We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bear Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bear Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

557 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 550: English reviews
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Large Car park. Hotel rooms seem to vary depending on which part of the hotel you are in, although we travelled with friends we had booked separately, their room was in the newer part, large and spacious with a super king size bed, ours in the older part, small and quaint, but adequate. Fab evening meal, served quickly and with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dicdandoo
Ben W, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back very soon in the not too distant future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely fab,, no complaints about the hotel at all .. all the staff were very friendly and hoping to come back next year .. the food was class A... and very welcoming and anything u needed was there .. I would recommend. .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
Ben W, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. I am so glad that you found the staff so friendly and that the food was to your liking. We will be more than happy to see you next year.

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Once again we were welcomed with open arms . Going to the Bear Hotel is like going home . As always the staff asked us how we were. The room was clean and bright they even had room service on Christmas Day but we turned it down .The Bear is a old hotel but I love it to bits ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
Ben W, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Wonderful to hear that you feel it is like coming home. Hopefully see you sometime in 2017.

Invergordon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed one night in The Bear as we arrived in Portsmouth from santander at 8.45pm so this hotel was the closest dog friendly place i found on the net to stay. We arrived just before 10 and got signed in by a very friendly lad on reception who took an instant liking to our dog. got the room key and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 999hsw
Ben W, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope that yourselves and titch return soon.

Eastbourne, England
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Checked into the hotel sat at 2pm.. room had everything required .. place was really friendly especially lady on reception she was lovely .. directed us to train station 5mins up the road letting us leave the car outside in guest car park. Had a few drinks in bar when we arrived home ,locals were friendly .breakfast was fabulous spoilt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sullie64
Ben W, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Julie & Ian Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you in 2017

Reviewed 11 December 2016

Wish we had read the reviews before booking. Where to start? Lunch in the bar before checking in. Loud and intimidating swearing by 'regulars' we assumed, and 4 young children playing on the fruit machines. Food eaten we were checked in . Single room, no window catch so it couldn't be locked (or even shut), electric heater kept shorting out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivan P
Ben W, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry that you did not find the hotel to reach the normal standards. I will pass all comments onto the relevant departments and deal with accordingly.

Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

I wish I had checked out the pictures on Trip Advisor as they tell you everything you need to know. From entering the staircase there is a strange, almost lavatory smell that is also in your room. Nice ! The carpet is threadbare in places and I didn't really want to step barefoot onto it as it appears that grotty....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris E
Ben W, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. All comments have been noted and will be dealt with.

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

staying two nights. Good value for money with no cricisms for the price paid. Breakfast large and fills you for day. Emily, barmaid last night, waitress this morning and both tonight is a gem. The big criticism is not hand pumped beer last night and none tonight or pseudo hand pumped beer tonight. Pity. Chris Lewis widnes

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrislewiscll
emma h, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you found Emily to be the little Gem that she is. Apologies on the real ale.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Quite agree with other reviewers that it is time for some work on the place, but all was clean and the shower was brilliant. What we enjoyed was the friendliness of the place, we stayed one night and ate there the food was hot and very good. We found that around the hotel there are other really nice bars and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline_andy1
emma h, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your recent review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you back in the future.

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Don't know what's worse the bar staffs attitude or the state of the hotel! Sick outside the hotel door that hadn't been cleaned up for 2 days. Grime in the bathroom, tape on the floor in the bedroom! What a DUMP!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
emma h, General Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments I will look into them.

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havant
2.2 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
1.8 km away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 3 in Emsworth
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
1,488 reviews
3.1 km away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 3 in Emsworth
144 reviews
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel

Address: 15 East Street, Havant PO9 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Havant
Price Range: $83 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Havant
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bear Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Cornwall, United Kingdom
browns beach hotel
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Bear Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room in the newer part of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles dicdandoo, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Have Dinner in the hotel it is a very good price .”
 of 5 bubbles 88SueH, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Possibly a room at the back of the hotel as a main road at the front were we where.”
 of 5 bubbles 999hsw, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stairs are a little uneven with limited handrails. No double glazing but outside noise not an issue”
 of 5 bubbles RedknightD, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“AVIOD rooms facing the main road if you have mobility issues as stairs are very steep”
 of 5 bubbles johnsR1242LP, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay