We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Muthu Westcliff Hotel

Save
Share
18-20 Westcliff Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7QW England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$90
View deal
Booking.com
US$84
View deal
TravelocityUS$90
eDreamsUS$84
getaroom.comUS$125
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (366)
Room & Suite (92)
Dining (30)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20-07-14 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Updated 20-07-14 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 5 hotels in Westcliff-on-Sea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This grand, Victorian hotel is close to the seafront with spectacular views overlooking the Thames Estuary. It has recently undergone a refurbishment and now provides individually decorated rooms with a brasserie restaurant serving international cuisine. The stylish and modern rooms offer satellite TV and private bathrooms with toiletries. There are tea/coffee making facilities for guests, as well as hairdryers and an iron and ironing board. Some rooms also boast views over the Thames Estuary. Free on street parking is available for guests, while Adventure Island theme park and Southend's pier; the longest in the world, are both 10 minutes' walk away. The Cliffs Pavilion music venue is a 2-minute walk, and The Royals Shopping Centre is 10 minutes' walk. There are 2 Rail Stations within 0.5 Miles distance.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Hungarian and 5 more
947Reviews35Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 269
  • 308
  • 211
  • 85
  • 74
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
patricia503790 wrote a review Jan. 26
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom25 contributions54 helpful votes
+1
We have been here a few times before on one occasion we did complain as the food was not as fresh as it could of been. But as you get a sea view it’s it’s a nice place to eat when booking I always have it wrote down I am allergic to tuna fish. Well we get there the tea comes out and there is tuna fish I explain to the waitress it’s wrote down she said well they did not pass it on. So we get well what do you want very sharp with me I said not ham as we looked and it was all fat so cheese and pickle will do. The cheese and pickle sandwiches come out or should I say pickle sandwich there is next to no cheese in it just pickle. So I had to go and find her showed her the sandwiches she said what do you want then a block of cheese she was really annoyed with me I asked her could you get a small bowl of cheese so we could put it in the sandwich she did get it but was not happy about it. Then went to pour the tea out and the cup has a big chip out of it the scones were stale I won’t even mention the so called cakes. We left I did take photos and sent it to the manager. She was shocked and said if we are passing go in for a glass of Prosecco hoping I can post the photos we don’t want a free drink thank you but I do hope in future there more carful when there told peoples allergy’s
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Westcliff Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest we are deeply disappointed to read this review - it is my understanding that the management team have been in touch with you and apologized for what clearly was not our usual standard or service, to assure you that we take this matter very seriously the person responsible is no longer an employee of the hotel. I trust that this will help to restore good faith, and you will give us a chance to show you again that, as you can see by the review Best afternoon tea, this is not what you do.
Read more
Anna P wrote a review Jan. 16
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom23 contributions4 helpful votes
We had afternoon tea in the conservatory. Lovely sunny views over the estuary with the setting sun. Best selection of goodies and copious tea and coffee. Thank you to Melanie and Shelley. We'll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Westcliff Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest thank you for your great review 5/5 we appreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing you again soon
Read more
Route1609 wrote a review Dec. 2021
London, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Room was very basic and small, in need of renovation. Hole in the bathroom door, and lights didn’t work very well, but as only staying one night just grinned and bared it. When checking out, receptionist said I was put in the wrong room and I said the room was rubbish. She said the one that I was supposed to be in was worse. The room was not good value for money. The hotel from outside and ground floor was nice, which led me to believe that the rooms would be lovely too. This was arranged for partner’s birthday and was not impressed. I would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Westcliff Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Responded Dec. 6, 2021
Dear Guest We are sadden to read that your stay with us did not go as you or I would have expected it to. We do have rooms that are small - petite doubles - these room category is idea for the lone traveler or those on a tight budget.
Read more
xmasdream2013 wrote a review Dec. 2021
Wickford, United Kingdom28 contributions30 helpful votes
We booked this hotel as we have used hotel from this company in other parts of the country and was impressed with them. When we arrived there was some confusion about the parking at the hotel due to the fact there is not a car park there. But download the app and it was easy to do and paid £6.00 to park there for 24 hours. Which we thought was good as had paid that to use the cliffs car park. The hotel room was amazing view look out to the sea and had all the facilities we needed. Clean and well decorated and a great base for going to the theatre. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty to eat and a good choice. I would use this hotel again as within walking distance of the theatre and good local.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Westcliff Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Responded Dec. 5, 2021
Dear Guest thank you for your great review we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the theatre
Read more
Susanne H wrote a review Nov. 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Worst room I ever experienced in my life at that pricing level. Room urgently needs renovation. Bath room door did not close, heating was kaputt, windows were blinded because view was so bad, one window did not remain open, wifi was incroyably unstable. Will never again spend any time in any location of Muthu.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Westcliff Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Responded Dec. 3, 2021
Dear Guest we note your comments and are disappointed that you used this forum to let us know about your stay, didn't inform the reception team or contact the manager, so we were unable to address your issues or offer you a different room.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$62 - US$153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
westcliff hotel on sea
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEssexSouthend-on-SeaWestcliff-on-Sea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Muthu Westcliff Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cliffs Pavilion Theatre (0.2 km), Genting Casino (0.2 km), and Westcliff Beach (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Muthu Westcliff Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Muthu Westcliff Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Muthu Westcliff Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oliver's On The Beach, Flying Pasta, and Piccolo Italian Restaurant.
Does Muthu Westcliff Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Muthu Westcliff Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Polish, Indonesian, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Muthu Westcliff Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hadleigh Castle (6.4 km), Prittlewell Priory (2.1 km), and Southchurch Hall (2.0 km).
Does Muthu Westcliff Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.