We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cowley Manor

Save
Share
Near Cheltenham, Cowley GL53 9NL England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
US$282
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-10-31
Agoda.com
US$321
US$252
View deal
SAVE US$69
Free cancellation until 21-10-30
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.comUS$321
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (527)
360
Panoramas (30)
Room & Suite (355)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 20-08-03 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Cowley Manor
Updated 20-08-03 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
1100Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 582
  • 243
  • 148
  • 88
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jo Kane wrote a review Mar. 2021
Belfast, United Kingdom1 contribution
Although I'm writing this review in March 2021 we actually stayed in Cowley Manor for 5 nights last August 2020 having had to cancel our holiday abroad. Having visited family in Herefordshire, Cowley seemed like a good option and we actually picked it out from a Sunday Telegraph review of top family hotels (we have 2 teenage boys). Good things first - the grounds are lovely, breakfast was very generous and complementary, full size shampoo, shower gel etc was very welcome and although the approach to service was random and you had to be prepared to ask several times, the staff in general were pleasant and seemed to be trying their best. Standard of food was also good when it arrived although you wouldn't want to be in a rush. Now to the not so great news - having booked 2 double rooms we were placed in 3 storey stable accommodation with incredibly sleep staircases on 2 floors. There had been no prior consultation about whether we were happy with this or whether we could manage challenging accommodation. Whilst we had no mobility issues I was genuinely terrified each night about my husband getting up for the loo and falling on the very steep stairs, particularly after half a bottle of wine - not that much to ask on holiday. The bedroom and living room areas we full of cheap MDF paintwork (even the sockets were painted over with blue paint) and reassembled a cheap student bedsit. The shower cubicle resembled the inside of a cheap caravan (plastic wall enclosures) with a permanently wet slatted wooden floor that can't possibly be hygienic - I had to grit my teeth and not thinking about everyone else's feet that had been there before. Dressing gowns were frayed and there was a cigarette burn on one of ours. One of the reasons we went for Cowley was because of the indoor pool which I thought meant there would be something for my teenage boys to do if the weather was bad. However beware - hotel guests aren't allowed to use the pool which is located in the spa area between 11am-3pm (it is apparently exclusively for spa guests during these times although this isn't made known until you arrive). The rules about pool access are marshalled like a communist dictatorship and my husband was asked by one of the spa staff to leave the pool with our two boys one day at 11.02am even though no one else was in the pool area at all. During the entire 5 days we stayed there was no sign of a general manager at any stage. Had there been someone to talk to I might not have ended up leaving a less than positive review. I did mention I wasn't happy with the rules about the pool and just got shrugged shoulders and a message that this would be passed on to the spa manager. I appreciate that the whole industry is facing tough times and as someone who runs their own business I totally disagree with key board warriers who write unfair reviews with are unfounded. However if Cowley is to survive, particularly coming out the other side of current circs, it really has some major improvements to make to standard of the accommodation and to the way it is run. Can't say I would recommend to anyone. Not a cheap choice and not worth the money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Avoid 3 storey rooms in stable block if you are at all unsteady or don't like steep stairs
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Hodges, General Manager at Cowley Manor
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Belfast1973, thank you for your review of your stay with us last summer. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our fabulous location and good food served by pleasant staff. I am sorry that you felt that the service was a bit slow, but if you can cast your mind back, we were just coming out of the first lockdown so were operating in a very different way and most of our guests were very understanding of this. It is disappointing that your room décor and lay out was not to your taste, we do ask all guests if they have any disability issues which would make the stairs in these rooms a problem, and I would think that anyone who has stairs in their own home would not consider them a risk, even after half a bottle of wine. With regard to the swimming pool times, we do not reserve a time just for our members, but do have specific times that we allow chidden in the pool, as this allows our guests who do not have children a time to enjoy the pool too. I am sorry that you did not ask to speak with me during your stay, as I would have been happy to explain these points in person, rather than on an open forum Regards Stuart
Read more
Phil K wrote a review Dec. 2020
Bath, United Kingdom25 contributions1 helpful vote
A 24 hour stay was just what was needed to make us feel really in the mood for Christmas. A great welcome, luxury room in the stables, great food, tasteful decor, and the spa - every detail was just right and a 25% off deal! The grounds are amazing and a leisurely walk in borrowed Hunter wellies helped walk off a delicious lunch - I can see why this is so popular for weddings, we couldn't stop taking photos of the views. Swimming in a heated outdoor pool at night capped off a real escape - we have stayed at some lovely places in the past, but this is right at the top of the list. We don't often revisit as there are always new places to go, but we will break the rule here and be back to do it all again, hopefully when we cast aside the masks.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Hodges, General Manager at Cowley Manor
Responded Dec. 18, 2020
Dear Phil K, thank you so much for your amazing review. Cowley is a beautiful property, and a little bit magical around Christmas time. I wish you and your family a great Christmas, and I look forward to seeing you again in the New Year. Stuart
Read more
ednabeluga wrote a review Dec. 2020
Brighton, United Kingdom23 contributions8 helpful votes
Such a beautiful setting especially in cold crisp December HOWEVER the stay was pretty much ruined by not having any hot water in our room the entire weekend. We raised the issue Saturday morning and were disappointed to find it had still not been sorted by the evening. So no hot shower or bath after our long country walk. Sunday morning my husband had to venture out to the Spa ( in the 2degree weather ) to go for a shower. Even at checkout we had to ask for a reduction on our bill even though they were aware of our dissatisfaction. I can honestly say it ruined the weekend. The Manager was not in the hotel to speak to ( amazing considering this was quite an issue ) and we had only the reception staff to speak to about this. This was the first weekend open after lockdown so I would have expected some senior staff available to speak to Restaurant staff were really lovely and food great Bar staff lovely But lack of visible management and failure to deal with a major issue was incredibly disappointing for us.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Hodges, General Manager at Cowley Manor
Responded Dec. 9, 2020
Dear ednabeluga, I am pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful location, and found our food and staff lovely. I am sorry that we experienced hot water problems with your room during your stay, and that this took away from your experience. I am pleased that you were able to speak with my duty manager on the Sunday morning, and she was impowered to compensate you appropriately. Just so other readers of your review are aware, a duty manager is always available, all day every day when the hotel is open, and the problem with the water pump, getting the hot water to the room has now been fixed. Best Wishes Stuart
Read more
Denise P wrote a review Dec. 2020
London, United Kingdom105 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
I cannot say enough wonderful things about this beautiful place. Starting with the staff. The manager, front house team, waiters and spa staff, could not have been more helpful and accommodating. The place is beautiful and decorated for Christmas. It is a classic English country estate. The rooms are spacious and modern, yet keeping the classic 19th century touches. The food is delicious. Service is great. The spa has a heated outdoor pool that is warm and a treat in December. Most of all it is the staff that will make this a favourite of ours for a break from the city.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Hodges, General Manager at Cowley Manor
Responded Dec. 5, 2020
Dear denisep945, thank you for your very kind review, and for being one of our first guest back since re opening. Cowley is certainly a magical place, and even more so during the festive season. May I wish you and your family a fantastic Christmas, and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the new year Stuart
Read more
wini544 wrote a review Nov. 2020
Gloucester, United Kingdom249 contributions107 helpful votes
+1
I have visited Cowley Manor twice now for lunch, the first occasion for a family picnic prepared by the hotel for my sons birthday. During the summer the hotel hosted picnics in the grounds of the hotel and hired out their bell tents, given the COVID situation we thought this would be a lovely alternative to a meal somewhere for our sons birthday and we weren’t disappointed. The venue is beautiful, the bell tent was ideal, the weather was stunning and the food was lovely. So much so I returned a few weeks later to enjoy lunch on the terrace with my friends, it’s a lovely venue and I will definitely return but perhaps for an overnight stay and to enjoy the spa!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Stuart Hodges, General Manager at Cowley Manor
Responded Nov. 5, 2020
Dear wini544, I am delighted that you enjoyed a fabulous family picnic with us. Our bell tents were very popular during the summer, and I cant wait for the warmer weather to come so we can set them up again next year. Best Wishes Stuart
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$250 - US$438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cowley manor hotel cowley, manor hotel cowley
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsCowley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cowley Manor
Which popular attractions are close to Cowley Manor?
Nearby attractions include Walks With Hawks (5.2 km), Ian Coley Shooting School (3.7 km), and Everyman Theatre (7.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cowley Manor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Cowley Manor?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Cowley Manor?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cowley Manor?
Conveniently located restaurants include L'Artisan, The Mahal, and Domaine 16.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cowley Manor?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cowley Manor?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Cowley Manor?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Cowley Manor offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Cowley Manor?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cheltenham Town Hall (7.6 km) and Whittington Court (7.6 km).
Does Cowley Manor have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.