We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Forest Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

719 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Forest Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 718: English reviews
Southampton
Reviewed 14 December 2015

Apologies for my longest ever review, but this was a strange one. Annual family do with 3 couples booking a meal and overnight stay to avoid driving home, So the good news was the hotel itself was amazing. If you're visiting the New Forest the location is great, you can walk in to Lyndhurst and everything you'd want to see...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wurzel62
christopher g, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It’s a shame we didn’t tick all the boxes for you and your party. Firstly it’s great to read that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel itself. We offer a mixture of rooms catering for different requests and requirements, and I’m glad that you noted the little touches in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2015

We stayed for a couple of days in November, very close to Lyndhurst with numerous pubs and restaurants , we have been to quite a few Best Western hotels because they are dog friendly, the room was nice although the creaky floorboards outside was quite noticable ( rm 22 ) because we had the dog our breakfast was served in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank casdan1962
christopher g, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your review. its a shame we didn't sit higher in your list of Best Westerns you have visited, but you still enjoyed your stay. we are looking into the floorboards and we do try as best as possible to accommodate anyone's stay, from serving breakfast where you want, to special dog treats and towels at reception. I...

Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2015

Had a Christmas Lunch & stayed at this Hotel as part of a group of people. The room was presented very well & an excellent shower. Bar & food service staff were a bit inexperienced but were very friendly & were quick to correct mistakes. Lunch & breakfast was good, drinks a bit pricey. The Hotel puts an automatic "New...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
christopher g, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I’m glad you enjoyed all the hotel facilities including the friendly staff and award winning food. I think there is a little confusion between our pre authorisation system on check in for £1.00 and the New Forest Trust Donation. The New Forest Trust Donation is a charity charge of £1.00...

Reviewed 7 December 2015

Staff were great and always sought to make sure that we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay. Event going out to buy more Champagne as we'd drunk all of their supplies. The facilities were alright and I would certainly return if in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
christopher g, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We do try as best as possible in any case to ensure your stay is enjoyed, and it’s great to see that you noticed these little touches. Hopefully we will see you all again for next Christmas, or maybe just even for a meal in our award winning restaurant!

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Stayed here for a couple of days and it was lovely. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The Restaurant, which is open to the public, was good and the food very tasty. Restaurant staff, as all the hotel's staff, were lovely. Would definitely go back for a winter break. Had their Christmas dekkies up, rather lovely, especially with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StaterMan66
christopher g, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

It’s lovely to see such a kind review. Our restaurant is extremely popular all year round, and I’m glad you got to experience it, with the attentive service. As we head into the festive period, we like to make sure everywhere is looking the part, so make sure you try us again next year to really get into the Christmas...

Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

My sisters and mumma checked into Forest Lodge this weekend. We had a family room. Brilliant, big and spacious and they put a fridge in there for us! 34. Lovely hot shower, great tea and coffee making facilities and the bottled still and sparkling water are a bonus. Breakfast was lovely as were the staff and nothing was too much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel O
christopher g, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review. I’m glad you got to take advantage of our mini fridge we can offer for any room. Just simply ask us at reception or on booking! I know the staff take great pleasure in making any stay extra special, and will always be more than happy to help....

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2015

We have stayed at Forest Lodge in the past and have always enjoyed our stay because the location is ideal,the food is good, the rooms are comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. This year was even better as the food was outstanding! We will certainly be returning in the very near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
christopher g, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

It’s great to hear about your “super stay”! I’m glad you enjoyed the food, staff and rooms yet again, and I really hope you will be back to visit us in the near future. I’m sure your stay will be just as perfect.

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2015

We stayed for 3 nights and were so impressed by the attitude of all the staff - so helpful friendly and efficient. The quality of the food was exceptional - we've stayed in many hotels but the food here was certainly one of the best. The style, quality and presentation was brilliant. Note to management - keep hold of your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
christopher g, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It’s great to hear that the staff looked after you. We receive so many nice comments about the team here, and I know they like seeing them! Our food is so good its award winning! I will pass your compliments to the chef, and I’m sure on your next visit...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2015

On behalf of my wife & I we would like to say a huge thanks to Chris, George, Elise & their team for making our special day (November 7th 2015) truly unforgettable. The day was more than we could of hoped for. The staff, food, rooms, facilities & general ambiance was amazing. Cannot recommend highly enough & we'll be back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
christopher g, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

It’s always nice to hear when someone has enjoyed their special day! Thank you for your kind comments on every aspect of the day. We always deliver the best service possible with our weddings, and I’m glad yours was no exception. Please make sure you pop back for your anniversary for a romantic meal in the glasshouse restaurant. I’m sure...

Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed here a few years ago and had a really good experience so decided to stay again. Sadly, things have changed and not for the better. We had chosen this hotel because it had a swimming pool and sauna. The sauna was out of order. Ok these things happen but added to this was very slow and muddled service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maryc1902
christopher g, General Manager at Forest Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us again, I’m really sorry that your stay this time wasn’t as enjoyable as before. Please accept my apologies on the sauna. We are currently awaiting the delivery of a new unit to replace it. I will look into your comments regarding breakfast and dinner. As you can see from previous comments, service and customer care...

326 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (212)
Viewed
Crown Four Poster Room (25)
Viewed
Family Verderer For Four (32)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)
Viewed
Verder Family For Five (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndhurst
5.8 km away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
700 reviews
4.5 km away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
746 reviews
0.4 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
612 reviews
10.0 km away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
243 reviews
6.5 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Formerly a Georgian Dower House of the Notherwood Estate, the Forest Lodge Hotel blends historical charm and contemporary style with warm hospitality. Located just minutes from Lyndhurst and the beautiful New Forest, our boutique hotel is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, family breaks, wedding celebrations, corporate meetings and events. Family-friendly doesn't just mean the kids, we welcome dogs too. With comfy, well appointed rooms featuring great amenities, we're ideal for swift overnight stays and long, indulgent breaks. Stroll into Lyndhurst and hit the boutiques, explore the beautiful New Forest surroundings, relax in our bars and dine well in the award-winning Glasshouse Restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Forest Lodge Hotel

Address: Romsey Road, Pikes Hill, Lyndhurst, New Forest SO43 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Forest Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lyndhurst
Price Range: $128 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Forest Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst
Best Western Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Best Western
Best Western Forest Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel Lyndhurst, UK - New Forest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Forest Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Forest Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“.small double room with small bathroom. Shower over bath.”
 of 5 bubbles susanbG4818TE, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great family, value for money hotel in beautiful location”
 of 5 bubbles Angelique73, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't have number 28. Cosy keeper rooms are fairly small but adequate.”
 of 5 bubbles TheBryces, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We did not stay at the hotel we had lunch”
 of 5 bubbles mazza626, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“didnt stay over”
 of 5 bubbles suepE8498FD, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay