We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,443 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,434: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I came with the women from my church for a conference. Being from London, it is a beautiful location. The hotel is nicely decorated and the amenities are good. Food is nice and the staff are helpful. Overall I had a great stay and look forward to coming back next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANE1986
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel was very nice and reception staff were great. A few things that were an issue. 1. The bed matress need to be changed, me and my wife had back pain. 2. They need to change the duvets in the hotel. 3. The management of the b'fast towards the end seemed to be a bit manic, they should know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Komal Y
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

One of those stays where it was one thing after another....and not good things unfortunately. Came away with the girlfriend for a couple of days over Valentines. I had put comments on my reservation to have something done in the room to surprise the other half. I had a call from a lady, don't remember her name unfortunately, a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesLackford
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

It is disappointing to read your review following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes. Certainly, some of the issues should not have occurred in the first place and please accept our belated but sincere apologies that we did not entirely meet your expectations on this occasion on several levels. However, I was pleased that we were...

Dagenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Crown Plaza during the Christmas period and I must say it was a good break from the busy life we have in London, nice and quiet, it was indeed worth it. The only issue was the restaurant food that was £75 per person (Christmas Lunch) which was a little too high, so we ended up going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hi2u2
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay to stay at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes over the Christmas period and I am pleased that you found your stay to be relaxing. I note that instead of dining in the restaurant for Christmas lunch you enjoyed a great meal in Bar Lacu instead. Thank you for recommending us to others...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The customer spaces were clean overall and staff attentive. There were six of use and the choice of food was a bit old fashioned but well cooked and presented. The syle of the the place was a bit pretentious for me but would give it another try.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steven s
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes as your hotel of choice for your recent visit. We take on board your feedback regarding your dining experience but happy that overall it was enjoyable for you. We are also pleased that you found the public areas and our team to be welcoming and helpful. We hope to...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My Partner and I arrived late Saturday evening (and I was very pleased to spot an owl on our drive to the room!) the bed was absolutely huge and we were very comfortable there, although no robes or slippers had been arranged as expected. I'd been looking forward to a long, relaxing day in the spa but found myself escaping...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leila W
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Yet another great night at the Lacu bar. The staff are always friendly and a special mention to Sophie who always has a smile on her face and a tale to tell. We would also like to mention Declan.... Set in the most beautiful landscape Essex has to offer this place really is like no other hotel we have stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Go D
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting such a delightful review on Trip Advisor. It is fantastic to know that your experience at the hotel is always such an enjoyable one, with Sophie and Declan enhancing your evening in Bar Lacu. I do hope that we can continue to look forward to welcoming you back Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five...

Norwich
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked a spa break which included a overnight stay ,lunch on arrival and a evening meal. First impressions of the hotel were good efficient staff on the desk room was ready before the time should have been so all god there. We then went though for lunch which was excellent lots of variety really impressed. We then used the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Agbhol14
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent Spa Break to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes. Having taken on board your feedback, I can see that overall your experience was a positive one for you; although I am conscious of some negatives in your posting, where we did not entirely meet your expectations. Going forward; I have ensured that the...

Findon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First class location, very clean outside and out, and friendly staff, the food was excellent, our friend had wanted to go there for ages, nut thought it was to expensive, but after having his lunch he agreed it was very much in his price range ( he can be a little bit frugal) thanks to all the staff, he won't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roy_clough46
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive comments following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes to enjoy a special birthday lunch with your friend to celebrate a wonderful 92 years. It is fantastic to know that your overall experience was perfect for you both and you had a memorable and enjoyable time together. Please do return...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel as a birthday treat for my daughter. On arrival we were met by a very pleasant and helpful member of the reception staff. We had booked a village room but had been allocated a room in the main hotel. The member of staff looked surprised when we raised this, but it was clearly stated on our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and it is appreciated that you have taken the time to share your candid feedback with us. I would like to offer our belated but sincere apologies that you felt your overall dining experience was such a disappointment to you. The comprehensive detail you have...

441 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (337)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (177)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (104)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tolleshunt Knights
8.1 km away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
500 reviews
10.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
28.1 km away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 km away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
371 reviews
14.5 km away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
593 reviews
12.0 km away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Five Lakes Hotel, Golf, Country Club and Spa is a 4 star hotel offering some of the finest and most extensive health, leisure and sports facilities in the area. Set in 320 acres the 194 en-suite bedrooms overlook the attractive countryside and each is spacious and comfortably furnished. There is a choice of restaurants and bars. Leisure facilities include a luxury spa, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and well-equipped gym. Golfers will enjoy the two 18-hole courses. Only an hour from London, and Stansted Airport, the hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Address: Colchester Road, Tolleshunt Knights CM9 8HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Tolleshunt Knights
Price Range: $127 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG and Expedia so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes Hotel Tolleshunt Knights
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester 5 Lakes
Five Lakes Hotel Country
Five Lakes Resort Country
Five Lakes Hotel Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Village rooms are quiet and spacious but far away from everything.”
 of 5 bubbles JamesLackford, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“overlooking the countryside.”
 of 5 bubbles Dormouse39, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“They do adjoining rooms, if going with family it's ideal,”
 of 5 bubbles 394ruthj, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book in advance for best price and ask for a room at end of the wing.”
 of 5 bubbles colinrgreen54, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the main hotel on high floor”
 of 5 bubbles 894JohnL, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5