We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

559 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
See the most recent reviews
Showing 549: English reviews
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

My Husband & I stayed for one night after attending a party here on a Saturday night . We were very pleased with our stay . We had a friendly welcome . The Room was of a High standard & was lovely . Before the Party we went to the Bar & My Husband asked the Man behind the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neilk407
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Neilk407, thank you so much for your feedback after a recent stay. We are pleased to read that everything met your satisfaction and that you were well looked after by our teams. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the near future and we look forward to welcome you back. Kind regards

Keswick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

From the time we arrived to the time we left the staff were friendly and helpful. We had a lovely breakfast and found that the garage next to the hotel sold Marks and Spencer food. The room was clean and comfortable. Will definitely be using this hotel again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iona w
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Iona W, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time here and found everything to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Awful hotel who treat their staff horrendously. Despite the lovely food, whilst sitting down for the evening meal, our experience was ruined by a supervisor, who I believe was called Steve, acting in a grumpy and completely unwelcoming manner towards us and the waiting staff. Other general staff members seemed lovely, although they probably have to put up with being...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alice C
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Ailish C, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay with us. Please accept our apologises that you were not completely satisfied especially with your experience in the restaurant. Please be assured that this is not our normal high standards of service or operation that we offer to our guests and we receive many positive comments regarding staff....

Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Whilst the size of the family room was brilliant, aside from the lady manning reception the rest either looked miserable or were entirely ineffectual. Shame as good facilities and great family facilities but food poor and service awful (aside from recepionist who was lovely).

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alexandra_castle
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback after a recent stay with us. I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with the food or the service you received, apart from the Receptionist on arrival. This is not up to our normal high standards and not reflective of how we treat our guests. Again I apologise but do hope that you...

Airdrie
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed was for visit to Harry Potter Studios. Hotel was busy and bar got very busy long wait as only 2 staff on. Room had a few issues i.e. Stained carpets broken drawer broken security chain. Hairdryer very weak. Bar food was good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aliscott019
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear aliscott019, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied especially with the room conditions. This is not up to our normal standards of service and for this I apologise. We are updating around the hotel currently to ensure all guests receive the same standards. We...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with family in a family room whilst watching the british masters close by. Room was okay but the camp bed and 'sofa with a sheet on' provided for the 3 of us (grown men) were poor! So uncomfortable. Went down for dinner on the first night asked what they could do gluten free as i am...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ellyn s
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear ellyn s, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay. I apologise that you were not completely satisfied especially with the bed provided. This is not up to our normal high standard and should have been rectified on the day. Also regarding the gluten free you should have been offered more of a resolution than one dish, again...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of days whilst on a coach trip to legoland. Lovely clean hotel, room had ample space for a pull down bed. We had breakfast and evening meal included, both meals were buffet style and had a great selection.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allymack66
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Allymack66, that you for your 5* review after a recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that everything met your expectations and trust that you also enjoyed Legoland. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

UK
Reviewed 2 October 2016

A discretionary 10% is just added to your restaurant bill!! Whose “discretion”? I noticed the 10% so asked them to remove it & they did – so it’s the customers’ discretion, so why add it in the first place without telling you? It’s just a rip off. Do they assume people won’t notice? Do they assume you just add it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mmccnn
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback after a recent stay with us. I am disappointed to read that you were not completely satisfied with many aspects of your stay, I can assure you this is not our normal high standards of service and I apologise. I trust that the issues have now been resolved but should you wish to discuss further...

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We spent two nights here for a reunion but must have stayed in a different hotel to some of the other reviewers. Having driven accross country without map or satnav I found the hotel easily. It is convenient for the M1 and A414 which suited our group, check in was simple and the staff very helpful, mention must be made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony6Lincoln
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Tony6Lincoln, thank you for your review after a recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that we met your expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us. We will certainly look into the issues you mention regarding access to the hotel for a disabled guest, but we have not had any complaints about this before. We do...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We stayed 2 nights with a small party gathering for a reunion. The checking-in was painless, the room comfortable with good air control, there were very good extra facilities and above all the breakfasts and buffets were exceptional. Having travelled widely throughout the world, this establishment represents very good value for money. Clean, well managed, with friendly staff: well done...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrankieDP
Steven C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear FrankieDP, thank you for your 4* review after a recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that everything met your expectations and trust that you enjoyed the reunion. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (75)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
668 reviews
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
689 reviews
7.5 km away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
524 reviews
4.1 km away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
749 reviews
0.8 km away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gatew...
#7 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: $107 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Preston, United Kingdom
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A back room as it is on a busy dual carriageway”
 of 5 bubbles amandahT3015UG, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ALWAYS CHECK YOUR BILL and avoid any room on the lower ground floor - especially room 28”
 of 5 bubbles mmccnn, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All good standard”
 of 5 bubbles FrankieDP, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Speak with susie!!”
 of 5 bubbles M8766AVtony, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Above reception”
 of 5 bubbles dannydanchev1, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay