of 5 bubbles _hughie8, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are of a superb standard”
 of 5 bubbles Shuggy724, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are very cute. pick any just watch your head if you a bit on the tall side and don't forget the walls have ears :)”
 of 5 bubbles Real-Insight, 16 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Our green room was wonderful”
 of 5 bubbles Efranz, 28 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Room 3 is good - double bed room.”
 of 5 bubbles Splishsplasher, 20 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5