We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

604 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 601: English reviews
Start your review of Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
 Click to rate
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This week I stayed at the Premier inn Springfields Chelmsford. Now normally i really rate Premier Inn but on this occasion i was not impressed, on arrival the hotel looks tired and in need of a paint job, it was also cold in the room with the heating not working, the food in the restaurant was not great either. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frazer W
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The overall impression of this hotel, where we have stayed on 2-3 occasions before, was VERY shabby, and looking more "tired" than on previous visits. The carpets, communal passageways are dingy, there are coffee stains on the staircase that were certainly not cleaned during our 2 night stay. The doors look cheap and unfinished, the simple spring locks very flimsy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max R
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Max, Thank you for taking the time to review our Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience staying with us as it was not up to the standards you were expecting. We aim to ensure every stay is perfect and so I apologise we let you down on this occasion. Apologies that...

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jignesh P
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoe L
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I had wonderful weekend whilst attending a relatives 60th birthday party celebrated in the area. The hotel and staff made us welcome and were always willing to look after us. The food was exactly what we would have prepared at home for ourselves but without the effort. I was so impressed that I would want to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vik1947
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found that the staff were friendly and efficient, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable, and we had a very good breakfast. What more could you want? We shall definitely stay there again when we next visit Chelmsford.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good service and nice staff. Peaceful nights sleep. The dinner was good quality and breakfast very good. A good nights sleep so a good experience. The location close to the A 12 is very good and full service facilities available

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 204malcolmd
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean, free parking, excellent food and central for Chelmsford nothing too much trouble. we liked the central location, although some of the rooms were near to the road and there was traffic noise of a night but if you are really tired it would not disturb your sleep. Tea and coffee facilities in the room, hairdryer, and clean towels, changed...

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gnomeaway
Warminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overnight stay was comfortable. Room clean and layout as expected. Decent size bath for those who prefer it and shower over bath perfectly adequate. Purchased the meal deal and it was money well spent. Friendly staff and good food for the price. Although close to a major road, traffic noise wasn't a problem. Would use again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having stayed at a Premier Inn before and found it clean and comfortable, I was very disappointed at this visit. The room was musty smelling and it could definitely do with some updating. On the positive every member of staff we encountered were very friendly and very helpful. Wish the room was as good as the staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V8496QVsaraha

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
3.9 km away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
4.3 km away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Ivy Hill Hotel
Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
353 reviews
5.3 km away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
387 reviews
3.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 12 in Chelmsford
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If a loved one is getting married at a venue nearby, or you'd just love to explore this corner of the South East, Premier Inn Hotel Chelmsford Springfield is the ideal spot. There are plenty of stunning wedding venues like Boreham House and Leez Priory nearby, and we're very well connected with good transport links too. Have an engagement with first class cricket at Essex County Cricket Ground. Or ring the changes with a fantastic weekend at the nearby V Festival. Say 'I do' to some great shopping and eating out, then come back to the hotel for a meal in our restaurant, with a lovely marriage of traditional and contemporary food, and finally a night in a comfy bed. Directions: Located on A12 J19, Chelmsford Bypass, signposted Chelmsford Service Area. Transport and local information: City Centre Shopping Essex County Cricket Ground Hylands House Historic Site & Events Chelmsford Train Station 3 miles Stansted Airport 15 miles ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel

Address: Colchester Road | Chelmsford Service Area, Springfield, Chelmsford CM2 5PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Price Range: $90 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel Chelmsford
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel UK - Essex
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chelmsford
#5 Business Hotel in Chelmsford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If stopping here do not have the rooms near the train line”
FrazerW451, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I am sure that all the rooms must be good as the hotel is so well designed and maintained.”
Vik1947, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“you will get good sleep in all rooms as all of the rooms are insulated”
Patryk35, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Road noise if you overlook the road (dual carriageway) & have the window open”
835louisef, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be in a room away from the car park/road”
Shruggy, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5