We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

593 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 574: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
 Click to rate
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Came back to the hotel after not visiting for quite a while. Room upgraded on arrival. Wonderful all inclusive lunch. One of the Managers gave us a tour of the newly refurbished dining areas. .Evening meal on first evening very good and breakfast likewise. Every member of staff very friendly. Evening meal on second night not so organised as a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EnglandMarylou
Katherine W, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to post a review , we are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and I will certainly share your comments with the team. We have duly noted your comments on the bathroom standard and ensured that our housekeeping manager is reviewing the standards to ensure future guests do not experience the same situation. Thank...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Deal was fantastic - 2 nights dinner with breakfast and sandwich lunch plus free wine and beer between 7-11pm. We took them at their word. Staff were vere nice and helpful, especially the manager. Food was good, not great but what do you expect, but very we all enjoyed it, including one who has particular dietry needs. Room was upgraded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
Katherine W, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, it is so nice to receive such positive feedback, I will certainly share your comments with the team. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay , and hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind Regards Katherine

Alsager, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pleasant enough but rooms and hotel generally feel and look a bit tired and shabby very much in need of refurbishment. Room 108 had a number of defects, loose taps, double glazing seals very poor condition and let in noise from nearby A1. Walls were damaged even had severe impact mark by one of the beds, carpets worn or torn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mercman2014
Katherine W, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest...

Florence, Italy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Three family members on a UK university visiting tour with stop at Hertfordshire University by way of Hatfield, England. The Mercure franchise is synonymous with quality, but from all aspects, this hotel was a flop. Amateur reception staff with no local maps available to help orient our visit. Building construction very tired with ceiling plaster separation at seams, mushy mattresses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pinky94
Katherine W, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest...

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well what can we say. Mercure Hatfield has always been good but this time it excelled itself. Tony Sumi and the team looked after us really well. We had the rooms we requested on the ground floor as I have a short term mobility issue, the food was of a very high standard warm plates and service was definitely with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foodie-Freddie
Katherine W, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share your feedback with the team, especially your kinds words on Tony and Sumi. We are in the process of having the hotel refurbished so we hope we can welcome back soon to...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here overnight following an event at The Forum venue - It was only a 2 minute walk away which was very useful. The room was clean, the bathroom although the decor had started to wear and tear was fine too. Unfortunately the walls are not thick enough to stop us from hearing conversations from several rooms down, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
Katherine W, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us, we are glad your had a pleasant stay but of course we are sorry that you were disturbed . We hope we can welcome back soon. Regards Katherine

uk south west
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel didn't surprise me it is clean tidy and is nothing special The rooms although clean ...ish(dirty marks on the wall)are dated and in need of renovation to bring them in to the 21st century it's like stepping back 10years . Electricity is obviously in short supply here as amazingly there is only one power socket available in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fatdad
Katherine W, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Once again we are extremely...

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Have stayed here before in the week, it was nearly twice the price of the week end days, so go at the weekend you can then also find a seat in the lounge . It is good value at weekends but breakfast is extra and is not cheap. The rooms are not bad, everything you need seems to be there....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
Katherine W, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and sharing your experience. We hope we can welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely Katherine

Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

This hotel is perfect if you're on a business trip. One or two of my coworkers complained about the slow service but I personally didn't notice any issue! The food was lovely and the bar staff are very approachable and witty! Thanks for my stay, All the best

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
Katherine W, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking he time to post a review, we value your comments. We hope we can welcome you and your colleagues back to the hotel soon. Regards Katherine

Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

I visited Mercure on a training trip for work. To begin with I was quite excited as we were told training was in London, so it's understandable that we were all slightly disappointed when we arrived in Hatfield. Being an optimistic chap, I thought to myself "This should be alright, free High Speed wifi, cider on tap, double rooms with...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Frank P
Katherine W, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest...

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.9 km away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
626 reviews
1.7 km away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
1,005 reviews
2.6 km away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
5.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
BEST WESTERN Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
471 reviews
5.1 km away
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City H...
#2 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel is ideal for the business or leisure traveller, close to three motorways, the hotel is just 3 minutes from Junction 23 of the M25, 1 minute from Junction 2 and 3 of the A1(M), and close to the M1. Easy access to central London, which is just 25 minutes away by train. The hotel has Free WiFi for all guests and free parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel

Address: Roehyde Way, Hatfield AL10 9AF, England (Formerly Hatfield Oak Hotel )
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Price Range: $83 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All good rooms ask for an upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles EnglandMarylou, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an upgrade and at back of hotel (away from A1)”
 of 5 bubbles Y1203ZOdavidh, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Difficult to say, our room 108 had defective double glazing seals. Lot of outside noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Mercman2014, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rear of hotel is quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Foodie-Freddie, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The ones closer to the reception are best, otherwise it can be long walk.”
 of 5 bubbles stephenbL2297WP, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5