We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

White Orchid Guesthouse.

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
White Orchid Guesthouse.
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 88: English reviews
Start your review of White Orchid Guesthouse.
 Click to rate
Ahmedabad, India
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This Gest House is near from City Center and It is Good for Stay ands It is value for Money. If you have YHAI Membership, you can book from YHAI website and get discount for booking. Over All Staff and Room Service are also Good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bhaveshjoshi_1981
Mumbai
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked a deluxe double room which was quite small. The food (Daal fry and rice) was tasteless, dal was all watery and it reminded me of hostel days :P It's a good place for bagpakers or budget travellers; couples must look for better options though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelCrazy_Dave
West Bengal, India
Reviewed 6 January 2017

I had stayed here in the last week of december with my wife and my in laws and experienced a warm hospitality from manager and the staffs. They took special care to the senior citizens.We have got the facilities of 24 hrs hot water,room heater and good quality foods as per our requirement.This guest house is located in a calm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amlandutt
Reviewed 4 January 2017

I am posting on behalf of my brother! My brother and her wife had just a Shillong trip in the end of December, and they simply loved the service and overall staying in White Orchid. The staffs were friendly and well behaved as what both of them in common. Value for money! They gave it a 5 star.. happy staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suvadeep m
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We spent about a week in Shillong in this December and after reading some good reviews at TripAdvisor, we chose to stay in this hotel and I am glad to say that it didn't disappoint. The staffs were nice and were always happy to help. The hotel serves breakfast and dinner and the quality of food is quiet good. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandipan m
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 31 December 2016

I spent a week in Shillong this past July and loved it. The staff were warm, accommodating and always happy to help with whatever we needed. Food service was fast and delicious, the rooms were beautifully clean and comfortable. Great value for a stay, couldn't recommend highly enough!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mel S
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

The team at White Orchid guesthouse are extremely warm and courteous. Chetan the ops guy takes good care with a team of 3 musketeers - maintaining the guesthouse. Cleaning to cooking to running errands. The guest house is moderate sized, 2kms away from city centre. Complimentary breakfast served is very simple with 4 slices of bread and a omelette, is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank akrpraveen
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 4 December 2016

I visited as a RBI guest during Nov'2016. The rooms are big enough, behavior and service of staffs is good. Very well maintained and clean premises. The quality of food is very good. The only con is that it is a bit far from the "Police Bazaar". Everything else is very good. Enjoyed a beautiful holiday here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avik2845
Dehra Dun, Uttarakhand, India
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

I had booked this guesthouse via yatra.com and when I reached there,the staff rudely said to me that they didn't have any confirmation.On enquiries,we found that the room that was supposed to be booked was unavailable.They were offering us a smaller room and gave us a option to accept it or get lost.Thats my story. Another thing I want to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aprmunu
Goldenhillboy, Manager at White Orchid Guesthouse., responded to this review

Dear Sir , We regret you had to face an issue regarding your booking . Our sold out inventory was duly forwarded to the booking portal yet the booking was made . We tried our best to accomodate you in the only room available at the time one which did not have an attached bathroom & one which you did...

Kolkata
Reviewed 24 September 2016

I was not happy with the commercialisation of Shillong Hotels and home stays in the past few years, and therefore was looking out for a different place to stay in Shillong this time, where i periodically go for work. I found details of White Orchid on Trip Advisor and after talking to Chetan the manager there, decided to stay there....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dbsgi

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shillong hotels
1.2 km away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 19 in Shillong
128 reviews
0.7 km away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
10.9 km away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 19 in Shillong
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#2 of 19 in Shillong
247 reviews
1.5 km away
The Shillong Hills Guest House
0.2 km away
Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located newly constructed guesthouse comprised of eight guestrooms. The location is in Upper Lachaumiere, formerly a part of the 'European Ward' area of Shillong. Simple, clean, bright and spacious rooms. Panoramic view from the rooftop. Close proximity to all major areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Orchid Guesthouse.

Address: Upper Lachaumiere, Shillong 793001, India
Region: India > Meghalaya > Shillong
Price Range: $20 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from White Orchid Guesthouse. staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Haora, West Bengal, India
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from White Orchid Guesthouse. staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms of east & west side for nice view”
 of 5 bubbles amlandutt, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles A3316VLmels, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for the upper floor as the view and the wifi connection is better there”
  • View from the landing
 of 5 bubbles dbsgi, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms with attached bathrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles MACLIN00, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The triple room has a fantastic balcony view over the city!”
 of 5 bubbles josephmurray007, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5