We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant

TravelocityUS$166*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

768 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 767: English reviews
Norfolk
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We have just returned from a night in Southwold at Sutherland House. We have eaten in the restaurant a number of times before but this was the first time we stayed. We were in the Earl of Sandwich room. The character is fantastic and the bathroom was amazing with a huge freestanding rolltop bath playing centre stage. The host was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank colbrown
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, it was lovely to read you felt it was special here, hope to see you again soon

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2014

You can't do better in Southwold than Sutherland House. The rooms are spaciously comfortable yet quirky enough in their 15thCentury character to appeal to those who don't like cookie-cutter hotel rooms. History is in the floor boards of this characterful place and I urge those with a discerning palate to take a sea side trip to soak up the atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlondeByChoice
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

What a lovely thing to say ! so pleased we made you feel so welcome here, I am sure you will be back to feel part of our little family again soon x

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a short break in Southwold and had the pleasure of staying at the Sutherland House Hotel in the Sutherland suite. The welcome on arrival was warm and friendly and we were quickly shown to our room which spanned the top of the house. The room was spotlessly clean and beautifully laid out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnywood
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review and I am pleased to read you will be returning to us soon.

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Firstly, I was shocked to read the few bad reviews on TA about Sutherland House. The Earl of Sandwich room is spacious, very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Solid furniture, very comfortable and large bed and a luxurious bathroom to pad around in certainly makes for an unwinding break. The staff were very welcoming and totally unpretentious-which is a refreshing change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cbaston177
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, it was so nice to read that you really got what we are trying to achieve here. Hope to see you here again soon

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2014

A lovely "hotel", but could be so much better! Mine host was very welcoming, as were the staff. The room (The Earl of Sandwich) is a little tired and in need of a makeover: secondary double glazing, new curtains for starters. It would be easy to nit-pick, but there were some obvious things that could be done straight-away such as...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear guest, We did thank you for bringing to our attention that the toilet roll holder was loose when you mentioned it upon your check out, it was replaced the very same day and the tooth brush holder was tightened also, I am sorry if these minor points spoiled your stay. I am sorry you felt the bath was too...

BEDFORD
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We had a lovely time and will definitely be back. Especially enjoyed the location - in the centre of town, walking distance from lovely pubs and the sea - and excited to see a working vintage cinema just around the corner - something special to come back to. We enjoyed the sound of the seagulls in the morning, the 12...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antonia I
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I think you have really captured the spirit of what if means to stay at Sutherland house in your review. hope to see you here again

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I was so excited about our two night break at this hotel.. The whole place is very tired, worn furnishings,uncomfortable bed, furniture you wouldn't give house room, dirty kettle and tea pot in the room, spiders web with eggs in on the wall by the dining table. The food is average and certainly not 5 star AA rated. I think...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Louise2965
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at Sutherland House; I do remember that during your brief stay here we did have some rather rowdy guests staying in the room above that were in Southwold for a stag weekend, not the typical guest I must admit and as a result...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Following on with all the other reviews, The hotel is so different from other places, One very proud owners in Andy and Kinga, they value people in a real way with service and quality to match.Here you have a hotel with style that you will not i believe find anywhere.The Duke of York room is a must with all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NickM M
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am so pleased to read that you had a lovely time staying here, I know i speak for all of the hard working staff when I say it was a pleasure to look after such lovely guests, I am sure we will be seeing you again soon

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I've included a separate review of the excellent The Duke of York Suite, and apart from the unbeatable location, my remaining superlatives must be shared between the restaurant, and the delightful Andy and Kinga who run the place with effortless style and efficiency. After the first few minutes we already felt we were among friends, and friends who really know...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Smpopple
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Steve & Lesley Thank you so much for your kind words, it is lovely when our guests appreciate what we try to do here. I am sure we will be seeing you again soon and I will have some of that desert wine ready for you

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a fantastic weekend break at Sutherland House. The accommodation, food and staff were really great and having stayed at many of the hotels in Southwold I would rate this as one of the best for quality, customer service and a lovely relaxing environment. Thank you, we look forward to returning.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicola C
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

I am pleased to read you had a lovely weekend with us and in particular you found us to offer excellent customer service. Nice to see you will be coming back to us, do remember by booking with us directly you’ll be sure to receive the best available rates and special offers.

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
1.3 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
316 reviews
0.1 km away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
377 reviews
0.4 km away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
598 reviews
20.6 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
959 reviews
6.4 km away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A boutique hotel set in a medieval building in the beautiful seaside town of Southwold. Included in THE TIMES; 30 coolest hotels on the coast. April 2016 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 56 High Street, Southwold IP18 6DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Price Range: $155 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland House Hotel And Restaurant
Sutherland Hotel Southwold
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Essex, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Cambridge, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay extra for a larger room.”
922ColinP, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Suite is lovely especially if you want to have a separate room to sit and watch tv, etc. But all the rooms are fantastic!”
ClareSimpson24, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Earl of Sandwich room is lovely however you can hear the occupants walking around - creaking floorboards! Not a problem though.”
687rebeccam, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Duke of York room was very spacious”
sac0e, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Garden Room has its own small private courtyard with seating”
LeithBeth, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$166* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$166
Hotels.comUS$166
Orbitz.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates