We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fountain Inn

Expedia.comUS$74*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$74*
US$74*
US$74*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Fountain Inn
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Fountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 94: English reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

For a random pub we found in the middle of nowhere we were so so pleasantly surprised by the excellent quality of the food! The service was good, we were a big group of 12 but still got our food quite quickly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for for reviewing your visit to the Fountain Inn. We're really pleased that you enjoyed yourself and will pass on your comments to our staff. Michelle and Alan.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We ate here twice while camping nearby. Thrilled to find somewhere we could eat with our dog and that had plenty of veggie options for us and the children. Food was amazing value, huge portions and reasonably priced. Really helpful staff too. We'll be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsHollers
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank for for reviewing your visit to the Fountain Inn. We're really pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to seeing you again. Alan and Michelle.

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Fantastic food, reasonably priced and friendly staff. Book early for a Sunday roast. Highy recommend this pub for locals and tourists alike. Pub also offers accommodation and hostel so ideal for cheap stays for singles or groups of bikers or walkers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandD101
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your visit to the Fountain Inn. We're delighted that you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again soon. Alan and Michelle.

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Visited with family today for afternoon carvery. Food lovely, staff extremely friendly and welcoming. Definitely worth a visit. Can't comment on the rooms there as we only went for lunch. It is clearly a popular place. Good for children as there is a garden and a little play area. Dogs allowed too

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne W
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your visit to the Fountain Inn. We're delighted that you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again soon. Alan and Michelle.

Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016

What can I say other than you have just got to go here. More so if you are wanting to holiday with your dog (totally doggy friendly). The inn itself is very well maintained, everywhere clean and tidy, the bar well stocked and the food is excellent and plenty of it. The owners and staff are so welcoming and obliging....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lj L
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We're really pleased that you enjoyed yourself and thank you for your complimentary comments about our inn. The Forest is a wonderful place at this time of year and it was a pleasure to cater for you both, and your dog. :) Alan and Michelle.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We called in when passing on a Wednesday night. At 1930 we got the last available table for 2. The service was excellent and the food far surpassed typical pub grub. Michele took time to show us the accomodation, which looked good. Definitely a hidden gem. We will be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RodMayall
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your visit to the Fountain Inn. We're delighted that you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again soon. Alan and Michelle.

Reviewed 12 June 2016

We have stayed before and love the relaxed atmosphere of the forest,limited mobile and wifi coverage,not a problem (the cloud was available in the bar if we needed to keep in touch with family). The refurbishment is excellent,Alan has worked hard and produced an excellent history of the inn I found this really interesting. We travelled far and wide exploring...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank carol g
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely comments. We're delighted that you enjoyed your break with us and we hope to see you again soon. Alan and Michelle.

Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

We booked a night here while we was riding in the Forrest of dean. Easy to find , with nice surroundings with a river and woodland on the back . Food was excellent , and rooms were nice. Will stay here again the next time here . And all the staff was very helpful and friendly .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tilerchar22
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the Fountain Inn, and for the complimentary comments about your meals and accommodation. We get a lot of mountain bikers here and we're happy that you enjoyed yourself. Alan and Michelle.

Wickford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Accomodation and Meals were very good. Good location in the centre of the Forest of Dean for walks (from the door) and next to the Dean Forest Railway station (heritage railway). However, I'm unfortunately only giving 4/5 because, despite requests, my shower was not seen too. It ran extremely hot with no apparent way of reducing the temperature.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We wanted to apologise about the shower situation, and reassure you that we did everything that we could to remedy the problem as soon as possible. As we were full, we couldn't move you, but we did call a plumber out immediately, and he inspected your shower within...

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Spent two nights at Fountains Inn, dinner bed & breakfast where we we treated in comfort and courtesy to great meals, nothing was too much trouble for the staff and my friend and I look forward to staying there again! I have no hesitation in recommending this Establishment to future patrons. Thank you, Francis Buckle

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francis B
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Hello Francis. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and your friend and I will make a point of passing on your kind comments about the staff. Alan and Michelle.

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parkend
4.0 km away
The Half Moon
The Half Moon
#508 of 1,063 in London
43 reviews
5.3 km away
Premier Inn London Brixton Hotel
4.2 km away
The Bromley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Leigham Court Hotel
Leigham Court Hotel
#543 of 1,063 in London
270 reviews
177.6 km away
Deanfield Bed & Breakfast
177.7 km away
Whitemead Forest Park
Whitemead Forest Park
#1 of 2 in Parkend
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Award winning village inn, well known locally for its excellent meals and real ales. We are located in the heart of the Forest of Dean, less than one mile from RSPB Nagshead, and less than three miles from the cycle centre - making this an ideal base for exploring the surrounding countryside. All rooms are 4 star rated, en-suite and furnished to a high standard. Accommodation is offered in a variety of twin, double and family rooms. All prices include full English Breakfast and our staff will be happy to advise you on local tourist attractions and places of interest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Address: Fountain Way | Forest of Dean, Parkend GL15 4JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Parkend
Price Range: $86 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Fountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Fountain Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Seattle

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Fountain Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 I'm told has the strongest wifi signal compared to the rest.”
frasere2017, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“there is a ground floor room with reserved/ disabled parking right outside”
557ljl, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All good but better on the ground floor if you have mobility problems.”
RodMayall, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Direct access to outside, and disability aids in two ground floor rooms. Ideal for dog-owners.”
charliee159, 24 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Some rooms have wi-fi and others are outside range - if important - check.”
383simonp, 22 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$74* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$74
TripAdvisorUS$74
Orbitz.comUS$74
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates