We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Swan Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Swan Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

599 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 598: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

we had a lovely stay here, the staff where friendly and helpful the breakfast was good and it was in a great location. the room was clean and bathroom was good, great shower, I hate these showers that trickle out! we had a lovely weekend and would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drem82
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After a wonderful stay in August, we decided we would like to return to begin the New year in the wonderful town of Southwold. Despite the late decision, we were very lucky to be able to book a room at The Swan for their black tie New Year's Eve celebration. From start to finish, the service was faultless. Beginning with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max T
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Stayed here many times before and came for new year - our anniversary. We had a great room overlooking the square and down to the sea so a wonderful view of the fireworks. Our room was comfortable but a bit tired and I felt it was expensive for what it was - have had better facilities elsewhere for a fraction...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Susanna D
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We were delighted to find a booking for the first time for the New Years Eve celebrations at The Swan. We love Southwold and and my wish was achieved. We had a two night stay and we found our room comfortable with only the ensuite in need of an update. All staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanne602015
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for a lovely review, and we are so pleased you had a great time with us at New Years! We look forward to seeing you next time.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

The Swan is a family favorite for us. Whether we stay in the cottages out back or in the main hotel, we are never disappointed. The Adnams staff are attentive and on hand, they seem to take a higher level of pride in the hotelier profession. The comfortable rooms are homely and befitting of a five star rating, the only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Hawkinge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

This is the 6th time we've stayed at The Swan, but our first three day Christmas break. We had room 9, which spacious, well appointed, with a very comfortable bed. As always, the staff were superb and treated us almost as family. I don't know any other hotel where members of staff give you a hug when you leave! An...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grahamaphillips
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a lovely review and are so pleased you had a wonderful Christmas with us. We do hope you will pop in after our refurbishment due to finish in June.

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel never fails to disappoint. Have stayed at this charming hotel in Southwold on several occasions and this is the 2nd New Year evening celebration event attended. The rooms are very comfortable and equipped with all the necessary bits and pieces. Nice touch with the Adnams bottled water. The staff are very friendly and so so helpful. The set...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JPE56
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review, we do hope you will pop in after our refurbishment due to finish in June.

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

My mum and I popping into the Swan for a quick lunch which all in all was pretty good. It was when we came to pay the bill that it all went a bit wrong. Firstly our bill had several drinks in it that we didn't have, they were eventually taken off but no apology was given, it was customers...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Spencer B
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Went to The Swann for an evening meal with friends. We had a lovely relaxing evening with a lovely meal. The waiters were excellent they couldn't of been more helpful if they tried. Thank you to all the staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank norfolk621
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review, we do hope you will pop in after our major refurbishment due to finish in June.

Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Stayed here for one night with work colleagues as part of a wider visit, which included brewery, distillery and lighthouse. Parking is currently a little tight but being addressed. Reception staff welcoming. Rooms are very large and well equipped. Had afternoon tea as our lunch which offered both quality and quantity, fruit scones as big as a fist!!! We simply...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and hope you had a lovely time in Southwold. The Swan is undergoing a major refurbishment in January.

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.1 km away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
365 reviews
1.5 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
307 reviews
0.6 km away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
614 reviews
20.5 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
939 reviews
19.7 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Swan Hotel Restaurant - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
The Swan Hotel Restaurant - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Cuisines: British, Contemporary, Pub, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swan is currently closed for an exciting refurbishment. Reopening Summer 2017. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Address: Market Place, Southwold IP18 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Price Range: $358 - $1,651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Swan Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Southwold
Swan Hotel Southwold
Hotel Southwold Swan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a view of the town, choose one of the more expensive rooms at the front. Great to watch the comings and goings.”
 of 5 bubbles SusannaD854, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Always go for at least a superior room and be aware there are stairs to climb, although there is a lift”
 of 5 bubbles grahamaphillips, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a back room but it was just fine, very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles nono323, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I loved the garden room”
 of 5 bubbles ALs888, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Superior lighthouse rooms are spacious and peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles LaurieP766, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5