The Golden Lion Hotel

The Golden Lion Hotel

View from Room 201
Traveller (331)
From Room 206
Room & Suite (130)
a corner of the restaurant
Dining (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#3 of 3 hotels in Hunstanton
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Golden Lion Hotel is a magnificent historic building. It is the oldest property in Hunstanton, and the oldest hotel in the area. The Golden Lion hotel overlooks a beautiful sandy beach, with sea views for most rooms. The hotel has recently been refurbished to the highest standards, and offers outstanding facilities. A limited number of parking spaces are available. The peace and serenity of the Hunstanton area offer wonderful opportunities for leisure travellers and lovers of the outdoors. Hiking, fishing, sailing and horse riding are all available nearby.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Internet
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Room features
Housekeeping
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English

Location

The Green, Hunstanton PE36 6BQ England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 96 out of 100
96
Norwich Airport
60.7 km
See all flights
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles887 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Golden Lion Hotel stands out for its prime beachfront location and modern, welcoming atmosphere, as reported by numerous guests. While the service has received commendations for attentiveness, some visitors have encountered inconsistencies, particularly in the restaurant. The hotel's cleanliness post-refurbishment has earned high marks, though some suggest there's room for improvement. Although the amenities are appreciated, including the dog-friendly policy, reviews indicate the hotel may not offer the best value, with criticisms focused on basic amenities and food quality relative to the price.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Mixed
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
887Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 273
  • 256
  • 143
  • 103
  • 113
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Holly1Poppy2 wrote a review Feb 2020
Norwich, Norfolk
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
If your looking for a luxury hotel this isn't it, it's budget priced and budget quality. Staff were borderline rude in as much as they could not be bothered. When we checked in, it took some time for the receptionist to even look up from her screen before she acknowledged us and muttered a "hiya". We were allocated room 208 on the top floor via 4 flights of stairs (albeit half flights) but steep nonetheless. There was no offer of help to carry our case up, but we didn't ask so there may have been help if needed. The room was huge and offered magnificent views of the green and sea. Spotlessly clean, we had single beds which were comfy and warm and the bathroom was very big with bath and shower and lashings of very hot water. Towels were thick and fluffy. Shower gel and hand wash dispensers were fixed to the wall, no other toiletries available but who uses them anyway? Plenty of tea and coffee sachets but no drinking chocolate or biscuits which surprised me. Plenty of hangers in wardrobe and three good sized drawers in dressing table. Unfortunately, no light on said dressing table so had to use main overhead light. The Windows only opened a little way (see photos) and the outside window chill needed some TCL. My main complaint was regarding the lack of ventilation in the bathroom which was right next to one of the beds. No fan installed and only one small grotty window which only open inwards about an inch as the roller blind prevented further opening. BUT, I wouldn't have wanted to open it at all as there appeared to be a resident pigeon on the outside cill and with it came a large pile of pigeon 'crap'! So unhygeinic! (See photos)
We had breakfast on our first morning, only served between 7.30 and 9.30, and we were not very impressed. At £10.95 it seemed overpriced to us and it was totally self service. On our second day we chose to have breakfast at Number 21 restaurant just a two minute stroll on the other side of the green where we were charged £6.50 for a totally superb breakfast with quality ingredients. We didn't try the evening meal as we were put off by several people we spoke to who said the food wasn't very good, we walked about 10 minutes to The Honeystone where we had an excellent meal.
It is possible to reserve a car parking place in the hotel's own private car park at the rear of the building and there is a charge of £6.50 per day, we didn't bother and was lucky enough to get a free spot directly in front of the hotel but this is 'no man's land's, and is used by anyone so it's a gamble as to whether a place is available.
Overall, our experience was ok, not sure I would go back but never say never.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: As there is no lift, request ground or first floor rooms as the stairs are steep.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Colin D wrote a review Aug 2021
Rochester, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.
The location is excellent overlooking the seafront and within easy walking distance of the centre, including the theatre, restaurants and bars.
The staff were pleasant and mostly very helpful.
Our room was a large seaview one, which was very clean, if a little tired
Our view was slightly obscured by scaffolding, but this did not spoil the view too much.
Parking is a bit limited at the hotel. Fortunately we were able to use the hotel car park for a small charge. There are public car parks fairly nearby, if required.
The food was generally good, but the set menu was a bit limited. Also the food was served on cold plates, which was not ideal. We requested gravy with one if our meals, but were told they did not have any. My wife stated that she could not believe that they did not even have any gravy granules and this prompted a change of mind and a jug of hot gravy arrived at the table.
Apart from the issues mentioned above, we enjoyed our stay and would definately stay again. A fantastic location.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Limited parking at the hotel Great location
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Giles Norwood , General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded Sep 6, 2021
Dear Colin D Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay here with us. I was delighted to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you would stay with us again. All feedback is important and I thank you for bringing your issues to my attention. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Giles
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Graham W wrote a review Jul 2021
Castleford, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second visit to the Golden Lion but things have slipped since our first visit. Admittedly we are in a pandemic but the lack of general cleaning was evident in public areas to carpets, floors etc. The food was acceptable but service tended to be a little slow owing to the obvious which was staff shortages. Restaurant staff were throughly cleaning tables when guests had moved but there was little they could have done to the chairs which had some really bad staining. The residents bar closed between 10.30 and 10.45pm every night from Friday to Sunday inclusively which was disappointing. The hotel is dog friendly which we aren’t adverse to but the amount allowed is too many. You can turn off to the occasional bark but when there are so many it got a little too much at times. I would hope that dog friendly rooms are just that and are not used for guests staying without their loved pets. We were Self Drive with Shearings/Leger and the price charged for three nights was extortion, we would not recommend booking through them as £550 per couple for what we received was extremely poor.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Giles Norwood , General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded Sep 6, 2021
Dear Graham W Firstly, I would like to apologise for the delay in replying. Secondly, I would like to apologise for not meeting your expectations during your stay here with us. All points have been noted and I thank you for bringing them to my attention. Kind regards Giles
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sandra b wrote a review Nov 2021
Cambridge, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is in an ideal location as it is positioned close to all amenities. There is plenty of parking in the hotel's car park and check in was quick and efficient. Our room and bathroom were very spacious and clean, the only niggle we had was the loud, thumping music from the restaurant below our room which started just before 8am, perhaps the speaker could be moved somewhere else in the restaurant so that the sound doesn't carry up to the room above? The menu for the evening meal was limited but the breakfast was very good, even though the plates were on the small size, everything continued to be topped up so the food was always fresh and plentiful. The hotel is quite dark and looks as though it could do with some tlc, but having said that, we had a very pleasant stay and would return to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Giles Norwood , General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded Nov 19, 2021
Hi sandra b Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay here with us. I was pleased to read you had a very pleasant stay and you would return. Your comment regarding the music has been passed on to my Food and Beverage Manager, I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused. I was pleased to read you were happy with the Breakfast, your comment regarding the limited evening meal menu has been noted. Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future. Kind regards Giles
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wolf1000s wrote a review Sep 2022
Kettering, United Kingdom
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this hotel with booking.com looked OK but it did say non refundable, upon arrival no parking was told by reception to park in the theatre pay n display, then come back after tea and spaces would be available ( didn't happen) before we arrived we had an email saying we had a room upgrade, this ended up being top floor in the roof,again very disappointed as both myself and wife have mobility issues plus an old dog that needs walking in the night, so asked for a different room. Got in found tge bed was very small no biscuits with tea facilities no bubble bath. Blood on the shower curtain dirt on the bath grab handles. Faulty non working bathroom towel rail so no way of drying towels. We complained about these things, we were told to go to boots and buy bath bubbles due to us complaining we then felt we were being singled out. The car parking they had did come at a cost per night, the breakfast was a buffet type but nothing special and basic they ran out of eggs bread & croissants daily. The staff should have been more attentative and noticed this. Dinner on 1st night was a very long wait. As we were in the bar area due to a dog not being allowed in the restaraunt they seemed to forgot we were waiting. Dinner was an hour and 20 before we were served, the menu was basic microwave stuff lasagne pies scampi etc and the fresh stuff was not available. The menu for the bar had things like Pernod and sambucca, these were also not available in fact the bar girl did not even know what this was. Is this trade misdescription? All in all a very poor place no sleep left early got no refund, won't go coast & country establishments again
Dirty cups
Dirty bathroom
Dirty fan
Unsafe towel rail
Poor menu
Poor service
Room not made up once
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Giles Norwood , General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded Oct 3, 2022
Hello Wayne, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, We are extremely saddened and hurt that you have chosen this way to air your opinions, after we feel as a team we went above and beyond to make your stay an enjoyable one. We gave you a complimentary upgrade to a Seaview, most of our guests would be totally over the moon with this upgrade, However you were not happy, We then at your request moved you to other room which was also a free upgrade but on a lower floor, as this again was your request, we invited you to look at the 2nd room before you decided whether to move and you were more than happy, You booked a standard double room but wanted a super king bed unfortunately “double room means double bed” as clearly stated on the internet, King size are in our superior rooms. So to read this review is extremely upsetting and very unkind. We are sorry to read that your dining experiences were not up to your expectations, however I can assure you that all our food is cooked fresh to order which is why you had to wait on a few occasions for your food, which again you were not happy about. We do not provide bubble bath and shower caps as we believe as a hotel this is an unnecessary use of single plastics, we do like to do our bit for our planet, However the receptionist did advise you when you complained where the nearest boots was if you which to purchase such items. You had a said mark on your shower curtain and a small spot of rust on the handrail, when you reported this to reception we changed your shower curtain to a brand new one and recleaned the bathroom again for you straight away. Unfortunately YOU booked the non-refundable rate on the internet so this was an error on your behalf not ours! It also clearly states parking is available at a cost of £6 per night and needs to be booked in advance, which again was an error on your behalf. On our drinks menu it does state that drinks items are subject to availability and may not be available at all locations so we can only assumed that YOU overlooked this information as well. Finally the staff in no way would single any of our guests out because you found the need to complain about everything as constructive feedback is most welcome as it gives us a valuable opportunity to review and address any shortcomings. We do however wish you good luck in your future travels Regards Golden lion hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris B wrote a review Feb 2022
London, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Ok, it was a Groupon deal, we visit the area regularly & when we saw it online we booked straight away.
My recent experience has been that hospitality has stepped up its game, I’m really sorry to say that this wasn’t our experience here.
I will list the problems to help others & will start with a positive - the staff were great & rooms are clean.
The hotel though was cold throughout, staff & customers had coats on inside the bar & around the hotel.
There are 2 large fires in the bar area, neither were working
Water was leaking through the windows and bedroom towels were being used to plug the gaps.
The breakfast was poor, we didn’t even bother with it on the 3rd morning. No attempt at service or explaining breakfast methods. It was buffet & I must say that scrambled egg floating in water is not an attractive sight!
The room itself had tepid (at best) water in both the shower and taps. The mirror light & extractor didn’t work in the loo. The windows didn’t shut properly. Poor hospitality tray. The corridor had an arctic breeze, the carpet was being lifted by the cold air blasts coming up through the floorboards.
The word I’d use to describe this hotel is ‘unloved’. The reason I say this is that looking through previous reviews many people have posted similar tales, especially the tepid water problems, yet nothing has changed. A previous reviewer stayed in our room (116) months ago & lists the exact same problems, in other words none of the issues had been addressed.
My complaint about the cold was addressed by reception in the form of an extra duvet & heater, however despite mentioning it every morning the water never warmed up meaning we went without a hot shower. On the last day we were offered a shower in another room but turned that down in the hope the problem would be fixed.
Outside was windy & cold, we were hoping for a cosy hotel weekend which we did not get. It’s a great location & if they are offering Groupon then it needs to be much better if they want the customers attracted by the deal to come back to them.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Park outside, they charge £6 for their car park. Bring warm clothes Don’t go by the room pictures...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Giles Norwood , General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded Mar 2, 2022
Dear K1530VDchrisb Thank you for your review and your kind comments regarding the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms, they are very much appreciated. We did indeed encounter some major issues during the recent storms, we had wind and rain coming in what felt like everywhere! With regards to the heating and hot water, with the recent cold weather the boiler has quite simply not kept up with the demand. Definitely, not a nice situation for anyone, both staff and guests to be in and I sincerely apologise for any discomfort caused. Thankfully these kind of storms are very few and far between. Your other points have been noted and will be looked looked into and I thank you for bringing them to my attention. Kind regards Giles
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John B wrote a review Jun 2021
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel have taken pains to make the area Covid safe so your room will not be cleaned or the towels or linen changed unless you request it. Sanitiser is available at the front desk and on stair landings. The staff were very pleasant and helpful although my request for an extra blanket (as it was a cold weekend) proved too difficult. Apparently these have been put away due to Covid reasons - I guess that they would need to clean them after each use if they provided one.
All in all it was a pleasant stay but the hotel experienced has definitely changed because of the pandemic so you lose the personal service that made hotels different from a self catering apartment.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Most rooms have sea views. The second floor will give a better view but there is no lift so you...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Giles Norwood , General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded Jun 13, 2021
Dear John B Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that all in all you had a pleasant stay here with us. There has certainly been some changes due to the Pandemic and we all look forward to getting back to "normal". Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again at some point in the future. Kind regards Giles
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LeicesterBethany wrote a review Jun 2022
Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles
There are some unfair negative reviews on here that are simply just not true based on our recent stay. The Golden Lion Hunstanton is a very clean 3* hotel, a listed building, right on the seafront and there are differing sized rooms at a variety of prices and you can have room only, bed and breakfast or dinner as well. The hotel although fully booked whilst we were there was quiet and peaceful with lovely friendly staff who clearly work long hours. It is worth noting also that this is a dog friendly hotel, great for those of us who want to take our dogs away for a break.
If you are looking for a break in a lovely building with character that is clean and comfortable, look no further.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Giles Norwood , General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded Jun 10, 2022
Hello LeicesterBethany, Thank you for taking the time to write a review we really do appreciate your feedback. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, its great to read that our guests appreciate the hard work that the staff do I will certainly let them know of your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon Kindest Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janis J wrote a review Aug 2022
Northampton, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had seen this hotel on our visits and thought it looked very nice and booked for the weekend. First thing we noticed on arriving at reception was how dirty the carpet was - almost black with dirt; the room was ok but the television (mounted on the wall) was the size of a laptop) which was too small for the room. The next day we arrived back at our room after a long day and the room had not been made up; on enquiring at reception was told that we had to request the room to be cleaned and should have put the card on the door to do this. Why did no-one mention this when we checked in? The buffet breakfast was over-cooked and there was no real coffee, only an urn with instant coffee which was undrinkable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Giles Norwood , General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded Sep 6, 2022
Hello Janis, Thank you for taking the time to write your view of our stay with us. I am very sorry to read that on the this occasion we appear to have fallen below the high standards we like to offer our guests. Your feedback is very important to us this enables us to review and address any shortcomings. Best wishes for your future travels. Kind regards Golden Lion Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Coaster wrote a review Apr 2022
Suffolk, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
All the staff were excellent, friendly & very helpful especially Trish ( reception) & Paula. Although due to staff absences were short of staff,

Our Seaview room on ground floor was very comfortable. The room appeared to have been recently decorated as was not tired as other reviews suggest. The bathroom was large & the towels were soft & fluffy! The bed was comfortable & good nights sleep was had!

We paid for parking on site although no disabled places so had to walk quiet a distance to front of hotel, although shown back entrance for easier access to hotel but on pebbles so hard to push Mobility Walker or wheelchair.

Bar food was ok. VERY disappointed that there was 2 restaurant menus! One was the same bar menu The other was a fuller nicer looking menu but only for those who had pre booked BB Evening meal, This was not offered at time of booking in on arrival! Luckily I could have sorbet as there was no Dairy free/Vegan ice cream which would have been disappointing for a child who can only eat dairy free!

Breakfast was disappointing not to have a choice of eggs evidently it’s only ever scrambled eggs & the tin tomatoes were chopped & not plum tomatoes!

Would stay at the hotel again due to the excellent staff Also close to the shops and sea front and will know the food & parking restrictions!
Saw a beautiful Hunstanton sunset.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Giles Norwood , General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded Apr 18, 2022
Dear Seaside06 Thank you for your review and your kind comments regarding the staff. Trish & Paula were delighted with their special mentions. All of your comments have been noted and I thank you for bringing them to my attention. Your feedback is most appreciated and I thank you for taking the time to post it. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Giles
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joy W asked a question May 2024
Ipswich, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
Does the classic double room have a sea view please? Thank you
Paul A asked a question Sep 2022
Is there a smart tv in the room ?
Answer from RognKari
Ontario, Canada55 contributions42 helpful votes
There was a smaller flatscreen TV attached to the wall (which I didn't use) but I don't believe it was a smart tv.
Answer from clare c
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
Yes,you can either phone or email the hotel-the staff are very helpful.
panda1449 wrote a tip Yesterday
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you book the parking in advance "
Read full review
Lynne M wrote a tip Jun 2024
15 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We paid extra for hotel parking...well worth it. Secure snd easy access to rooms. "
Read full review
john d wrote a tip May 2024
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There's ample onsite parking and reception give you an access code. The restaurant is superb with lots of choice and quality ingredients. "
Read full review
lyn wrote a tip May 2024
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lovely hotel in great setting . New bar area also good with views of the sea."
Read full review
Julian C wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Allow plenty of time to travel as the roads to Hunstanton are quite slow."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hunstanton area.
PRICE RANGE
C$207 - C$295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
golden lion hunstanton, golden lion hotel hunstanton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkHunstanton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Golden Lion Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Golden Lion Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Golden Lion Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hunstanton Beach (0.4 km), Hunstanton Heritage Centre (0.09 km), and Princess Theatre (0.08 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Golden Lion Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, breakfast buffet, and free internet access.
What food & drink options are available at The Golden Lion Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, complimentary tea, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Golden Lion Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Golden Lion Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Berni Beans, The Coffee Pot, and The Copper Kettle.
Is The Golden Lion Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Hunstanton.
Are there any historical sites close to The Golden Lion Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting King's Lynn, Uk (0.8 km).
Does The Golden Lion Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Hunstanton HotelsHunstanton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HunstantonHotels near The Golden Lion Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars