We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cowes
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,328: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

Upon the reading all the reviews on this page the management accept no responsibility for the state of this park and rudeness of the staff I live on the island and places like this are making people feel uncomfortable and unwelcome to our lovely island all I have read the manager say in every bad review is well you never...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mrhappy1981
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Came over Easter but we couldn't pitch a tent as the ground was completely bogged. Car had to be pulled out by a tractor, covering me and the car in mud. Went to several places off site and there were no issues with the grass Asked for a refund so we could go elsewhere but was told there is no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gingabyte
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I apologise for the poor experience that you encountered on arrival. It was unfortunate that we had suffered some awful weather and that our touring site was extremely boggy in some areas and I am glad that we were able to assist with the towing out of your vehicle. Unfortunately the cancellation policy is in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Just back from a week in Thorness bay. Phoned the week before to explain one of our party was on crutches and would need a caravan with parking next to it also on as flat ground as possible. Our caravan was up a hill and what path there was had been blocked by a balcony. So the person had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wildkatzt
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your review with regard to your recent stay with us. I apologise that we were unable to meet your late special request as we were completely full and could not switch anyone else. I am glad that the caravan was clean and that the pillows were replaced. Lovely comments regarding the food and that the manager was...

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2016

We hired a private hire mobile home on site so can't review Park resorts caravans. I can review the amenities etc. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The on site shop wasn't too expensive and the pick and mix sweets were good value! The pool is not very big but was warm and clean. There are only 6...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tricia P
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and constructive comments. It is always great to receive positive feedback as to the staff being friendly and helpful and also how clean the park is. The bay is more used for dog walking and children playing with stones and rock pools. We are lucky to have great, sandy beaches just minutes from the park...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Our visit was suppose to have had parking with disabled access and we did not get this and got put up bluebell part of park which is up hill for disabled person my partner went to see the Sarah from reception and was not help full at all could not do anything on the day that we got there we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terrychitty12
Cowes Isle of Wight
Reviewed 29 March 2016

At first they wanted £24 a night for the touring pitch!. Its March? Yes I know its Easter but earlier in the same week it was £6 a night, one hell of a hike. Eventually(no bookings) it went to £16 a night, still pricey but acceptable. There were 4 other people in the touring field (see pictures). There was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As a regular guest I apologise that this visit was not up to our usual high standards where you have spent many a good weekend which, unfortunately, you have not put reviews on for previously. The pricing is centrally priced and I am glad that you did manage to get a discounted price over the...

Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

We went as a group of 4 on a sun holiday deal. We booked a silver caravan with a dog space. The caravan was large with 2 toilets, proper central heating, combi boiler and was so warm. It was very solid too as we survived storm Katie in it! The clubhouse was nice and clean, and the boatyard bar had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DonnaLHollick
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am glad that you found your accommodation to be of a good, warm standard and robust through storm Katie ! It is nice to hear that you found the clubhouse so nice and clean and with the great views and , also, that you enjoyed the local area. We hope to see you again....

uk
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Great budget holiday. Good clean caravan lots for children & adults to do.slight down side was the food was not the best value would recommend eating out off site. Other than this we had 3 generations of the family here and we all had very good stay & holiday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pooldave180
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Fantastic to read that you had such a good time and with a diverse age range which is great that it shows that we cater for everyone, apologies that you didn’t find the food to be of great value although there are some great meal deals to be had between midday and 5pm. We look...

Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

We have just had a really great holiday! Big thanks to Jordan(tractor boy!) Ellie, Danny and Hollie for entertaining my 11,12 and 13 yr olds and of course Bec! We will definitely be back again!! From Hayley and Jason x

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hay and jay
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic feedback and I am so glad that you found the entertainments team to be so good and that your children really enjoyed this part of the holiday. I will be passing on your comments to the team. Thorness Bay Holiday Park 01983 523 109

UK
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Back to my beautiful childhood island home, I stayed here for a long weekend while attending a convention. Can't fault the Solent View Gold Star caravan, plenty of room for three ladies in separate bedrooms and very clean indeed. Lovely to find the beds already made up, the kitchen very well equipped for anyone wanting to self cater, restaurant meals...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sparrer
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that your return to the island after many years was such a good one and that we managed to ensure that your childhood memories were not tarnished. It is great to read that the caravan was of a really good, clean standard and that you found all the facilities of...

477 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (470)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Other (287)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
9.5 km away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
14.5 km away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
327 reviews
4.9 km away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Albert Cottage Hotel
19.8 km away
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
11.0 km away
Rookley Country Park
Rookley Country Park
#1 of 2 in Rookley
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Isle of Wight countryside, Thorness Bay is a big hit with everyone. Why not stroll down to the bay, it's just at the bottom of the Park! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Thorness Lane | Thorness, Cowes PO31 8NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Also Known As:
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Hotel Cowes
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts Cowes, Isle Of Wight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a caravan/lodge that is not under the trees The areas of Solent Village and Solent Breeze are very spacious”
 of 5 bubbles olivern688, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“the lodge was amazing. Some of them have hot tubs.”
 of 5 bubbles emjaypink, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For peace, book a van further away from the club house.”
 of 5 bubbles James_Bridges, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are lots of choices depending on your budget, caravans, chalets and lodges.”
 of 5 bubbles lindadam3, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for the platinum lodges for size, location and quality.”
 of 5 bubbles michellegormer, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5