We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beales Hatfield Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Beales Hatfield Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

626 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Beales Hatfield Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 618: English reviews
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Stayed here twice now after going out with friends. friendly reception staff, a large free car park and good WiFi. Bathroom very modern and clean! Only negative would be the beds move and the cleaner walked into our room in the morning when we were still in bed, ensure you lock your room from the inside before going to sleep!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DDanielleR
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind 5/5 review of Beales Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that everyone looked after you so well. We are almost through our mammoth bed replacement programme at the hotel, an expensive and long job, but the majority of the bedrooms now have very comfortable Hypnos pocket sprung mattresses on...

Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Took advantage of a £89 room bed and breakfast deal, and arranged to meet someone for dinner at 7.30 as I expected to check in at 7. Luckily for me I was a couple of hours early. On checking in I produced my voucher to which the receptionist replied didn't you say this at time of booking, "no it's why...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thehux1
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel, We clearly didn't look after you well enough on Sunday night, and I have nothing else to say other than to apologise on behalf of Mark Schipper, General Manager, and all his team. We have spoken to you and offered you a complimentary dinner bed and breakfast stay at the hotel for...

Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Stayed for one night with my partner. Did not have breakfast. Nice large room with plenty of space. Big 6 foot bed, plenty of space in the room, lovely toiletries. Also on the bed were a bathrobe, slippers and a packet of bath salts each. Located right next to the The Galleria so convenient if you want to go there....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjgee
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our executive bedrooms, (which also include a Nespresso machine and a safe as well as the other extras you mention) and that you were awarded Guests of the Day status as well ! Do come again next time...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

I cannot recommend and thank Beales enough for making our wedding experience so amazing from start to end. Every time we have visited the hotel, the staff, food & cleanliness have been second to none and we love the hotel’s modern & cotemporary feel. Nothing was ever too much trouble and every request was met. A massive thank you to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claire L
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review of Beales Hotel, and congratulations on your marriage ! I am so delighted that Lyndsey, Callum and Teige looked after you both so well, and that they all helped make the day so special for you both. At Beales Hotel we don't have the sweeping lawns that we are blessed with at our sister West Lodge...

Isle of Man
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Stayed just one night after helping my son get his stuff back to University. Arrived very late so only used the room. Very modern and clean room with all usual amenities. Wifi was good. Didn't have breakfast. Very close to University so will probably use again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandgronan
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel, despite the brief time you were with us, I hope your son is settled back at the University of Hertfordshire - I know the feeling ! All the 130 or so artworks around Beales Hotel are created by the students and staff of the Fine Art department at the University, and...

Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Our second Christmas day at Beales Hatfield and as before this was a very good experience. We especially like the way the restaurant offers "on the day" choices for dinner - no need to pre select your meal in advance. Food, wines and service were all very good, overnight accommodation comfortable in a well equipped suite. We had preordered our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard C
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review of Beales Hotel, thank you so much. In truth, Comet Way will never be the dream location for Christmas lunch, being somewhat business like in aspect, as opposed say to a snowy Alpine chalet !! So I am delighted that we looked after you so well, and that you would come again for this occasion. May...

Reviewed 30 December 2016

Bed was really comfy and the breakfast had lots of variety and tasted great! I had an executive room so the bath salts were appreciated, and the toiletries were good. Didn't use the bathrobe and slippers, but they were provided. After a delay of over 30 minutes to get my dinner, the chicken was pink! So I then ordered a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoJo P
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel, I am sorry that your dining experience was not as good as it normally is, I cannot make any excuses but am pleased that at least we got the bedroom and breakfast part of your stay right. I have to say that there is very little traffic noise at the hotel, given...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We were made welcome by the professional and friendly staff. They were courteous and knowledgeable The interior is pleasing and contemporary and most comfortable. The menu is classy and tasty and unpretentious, great place you will want to return to again and again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Inga L
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review of Beales Hotel, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were made welcome by the staff. We built the hotel just 12 years ago, although we had a three star hotel on this site since 1964. The decor is quite European in flavour, and livened up by...

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016

I attended a Christmas party on 16th December 2016. There must have been 250 of us crammed into a downstairs function room. The chairs at the table were tightly packed against each other. We had difficulty pulling them out to sit on and once in place, you literally could not move. Our arms were touching the people next to us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S221061
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel. I am sorry you did not enjoy your evening with us, and that some aspects of the service were not up to our usual standard. If you are able to email me your contact details, I will make amends for you with a complimentary invitation back the hotel this new year. For...

Royston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 December 2016

Visited Beales today for Christmas lunch with my Dad who is 98! Absolutely delicious food , served by lovely staff , really excellent lunch , started with scallops and black pudding, turkey and a lovely dessert , petit fours washed down with prosecco. The staff were very professional , so well organised , lovely atmosphere in the Restaurant , relaxed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of Beales Hotel, and congratulations on your father being 98, a wonderful age. I am delighted that we looked after you so well on Christmas Day lunchtime, and that Father Christmas put in an appearance as well ! Do come again, and in the meantime have a very happy new year ! Kindest regards,...

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
4:36
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.9 km away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
11.8 km away
West Lodge Park Hotel
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
1,004 reviews
6.7 km away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
2,020 reviews
7.5 km away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Outsidein Restaurant & Talk Bar
Outsidein Restaurant & Talk Bar
Cuisines: International, European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stunning contemporary four star hotel, built in 2004, independently owned and run by the nine generation Beale family, with award winning cuisine, restaurant and bar, 53 bedrooms with modern facilities, excellent conference and banqueting areas, free unlimited parking. Over 130 original works of art throughout the building. Free membership of the Hertfordshire Sports Village (large pool, gym etc) less than 5 minutes walk away. Quiet location despite such a central position in Hatfield. Close to Hatfield House, St Albans, Knebworth House and trains to London. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beales Hatfield Hotel

Address: Comet Way, Hatfield AL10 9NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Price Range: $114 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beales Hatfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Beales Hatfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beales Hotel Hatfield
Hatfield Beales Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beales Hatfield Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
London, England, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Inverness, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Beales Hatfield Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose a quite room”
 of 5 bubbles LondonSydney2020, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Executive rooms are very well equipped.”
 of 5 bubbles leejont, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay overnight on this occasion”
 of 5 bubbles 839alans, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the first floor are best and towards back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 704karenm704, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check the Beales website for photos of ALL rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles chris0241, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5