We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds
See the most recent reviews
Showing 46: English reviews
Mid-atlantic
Reviewed 9 May 2016

The first floor of this Red Roof is still being finished (and as mentioned in other reviews), so still no ice machine, but our room had a mini-fridge and microwave. The re-furbished room had a flatscreen TV and wood-looking floors in the main area, with carpeting by the beds. Everything looked, and smelled, fresh and clean. Beds were comfortable. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank winindc
Sachin P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are glad we made you stay enjoyable. We were currently under renovations, and did not have a working ice machine. We are sorry for the inconvenience that we may have caused. We hope serve you better during your next visit when everything will be completed. Thank you,

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 5 May 2016

The hotel room was clean, but they were in the middle of updating the hotel when we stayed there (Oct. 2015). The lobby had a strange smell to it, but you couldn't smell it in the room. The staff was friendly, and even though at night the area the hotel was in didn't look too friendly, the next morning it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladyd2206
Sachin P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time leave some feedback. We appreciate your recent stay with us and we are glad you enjoyed as well. Our management has completed the remodel to make your stay more comfortable. Please come us in mind during your next visit to Columbus.

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Okay so I live in Columbus and have stated at this hotel for years! It's been okay, but never really great until now! They have redesigned the hotel, cleaned it up and I love it. The rooms look so awesome, new floors, new furniture, just about new everything. The staff is still just as great, and the few new people...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Daeqwon F
Sachin P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review. We love to hear from our guests, and yes we did recently completed a full remodel. We appreciate the friendly gesture, will share your comment with my staff. Hope to see you soon on your next visit to Columbus.

Enfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 25 April 2016

The room was very good-newly remodeled with a fridge and a nice TV. Very clean and the staff were wonderful. However, the hotel was under renovation construction, so there were no rooms on the 1st floor available, a problem as there were no elevators. Also, the ice machine was also in an area that was under construction as well. Had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank derby503
Sachin P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Derby503, I am glad that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms during your recent visit. We are sorry we could not accommodate your needs for the 1st floor during you stay. We hope you serve you better during your next visit. Thank you for leaving a positive review. Sincerely,

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

The Red Roof was very accommodating. They arranged an early check in (7:00 a.m.) The hotel has been recently renovated and is now very nice. The front desk staff was very inviting and made us feel very comfortable throughout our stay. The value was excellent and I would definitely recommend this spot for the overall value and accommodations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
Sachin P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Paul R, Thank you for providing a positive review. We always want to spread the word, that are being renovated and are almost complete. I am glad we were able to accommodate your needs for early check-in. Once again, thank you for the feedback, we hope to see you soon on your next trip to Columbus. Sincerely,

Parkersburg, West Virginia
Reviewed 16 April 2016

The hotel is still undergoing renovations - which is good and bad. The bad part is the mess and the number of rooms is limited. The good part is that the owner cares enough about the facility to renovate it instead of letting it run completely down. Another drawback to the current renovation project is the lack of first floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angie W
Sachin P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Dear Angie, We appreciate the positive feedback from your recent stay. Yes, our management is currently renovating (almost to be complete). We are glad you enjoyed your stay. However, we did not have the 1st floor rooms available at that time. I will provide my staff the feedback on their friendly guest services. We hope to see you in the...

DAYTON
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We were treat so well! Barbara, the desk clerk, ask everyday if we needed anything and how our day went. The beds were so comfortable, the newly remodeled rooms were gorgeous and spacious. We were treated like family. I would definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MADONNA R
Sachin P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Madonna R. Thank you for leaving us positive review. We are glad you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will definitely let my staff know the great work and satisfaction we proving our guest. Yes, the rooms have been recently renovated. We are almost complete with the renovations. We hope to see you during your next visit to...

Portage, Indiana
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Dirty as soon as you walk in the door, no ice available anywhere in the hotel, cold through out the whole place, smoke free hotel that smelled of cigarette smoke and had cigarette burns in the bathtub. Furniture wasn't complete, the drawer handles were in the drawer instead of being mounted on the drawer. Boogers on the shower wall and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gfdeng12
Sachin P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Gfdeng12, We are sorry we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit. We will address these issues with our staff. Unfortunately, we are currently under renovations. We are expect to be complete very soon. Hopefully we can serve you better during your next visit. Thank you

Clarksburg, West Virginia
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

at check in Friday, 3/22, about 930pm, the desk clerk had the speaker phone on and was trying to make some kind of personal payment that was being declined. Instead of hanging up and getting me checked in, he attempted his transaction several times, still on speaker phone. After several minutes, and me pointedly looking at him with impatience, he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mtngrl67
Sachin P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Mtngrl67, We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. I have spoke with my front desk staff regarding your check-in. We are currently under renovations. Unfortunately, we do not have an elevator at this property. Once again, we are sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. I hope you decide to give us another...

Lorain, Ohio
Reviewed 15 February 2016

This was awesome motel to stay. People/staff were very friendly. Meals close by to eat and then by the OSU campus made it eve better. When we were on campus got the chance to see some free dance shows and just nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jerryb535
Sachin P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds, responded to this review

Jerry, We appreciated the feedback. I am glad your recent stay was enjoyable. I will definitely let my staff enough the great customer service they provided. We hope to see you on your next visit to Columbus. Thank you

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#80 of 143 in Columbus
309 reviews
0.9 km away
Extended Stay America - Columbus - North
3.0 km away
Extend a Suites Columbus Ohio
Extend a Suites Columbus Ohio
#92 of 143 in Columbus
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North
1.0 km away
Magnuson Grand Columbus North
Magnuson Grand Columbus North
#108 of 143 in Columbus
157 reviews
18.3 km away
Motel 6 Columbus West
Motel 6 Columbus West
#68 of 143 in Columbus
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
No matter what exciting event or attraction brings you to Columbus, your room at the Red Roof Inn Columbus-Ohio State Fairgrounds will be your personal retreat. Free WiFi,in-room coffee makers, hairdryer, and microfridge are just some of the amenities offered for your enjoyment. We also offer free local and long distance calling within your guestroom. Red Roof Inn Columbus-Ohio State Fairgrounds offers easy access to interstates 71 and 270, and is conveniently located near OSU, The Ohio State Fairgrounds and great shopping at Easton Town Center and Polaris Mall. Other near attractions are the Columbus Crew Stadium, along with the Columbus Zoo. A credit card is required at the time of check-in. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds

Address: 1221 E Dublin Granville Rd, Columbus, OH 43229-3301
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Price Range: $85 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn
Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Columbus - Ohio State Fairgrounds staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The back end is best for a quiet night's sleep”
kevinf849, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room in another hotel if you want a better value”
S2956OZmikem, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Pay the extra money for a Superior King room.”
Irondequoit, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“From what I could tell, there was no elevator.”
MD560, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“Call first to see if the construction is completed.”
derby503, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5