We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Fountain Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parkend
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Fountain Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Fountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 87: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2016

An excellent, family-run pub with B&B accommodation. The room was comfortable, clean and affordable. The pub (and restaurant) was welcoming and the food - especially the Sunday carvery was of a high quality.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2016

Good food on offer, but not an extensive menu, particularly for children to choose from. Prices have risen over the last few years, but the quality and service have remained the same. A good alternative to Whitemead for visitors to the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1970karen
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Fountain Inn. We're really sorry that you were not completely satisfied with the quality and service, but please don't let that stop you returning - as you can see from our other reviews your's was not a typical experience and we would welcome the opportunity to demonstrate the...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2016

I visited this pub for lunch during the Christmas holidays, and was very impressed. It was welcoming, and our food was excellent. I chose the home-made lasagne, and it proved to be about the best I've ever tasted! My friends had other dishes, and certainly weren't disappointed. Couple this with good beer and a comfortable, homely atmosphere, and I will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roylav
Fountain_Inn, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fountain Inn. We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again in the future . Alan and Michelle.

redjelly10
Reviewed 11 December 2015

I went for a prebooked Christmas meal with some friends. The food was delicious, however we were not warned before hand of a group that apparantly use this pub for one weekend a year..the weekend we chose. They arrived about thirty strong and proceeded to sing sea shanties for at least four hours with no break. I understand the pub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redjelly10
AlanPowell, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your Christmas meal with us. Let me begin by offering my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced due to another group singing in the bar, which adjoins the dining room. The folk singers come every year, but it became apparent only on the afternoon of your booking that they...

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2015

Booked in for one night stop over on our way to Cardiff for the Rugby. A lovely friendly atmosphere, great food (and drink) in the pub and very comfy room. They also serve a range of gluten free foods. A real find!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliet S
AlanPowell, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, glad to hear you had a good time and enjoyed our gluten free menu, we understand how difficult it can be to find places to eat when you have food intolerances so make a real effort to make eating with confidence as easy as possible. Hope to see you again, best wishes Michelle Powell

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2015

This is a lovely place. It is clean and the beds are comfortable. Ensuite was good, no bath in our room, but I prefer showering. The staff are incredibly friendly. The attached bar and restaurant are great. Food is delicious and plentiful (make sure you are hungry). The ales are well kept.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LudLyn
AlanPowell, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, glad you enjoyed your stay, best wishes, Michelle Powell

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Not our first visit. and this one didn't disappoint. Ever-friendly and helpful landlady and staff, warm and comfortable room, super food in the newly revamped bar and restaurant with free wi-fi. Great choice of beers available. The Forest of Dean really is a lovely place. Great for walks, with or without a dog, (the pub is dog-friendly too). The history...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie E
AlanPowell, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review Charlie, glad you had such an enjoyable visit to The Fountain and the beautiful Forest of Dean, hope to see you again sometime. Best Wishes Michelle Powell

Reviewed 28 October 2015

We were greeted by a very nice young lady called Jane. I have never been to a place where the locals interacted with you within seconds as if your were a local. We met the owner Michelle who was very friendly. The room was clean the bed was very comfortable. Had a great night sleep. Breakfast was good and you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed1942
AlanPowell, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review Mohammed, it was a real pleasure to meet you both, hope to see you again soon, all the best, Michelle

Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

Good food very reasonable price,friendly staff,all the ingredients that make a enjoyable night out.this pub is tidy and clean.one down side is the toilets are down a step flight of steps,which was not great for elderly mother inlaw

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephen l
AlanPowell, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review, glad you enjoyed your visit to The Fountain Inn, we do actually have a toilet on the same floor as the pub so if you come again you won't have to take the stairs. Best Wishes, Michelle

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch and had a fab Turkey and stuffing baguette. Liked it so much we booked in for dinner that night and bagged the last table. It's an "order at the bar and we'll open a tab for you" kind of place, the staff are friendly and chatty. The food comes out quickly and they rectified the order...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrsPreece2012
AlanPowell, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our food, glad you all enjoyed your meals, we have just launched our new menu (Mid November 2015) so hope you can visit us again sometime for some more of our delicious food. Best wishes Michelle

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parkend
4.3 km away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
630 reviews
4.2 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
562 reviews
0.3 km away
Edale House
Edale House
#4 of 4 in Parkend
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Deanfield Bed & Breakfast
0.4 km away
Whitemead Forest Park
Whitemead Forest Park
#1 of 2 in Parkend
418 reviews
5.2 km away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Award winning village inn, well known locally for its excellent meals and real ales. We are located in the heart of the Forest of Dean, less than one mile from RSPB Nagshead, and less than three miles from the cycle centre - making this an ideal base for exploring the surrounding countryside. All rooms are 4 star rated, en-suite and furnished to a high standard. Accommodation is offered in a variety of twin, double and family rooms. All prices include full English Breakfast and our staff will be happy to advise you on local tourist attractions and places of interest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Address: Fountain Way | Forest of Dean, Parkend GL15 4JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Parkend
Price Range: $73 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Fountain Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there is a ground floor room with reserved/ disabled parking right outside”
 of 5 bubbles 557ljl, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All good but better on the ground floor if you have mobility problems.”
 of 5 bubbles RodMayall, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Direct access to outside, and disability aids in two ground floor rooms. Ideal for dog-owners.”
 of 5 bubbles charliee159, 24 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Some rooms have wi-fi and others are outside range - if important - check.”
 of 5 bubbles 383simonp, 22 Aug 2015 | Read review
“a great spot for the keen cyclist”
 of 5 bubbles 593mimih, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5