We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beales Hatfield Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Beales Hatfield Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

626 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 618: English reviews
Start your review of Beales Hatfield Hotel
 Click to rate
Arundel
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a two night break there and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The room was lovely, clean, comfortable and spacious, and a good hospitality tray. We had dinner on one night, which was excellent, and so was the breakfast. We hope to return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ags1950
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely email, and this super review of Beales Hotel, I am so glad that you both enjoyed your stay so much, We have been open for twelve years since the £5.5M demolition and rebuilding of our old Hatfield Lodge Hotel, Since then we have been continuously updating the hotel and it still feels very fresh. Do...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed over one night, arriving tired and hungry on a Sunday evening. The welcome was warm and friendly and the hotel decorated in beige wood with some truly horrible artwork on the walls. No matter. The double room was comfortable and the window actually opened. I do like a bit of fresh air in a hotel room. Tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janeyboo
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very detailed 4/5 or 80% review of Beales Hotel. I am pleased you had a good welcome and good service from the team. We are bemused by your description of the artwork as truly horrible, all 130 contemporary works around the hotel are original and of very high quality, your statement is very sweeping in nature....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lots parking, modern although not that modern, shopping centre opposite. Meals depending on staff on night sometimes good, sometimes not so. rooms modern although compared to other hotels not that modern.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonSydney2020
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel, I am sorry that you didn't really enjoy the hotel very much, We are perplexed by your comments about the hotel not being modern, it was built in 2004 and is by far the most contemporary hotel in the Hatfield, Welwyn Garden City, St Albans area. However I hope you will reconsider...

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this Hotel late last year for our family to celebrate my husbands 70th birthday I hoped it would be a great event and was not let down All our rooms were lovely the food was fantastic The staff went out of their way to help when I requested a few favours to make the evening great We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank platform
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of Beales Hotel, I could not be more delighted that your husband's 70th birthday went off so well, and many congratulations to him ! We have run Hatfield Lodge Hotel, and then Beales Hotel since 1964 on this site, so this makes the 53rd anniversary, and in that time have served many guests on...

England
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked this stay through a Goupon deal, it turned out to be very good value, we had never thought of staying here as usually use the Mercure. No negatives really, bed comfy, room has everything you need. Bathroom had everything but is showing signs of wear. Breakfast was very good quality, not cooked to order rather buffet style which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret2
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5/5 review of Beales Hotel, I am pleased that you have given us a try as a change from the Mercure. I apologise on behalf of Mark Schipper General Manager for the lack of service of teas and coffees on the Sunday morning, this is clearly not of our usual four star standard. And I will...

Brighton, Sussex
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been using Beales for years to run some of my training courses -this week I ran another and the experience was great as usual. The rooms are great, the food is excellent and Linda and the team provided excellent service as always

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KevUKBrighton
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

This is a really super review of Beales Hotel, and our conference service, so thank you very much, In truth we don't get many comments from corporate and training guests like yourself, so this review is really cherished. And Linda Purton is of course fantastic at looking after our conference and banqueting guests at the hotel. It would be a...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We held our son's barmitzvah party here in January, Lyndsey who looked after us from our first visit a year before handled everything for us, nothing was too much trouble, the food, the staff, the hotel, the rooms, everything was fantastic from start to finish... I could not recommend Beales more highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc T
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

What a fantastic review of Beales Hotel, thank you so much ! I am delighted that your son's Barmitzvah was such a success, I know just how important this date is in the life of a family. Lyndsey is excellent and has lots of recommendations for Simchas of all kinds, from children's entertainers, to car hire, to ways of dressing...

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We selected Beales Hotel in Hatfield for our wedding. This was after visiting a number of alternative venues in the area. The welcoming staff and friendly nature of the wedding team were a huge plus. Our wedding organiser Lyndsey was an absolute star and assisted our decision making with the event. We were very grateful with the help and highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee-Jon T
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

What a wonderful review of Beales Hotel, thank you so much, I could not be more delighted that your wedding day was such a success ! Lyndsey is wonderful, and puts everyone at ease straight away. There is a special bond formed between bride and groom and the venue of choice, which lasts for years afterwards. A year or so...

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Revisited again and was pleased to see that the high standards are still being maintained, attended a conference last week and the team led by Linda and they were as professional as ever , full marks. Nothing was too much trouble for them

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan S
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel, I am so pleased that we have looked after you so well on a second visit, Consistency is a great virtue in hotelkeeping, and almost impossible to achieve when staff have to have breaks, days off, holidays etc. Linda is a star, as you have highlighted. Do come again and thank...

Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

This is the second time I have visited for a conference. Beales is a really comfortable and friendly hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and very clean. The breakfast is plentiful and tasty staff are helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanna D
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel, I am pleased that you enjoyed both visits, and that your experience of the hotel has been so good. It is rare to get conference guests writing in, so thank you for taking the time to do so, it is appreciated. Kind regards, Andrew Beale Managing Director Beales Hotels

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
4:36
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.9 km away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
11.8 km away
West Lodge Park Hotel
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
1,006 reviews
6.7 km away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
2,028 reviews
0.3 km away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Outsidein Restaurant & Talk Bar
Outsidein Restaurant & Talk Bar
Cuisines: International, European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stunning contemporary four star hotel, built in 2004, independently owned and run by the nine generation Beale family, with award winning cuisine, restaurant and bar, 53 bedrooms with modern facilities, excellent conference and banqueting areas, free unlimited parking. Over 130 original works of art throughout the building. Free membership of the Hertfordshire Sports Village (large pool, gym etc) less than 5 minutes walk away. Quiet location despite such a central position in Hatfield. Close to Hatfield House, St Albans, Knebworth House and trains to London. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beales Hatfield Hotel

Address: Comet Way, Hatfield AL10 9NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Price Range: $113 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beales Hatfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Beales Hatfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beales Hotel Hatfield
Hatfield Beales Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beales Hatfield Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
London, England, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Inverness, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Beales Hatfield Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose a quite room”
 of 5 bubbles LondonSydney2020, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Executive rooms are very well equipped.”
 of 5 bubbles leejont, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay overnight on this occasion”
 of 5 bubbles 839alans, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the first floor are best and towards back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 704karenm704, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check the Beales website for photos of ALL rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles chris0241, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5