We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beales Hatfield Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Beales Hatfield Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

628 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Beales Hatfield Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 620: English reviews
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2014

Just set off on the journey back from Hatfield to preston (I'm in the passenger seat not driving don't worry!). We stayed as group of family and friends using this hotel as a base for a family funeral. The first impression of the hotel and location were very good. Clean and professional staff met us on arrival. We were swiftly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel. I am glad you had a successful stay with us (albeit under sad circumstances), and would come again. I know exactly what you mean by the knives, they look achingly cool (good) but are tricky to hold (bad). One day we will change them, but we will need to change all...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2014

It could not have been better. The staff were very attentive, the room was spacious, the breakfast had plenty of options and the dinner was top quality. We had a special deal which also made it excellent value. We'd certainly stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnandAnna2014
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments about Beales Hotel. I am so glad that we looked after you so well. We have always accepted that the area around Hatfield is primarily a business area, and so have tried extra hard to ensure that the food is the thing at the hotel, to make up for the work-like location as there...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Easy to find. Parking. Right across from a shopping Mall. Lovely Staff. Food is AMAZING. Rooms comfortable and bed so great, probably the best hotel bed I have ever slept in. Breakfast buffet is good. Would love to go there again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Wow what a lovely review of Beales Hotel, thanks so much ! Your comment about the bed is high praise indeed coming from Canada where all the hotel chains take a lot of time to get the beds right. I used to work at the Four Seasons in downtown Vancouver, and have an abiding affection for all things Canadian, a...

Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed at Beales Hotel for one night on a dinner, bed and breakfast package. The hotel was easy to get to and in a great location for the shopping centre and access to London/surrounding areas. The restaruant and other areas were well decorated, very modern and the standard room we were allocated was above 'standard' from my experience from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmmieSarah
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel. I am so glad we looked after you well, and that you thought your room was above standard compared to many others. Indeed this very week we are adding Sky Sports 5 to every room at the hotel, and have just added Nespresso Machines to all the Executive rooms, as well...

Wednesfield, Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We visited Beales Hotel Saturday night for one night. We had been bought a package that included bed breakfast and three course meal so we opted to use it here as a stop on our travel down to London, It was a lovely stay, with only one issue - which was sorted out quickly and didn't affect our stay but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph C
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Gosh this is a superbly detailed review, thank you very much, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, sorry for the slip ups, but I am glad that overall it was such a positive experience. All the 130 works of original art come from the students and staff of the Fine Art department of the University of...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2014

After my first review I was contacted by Beales to inquire about which room I stayed in and the exact problem with my stay. After explaining to them I was offered a free nights stay in compensation. So full marks to Beales for listening. This time I had a room on the ground floor, over looking the car park. Again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elf_Bowman
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to post a second review of Beales Hotel. We are replacing the Hypnos beds at Beales Hotel, and I am so glad to get your positive feedback. It is also proof that as a very proactive family business with a proud tradition in the area (going back to 1769) we do listen to our...

Watford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Me and my husband got married here on the 1st August. . We had the best day and cannot fault anything. All the staff went above and beyond our expectations in making our dream wedding. We would like to say a special thanks to Alex, Lyndsey and Sumi for everything in the run up until our day. When we walked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Many congratulations on your recent wedding at Beales Hotel, and thank you for the lovely review too. I am so delighted that everything went so well for your big day. Alex, Lyndsey and Sumi are valued members of the Beales Hotel team, and they enjoyed looking after you on your special day. You are right that there are no sweeping...

Barnsley
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We went to the Beales Hotel, as we have family close by. We have been visiting various hotels here for the last 15 years but never stayed here. However, what a lovely surprise. A lovely hotel, situated straight across from the Galleria. Private parking, which felt quite secure too. A lovely welcome, nice lobby. Our room was 1st floor towards...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BarnsleyDave1401
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about Beales Hotel. I am glad that in the main you enjoyed your visit. However I am sorry about the flies. I have never heard about this happening before, indeed I think it must have been a one off with some fruit flies, and it has not happened since. As a result of your review...

Watford
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on a deal. The hotel is nice and modern. We were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist. Our room was quite small and very dark, not helped by the fact that one of the bedside lamps didn't work along with one of the bulbs over the bed. The bar area was tucked away behind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SoozJD
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel. I am sorry that you didn't really enjoy your stay at the hotel. Sorry that we had run out of sea bass, and that we didn't really have enough dishes on the menu suitable for vegetarians. However I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast with vegetarian sausage to order. Regards, Andrew Beale...

Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for my birthday with a Groupon voucher. From when we walked in we were welcomed. The room was lovely and the bed was so comfy!! When we went for dinner we had a set menu to choose from and when we couldn't decide what we liked, Anna Maria was so helpful and kind and sorted us out. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie E
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel. I am so glad you picked out Ana Maria and Alex for special mention. Sadly Alex is leaving us soon, but I am delighted that they looked after you so well, something which doesn't always happen in other hotels when guests are on a Groupon deal. Do come again, we will...

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
4:36
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.9 km away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
11.8 km away
West Lodge Park Hotel
0.3 km away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
6.7 km away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
2,071 reviews
7.5 km away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Outsidein Restaurant & Talk Bar
Outsidein Restaurant & Talk Bar
Cuisines: International, European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stunning contemporary four star hotel, built in 2004, independently owned and run by the nine generation Beale family, with award winning cuisine, restaurant and bar, 53 bedrooms with modern facilities, excellent conference and banqueting areas, free unlimited parking. Over 130 original works of art throughout the building. Free membership of the Hertfordshire Sports Village (large pool, gym etc) less than 5 minutes walk away. Quiet location despite such a central position in Hatfield. Close to Hatfield House, St Albans, Knebworth House and trains to London. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beales Hatfield Hotel

Address: Comet Way, Hatfield AL10 9NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Price Range: $116 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beales Hatfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beales Hatfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beales Hotel Hatfield
Hatfield Beales Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beales Hatfield Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
London, England, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Inverness, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Beales Hatfield Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't go in room 32 so go for a room over the carpark.”
rogthehat, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“choose a quite room”
LondonSydney2020, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Executive rooms are very well equipped.”
leejont, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay overnight on this occasion”
839alans, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the first floor are best and towards back of the hotel”
704karenm704, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5