We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 317: English reviews
Fareham, Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

For the budget price, the room was modern and clean, and relatively large which was a bonus. All fixtures and fitting looked fairly new, and everywhere had a fresh smell. The bathroom was very modern and well stocked with shower gel and towels etc. The restaurant was small but the food was very good and the staff were excellent (very... More 

Helpful?
Thank 598David
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Easy to find and parking is good, friendly and helpful staff especially Emma on Reception, room was clean and tidy and restaurant very welcoming. we used the bar and it was a comfortable place to sit. The food in the restaurant was good, about average price for a hotel of this size.

Helpful?
Thank stephenhodges70
Ollerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I stayed at the best western for one night as I had a business meeting the following day and living in Nottinghamshire it was easier to stay over. I arrived on Sunday at around 12.30 check in was not until 3.00 which was fine. There was just one gentleman on the front desk after checking in I went to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cfc1978
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

The room was good, big tv, clean, well decorated and lovely shower. The rest of the hotel was clean and well decorated good food and friendly staff all in all it's a good place. My only quibble is the king bed was 2 singles put together with 2 single duvets zipped together and a king duvet cover over the top,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan M
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel comfy beds nice room,The staff in the hotel were excellent could not do enough for you especially in the restuarant,We had an evening meal which was fine all in all a niceplace to stay would recommend it for short stays ,

Helpful?
Thank Masher R
Broadstairs, Kent , England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Having stayed in Best Western before for business I was feeling at ease at placing my booking. Unfortunately this wasn't up to the standard of others. Some of the staff were very pleasant and friendly, some were not. The walls were stained and dirty in the room. The constant banging of doors was a constant unfortunate noise. They had an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lady_doodle3
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Good location just a short walk from the high street etc. Nicely presented bar & restaurant areas, friendly helpful front desk. Competent, polite bar & waiting staff. Good buffet style breakfast full English & continental selections. Expect around £100 a night for a family room with breakfast. Free parking.

Helpful?
Thank steveandsuzie
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed overnight here as my cousins 30th was just down the road. From the outside the hotel doesn't look the best, more like an old people's home but don't let that put you off. Checking in was nice and the reception was welcoming. The hotel looks to have had a lot of money spent on the inside: the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scott S
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Had to book a suite as no standard rooms available. Hottest day of the year and the suite has no air conditioning. Staff provided a small fan. The king bed is two singles pushed together. Attitude of manager is awful. Value for money poor. Avoid.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
D W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Keech Thank you for taking the time to complete a Tripadvisor review. We do not advertise the Duplex Suites as having Air Conditioning. The size of the bed is in fact a Super King Size Bed and made up of 2 beds zip-link together. Which are designed for hotels and usually we get compliments on such. Whilst I... More 

Travellers are raving about these Chelmsford hotels

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
0.8 km away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 13 in Chelmsford
381 reviews
6.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 13 in Chelmsford
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
361 reviews
1.1 km away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
3.4 km away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Check in to Chelmsford! The Atlantic Hotel is a modern, stylish place to stay. Comfortable accommodation comes as standard here, with spacious, attractive rooms offering full en-suite facilities just minutes from the town centre. Easily accessible by train and car, the Atlantic Hotel is also close to the Cathedral and University, while London can be reached with the minimum of fuss. You'll enjoy privacy as well as convenience here, and our staff will do everything in their power to make you comfortable. Speaking of comfort, our three feature New York' apartment suites offer something a little different for those who choose to stay in one. Pop Art in our corridors completes the contemporary look and feel in this relaxing hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel

Address: New Street, Chelmsford CM1 1PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Price Range: $104 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chelmsford
Chelmsford Best Western
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel Chelmsford, UK - Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Worcester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
herts
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“first floor away from the central bit...and at the end of either wing during the christmas party season!!”
 of 5 bubbles JAG190willow, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ground floor was fine”
 of 5 bubbles martinfjlewis, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room on 1st floor seemed ideal as away from bar area.”
 of 5 bubbles stephenhodges70, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms were good just don't have the breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles 658gaily, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in room 359 and it was amazing, so try that room”
 of 5 bubbles helenadennis2016, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay