We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
18-20 Westcliff Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7QW England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
US$62
View deal
Agoda.com
US$50
View deal
Hotels.comUS$62
TravelocityUS$62
travelup.comUS$73
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (376)
Room & Suite (94)
Dining (31)

About

#2 of 5 hotels in Westcliff-on-Sea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Built-in 1891, Muthu Westcliff Hotel is positioned overlooking the picturesque Cliff Gardens and benefiting from spectacular views over the Thames Estuary. It is perfectly situated for all the major local attractions in this vibrant seaside town. It is surely one of the most ideal amongst the Southend on Sea and Essex Hotels. Muthu Westcliff Hotel with 55 total rooms is a superb venue for weddings, celebrations and special events. It has played host to a number of celebs over the years. Our executive suite "The Estuary", has many unique features including an en-suite shower and Jacuzzi bath, two balconies overlooking the sea, and a separate lounge area with television. Muthu Westcliff Hotel is licensed for Wedding ceremonies and has two main banqueting Suites the Windsor & Savoy. Our bridal suites, many with en-suite Jacuzzi and stunning sea views, are perfect for any special occasion. The Hotel is also an ideal location for any family celebrations – anniversaries, birthdays, also Christmas parties, and murder mystery nights. We also have a large corporate clientele that uses our conference facilities. We have two function & three syndicate rooms: Milton, Thorpe & Crowstone, that cater for 2 to 225 delegates. We can offer these rooms on a room hire or delegate rates basis. Muthu Westcliff Hotel is the ideal conference venue close to the Southend town centre and three ‘mainline to London’ railway stations. For your conference and meeting requirements, there are choices of five different suites, accommodating from as few as 2 right up to 225 delegates. To ensure all your needs are met we have a dedicated and fully trained professional conference team. " There is a council charge for parking of 6 £ this is only payable through a MOBON app - it is advised by the hotel that this app is downloaded and details entered before arrival to have a quick and smooth check-in" Group Booking Policy: Any booking of more than 5 rooms will require a 100% payment at the time of creation, which would be non-refundable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Hungarian and 5 more
987Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 278
  • 312
  • 220
  • 97
  • 80
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Alison H wrote a review Jan. 2023
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom60 contributions231 helpful votes
What was supposed to be a relaxing weekend started off as very stressful indeed as neither of the receptionists knew what the parking rules were so despite having downloaded the parking app before we left home, on arrival, when we queried why we could only pay until 6pm we were told there was an error on the app but not to worry, if we got a ticket we could claim a refund as a member of staff had done recently. After an hour of driving around trying to find where we could park, even asking a traffic warden who was only on 'transmit mode' and kept repeating it was the hotel we needed to speak to and they must have given us an incorrect code, we parked up outside the hotel where we'd first parked and paid for the parking to 6pm despite being told by the hotel it was to 9pm and as there was a show on at the Cliffs there would be traffic wardens about. We weren't offered the option to book breakfast on check in and so decided having read the mixed reviews to not bother and would go out the next day and get something in Southend. The triple room we booked was very comfortable and once we'd put the heating on, soon warmed up. There were plenty of amenities in the room - the only thing missing were glasses - but there were coffee mugs. The location is perfect for The Cliffs Theatre and there are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. The whole experience though could have been much better and less stressful if we'd been given correct information on the parking. At 6pm we got a reminder our parking was due to run out and we then booked the next 24 hours. Fortunately we didn't listen to the receptionist who told us we didn't need to worry about parking until 11am the next day. There was a wedding fayre on at the weekend - let's hope anyone booking a wedding there ensures their guests come by train or they get better information on the parking than we did - otherwise they could miss the wedding whilst driving around trying to find where / how to park!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Westcliff Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest the parking situation was not caused by the Hotel, I have been in contact with the Council, the Mobon App has been changed without their consent and a full investigation is underway. The information given by the hotel was correct, any discrepancies need to the taken up with Mobon and Southend Borough Council - some of our guests where issued parking tickets despite paying, these have all now been cancelled. All our wedding guests are fully informed of the how and where to park, this was an unnecessary comment
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Baz D wrote a review Jan. 2023
Harlow, England, United Kingdom46 contributions52 helpful votes
Location was great for visiting the Cliffs Pavilion. Literally two minute walk. Room was clean and spacious. But..... Bar was poorly stocked. No beers on tap, empty barrels. Barman was very apologetic, nice guy. Breakfast was a shambles. Guy was unable to communicate what the process was. Buffet bar was empty, we sat bemused until he just brought out the full English. Raw sausages, bacon with white clots on them. Toast saved the day. Shake up the bar and the breakfast and this hotel could be great.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Westcliff Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest thank you for your review we note your comments and will act accordingly - however I would like to point out that the "Guy" you mentioned in your critique is Autistic, and can on occasion find it difficult to communicate - we are trying to build his confidence and eye contact - I'm sure you will see a difference upon your return.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sue e wrote a review Jan. 2023
Harlow, United Kingdom18 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here for the location of the Casino. Our room was quite cold but the plug in radiator soon warmed it up. Comfortable beds, lovely jacuzzi bath with toiletries provided and fluffy towells. The building is quite big and areas do need a bit of attention, overall it was a one night stay which we enjoyed. Breakfast was buffett style and quite honestly one of the best breakfasts ive had in a hotel. Hot food, plenty of choice, lots of juices as well as tea and coffee and good quality ingredients. I would definitely stay here again as the location was good for shopping etc and a short walk down a steep hill for the casino- harder coming up but it was funny as it was icy! Lots of giggles. Parking was easy enough as well. Hopefully we'll be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Westcliff Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest thank you very much for your positive review - we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and your stay with us, we very much appreciate the time taken and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adam K wrote a review Jan. 2023
My partner treated me to afternoon tea for my birthday and we had a wonderful experience. The quality and taste of the food was exceptional and the staff were very attentive and friendly. Melanie made our visit very relaxed and comfortable. We will definitely be back again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Westcliff Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest thank you for your lovely positive review we really appreciate the time taken we look forward to seeing you again soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terrie L wrote a review Jan. 2023
5 contributions
Was a bit worried after booking the hotel and then seeing the reviews… Check in was really quick and easy, room was very spacious and clean. Bathroom has been recently renovated to a high modern standard.Lots of space in the common area with a well stocked bar and some vintage whiskey selection which we really enjoyed. Overall a really good experience for me and my family, definitely a 3 star plus establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Westcliff Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest thank you your taking the time to write a positive review we very much appreciate it at this time as the hospitality industry is very challenging at the moment and our staff work very hard to keep our guests happy and I'm please to see we are achieving this. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EssexDavidos wrote a review Dec. 2022
Brentwood, United Kingdom229 contributions153 helpful votes
Afternoon tea let down Bitterly disappointing attempt to use buy a gift experience. Prebooked but when we arrived we were told they did not have our booking. When I pointed out it was in the diary for as I could see it we were asked to wait. 10 minutes later when we’d paid the £6 parking suggested by the hotel we were told the cakes were frozen so needed an hour to thaw. This was not what we were expecting and hence at 2pm a rather hungry couple went elsewhere to eat. I would not recommend booking here. Judging by the lack of other guests this may be echoed by others. Poor response when requesting a refund for parking Thankfully buyagift have been much more helpful
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid unless checking the food has been removed from the freezer
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Westcliff Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Responded Dec. 14, 2022
Dear Guest We are disappointed that you chose to write a review on TripAdvisor especially as you did not experience the afternoon Tea. We did apologise offer you a different date, but were unable at such short notice to provide the service we would usually offer. We have contacted BAG, so that the voucher can be used elsewhere.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lexiigill wrote a review Nov. 2022
Wales, United Kingdom
i have trouble with sleeping and the staff there was so friendly, one in particular sure his name was sean not 100% sure, didn’t get to thank him properly for being so kind, so thank you. very clean rooms and bathrooms -lex
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Westcliff Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Responded Nov. 24, 2022
Dear Guest Thank you so much for the 5 star review I will pass on you comments to Sean - we look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra wrote a review Nov. 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
We booked 2 nights @The Westcliffe Hotel 10th and 11th November 22. We were disappointed with our room the window was dirty, the toilet had stains, The bathroom floor had not been cleaned for a while as the wad dirt all around the edges. The room was tired. We only stayed one night.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Westcliff Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Responded Nov. 14, 2022
Dear Guest we are disappointed to read this review and to only find out there was a problem on this platform. The room you stayed in is not dirty, the window is blown, and has some condensation in it. There is a small limescale mark in the toilet bowl but his needs to be removed with acid cleaner the rest of the bathroom is clean it just needs updating. According to our records you stayed two nights? Its a shame you didn't give us the opportunity to change your room or address this issue whilst you was in the hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Morganbaz wrote a review Nov. 2022
East Molesey, United Kingdom334 contributions180 helpful votes
A disgrace to the hospitality business and should not be permitted to trade. I would discourage everybody from going there. The lavatory in our so-called suite was disgusting, largely becasuse there was no toilet brush, the wardobe was next to useless and the lift had been left broken for several weeks; our room was on the top floor. Great.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't bother. Get better accommodation in a Travel Lodge.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Westcliff Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Responded Nov. 7, 2022
Dear Guest we are disappointed to read this review but it is factually incorrect - the lift, is never out of action for long, the engineer responses as soon as called, whilst I appreciate there is an inconvenice caused by this, we do address this issue immediately, and the lift is up and running the same day. We do not offer toilet brushes in our toilets - there not hygienic, and if you required your toilet to have an additional clean our housekeeping team would have done this for you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leesa wrote a review Nov. 2022
London, United Kingdom89 contributions30 helpful votes
We stayed on a 2-night break voucher, B&B both nights and dinner on the first night. The sea view from our room (4th floor) was great! The room was warm (and there was a spare plug-in heater and fan in the wardrobe in case you needed it), and the bed comfortable enough (we just had to make sure the bed bases were pushed together to avoid a dip in the middle). The shower was hot and easily adjusted, but the pressure wasn’t great. Breakfast was hot and plentiful. We took advice from other reviewers and put bread in the toaster as soon as we arrived for breakfast. The fried eggs had runny yolks which I think is perfect! The restaurant staff were very hard-working. We were under the impression from the website that the restaurant also served as a tapas bar, but the dinner menu was mainly British pub-type food (steak, fish and chips, etc). It was great to have a lobby bar in the hotel. The staff member serving there worked really hard. Unfortunately we couldn’t have cocktails as he said he was new and hadn’t had the training yet. If you wish to charge anything to your room, make sure you pre-authorise a payment card at reception when you check in. We weren’t aware of this option, so for us it was pay-as-you-go in the bar/restaurant. The hotel decor, especially in the public areas, was good - perhaps had been updated recently. The toilets in the lobby area were clean and the seats in the bar were comfy. With such an old building it must be difficult for the owners to reduce sound transmission between rooms. Unfortunately our neighbours were deep in conversation at 3am on our second night, so we didn’t have a restful night. Not the hotel’s fault at all, just worth bringing earplugs if you’re a light sleeper. The lift (still) wasn’t working - but that may have been a blessing for us as our room was close to the lift and so it could’ve been noisy with people coming/going up and down. Despite the no drugs/smoking signs/notices in the hotel and rooms, we noticed an unpleasant smell on the 2nd/3rd floors when going up/down the stairs, which was particularly strong on the 2nd floor on the day we checked out. Again, not the hotel’s fault and it must be frustrating for them/the staff if it keeps happening (given the notices in the room). We had an OK weekend, but probably wouldn’t return to this hotel if we go to Southend again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Room on the top floor as the floors are creaky. Take earplugs if you’re a light sleeper....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager Westcliff Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Responded Nov. 7, 2022
Dear Guest thank you for your informative review. We did on the day you stay have a guest in a room that brought a illegal substance into the hotel Once detected he was asked to leave, unfortunately this does leave a lingering smell and whilst our housekeeping team spray the area as best they can, it is very frustrating that guests can be so inconsiderate to others and this has a direct impact on our business, as we cant use that room until the odour has gone.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$76 - US$103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
westcliff hotel on sea
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEssexSouthend-on-SeaWestcliff-on-Sea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Muthu Westcliff Hotel - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Westcliff-on-Sea, Essex) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Muthu Westcliff Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cliffs Pavilion Theatre (0.2 km), Westcliff Beach (0.2 km), and Genting Casino (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Muthu Westcliff Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Muthu Westcliff Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Muthu Westcliff Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Muthu Westcliff Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oliver's On The Beach, Flying Pasta, and Piccolo Italian Restaurant.
Does Muthu Westcliff Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Muthu Westcliff Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Polish, Indonesian, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Muthu Westcliff Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hadleigh Castle (6.4 km), Prittlewell Priory (2.1 km), and Southchurch Hall (2.0 km).
Does Muthu Westcliff Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.