We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Esplanade Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Esplanade Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 166: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had a lovely stay food very good hotel needs up dating but they know that The updating is in progress staff excellent Service excellent Will certainly be back sometime in the future. Parking is a bit of a pain

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
Peter M, General Manager at Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights in July and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel in general. We had a superior room with a sea view which was spacious, with a good size bathroom and comfortable beds. Dressing gowns were also provided and each day we received complimentary bottles of water. There was a nice bar for evening cocktails. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisandpat2016
Peter M, General Manager at Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay so much with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Suffolk
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Esplanade Hotel for four nights over the New Year period and we had a fantastic time. From the moment we entered the hotel we were met by the friendly and very professional staff who made us feel at home from the word go. Our room was on the second floor (yes there...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cliff518
Peter M, General Manager at Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing 5 star review. We are over the moon that you enjoyed your New Year Break so much, you certainly have made our day with your wonderful comments. It was a pleasure to look after you and we look forward to seeing you in February. Happy New Year to you both

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

If this was £50 per night, it'd be perfect and no real complaints. However, when forking out £100+ per night, I expect higher standards. First biggest complaint was the dirty towels given to me on arrival in my room - they still had brown marks on them from the previous occupant... I just prayed that it was foundation. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scrown30
Peter M, General Manager at Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I apologise if we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. If you had spoken to us during your visit, we would have welcomed the opportunity to rectify any unsatisfactory issue easily had we been informed. We Would welcome the opportunity to look after you in the future

Cowes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So having stayed elsewhere in Ryde and been unimpressed with it, I decided to give the newly refurbished reopened Royal Esplanade hotel a go. I was attending a New Years Celebration opposite in the Pavilion so this was ideal situated. Unfortunately it doesn't have a car park but as I was on my scooter it was no problem to park....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
Peter M, General Manager at Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your New Years Break so much. Your kind words are very encouraging to us all. Happy New Year to you. Hope to see you again soon

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My Wife and I have just had an overnight stay at this hotel to see the new year in (2017),we only booked it about 2 weeks ago at the time of phoning them I was informed by a very helpful Lady that the hotel was sold out, but if I care to leave my details they would get back to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MauriceIsleofWight
Peter M, General Manager at Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review. This was our first New years eve since we opened in February 2016. We are delighted that it was a success. Hope to see you again soon.

UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had booked this hotel for my husband, my mum and myself over Christmas and as I am disabled, requested a room on a low floor. I spoke to Ben and Carla (?) and both were very helpful, friendly but professional explaining everything. Unfortunately my husband was unwell and we weren't able to travel to on the first day of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hipsy
Peter M, General Manager at Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We felt it fair in the season of goodwill to extend our generosity to you. I hope your husband is feeling better and we look forward to seeing you at Christmas.

Sandown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a brilliant Christmas party evening last Saturday. Food and service was excellent. Menu selection was good and there was plenty of it. DJ played all requests and kept us dancing. Great night. Thanks everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy c
Peter M, General Manager at Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful five star review. This is our first Christmas since opening and we are delighted it was a hit with you. Hope to see you again soon.

Ryde, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We spent a lovely couple of hours in Harry's Bar on a miserable Saturday afternoon in early December. We received a very warm welcome from the very smart barman. The music choice was very good jaz/chill out, very relaxing. The drinks were a decent price. We read the food menu and have planned to go back soon another time soon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
Peter M, General Manager at Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are so pleased you enjoyed Harry's Bar and we look forward to seeing you again when you return to sample our food.

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We are pleased to have found Harry's Bar, part of the Royal Esplanade Hotel, for lunches out in Ryde during shopping trips, the service is brilliant, the furnishings attractive and comfortable, and the reasonably priced food excellent. It feels like an oasis to us and if you want a nice lunch with waiter service on the seafront, then it will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank White-family
Peter M, General Manager at Royal Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star review. We are over the moon with your wonderful comments. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.4 km away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
331 reviews
4.9 km away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
Yelf's Hotel
Yelf's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ryde
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
8.8 km away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 31 in Sandown
277 reviews
3.7 km away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located on the esplanade this Victorian hotel has unique sea views and benefits from being on a level seafront position. The beach is close by and the shops and holiday attractions of the well-known resort of Ryde are only a short walk away. The hotel is also well-situated for buses, taxis, trains and the hovercraft, so offers the ideal base to travel all around the island as well as over to Portsmouth with its rich maritime history. The seafront position lends itself to some wonderful views from the restaurant and lounges - the perfect place to sit back and relax. A car is ideal for getting around the undulating roads of the Isle of Wight and there is a plethora of things to see and do for all ages. Whether touring historic houses or visiting natural adventure parks, watching the yachting action and festivities of Cowes week, or just relaxing on one of the islands many beaches, you are sure to enjoy the island’s unique charm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Esplanade Hotel

Address: 16 Esplanade, Ryde PO33 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Price Range: $86 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Esplanade Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Royal Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Esplanade Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Esplanade Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Esplanade Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 70 is at the rear so it would be quieter as there is a Hovercraft terminal directly opposite the Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles MauriceIsleofWight, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a front room with a Sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles alexbQ2791DJ, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“check your room has exactly what you need eg a shower, and don't drink the coffee”
 of 5 bubbles J1336NMteresas, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“seaview was extra side rooms townscape”
 of 5 bubbles brianjaguar, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Thoroughly recommend No. 60”
 of 5 bubbles ShinaW_13, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay